PDA

View Full Version : How do I verify the core/memory frequencies on GTX280 eVGA SSC Edition?


pRATTICUS
07-08-08, 02:50 PM
I've tried both RivaTuner and the nVidia monitoring program, but they are both coming up with very low numbers - can someone explain to me how to determine the speed at which my card is operating?

Lfctony
07-08-08, 02:57 PM
You're probably looking at the 2D clocks... Use eVGA precision, it came with your card on the driver cd... Set it up to display the OSD during games, you will see your clocks going up during games...

hell_of_doom227
07-08-08, 02:58 PM
When you run in 2D clock is lowered. Install eVga Precision Tool ver. 1.2.0 (from CD). eVga has ability to display clock speed on LCD for G15 keyboard. I suppose you don't have one. Run some 3D app, game and quickly do alt tab to see what nmonitor shows for clock speed, and you will see card running in full speed.

pRATTICUS
07-08-08, 03:07 PM
Attachment shows what the Precision eVGA software reads vs. the product specs.

pRATTICUS
07-08-08, 03:09 PM
OK thanks guys! Will try that and post back :)

Blacklash
07-08-08, 03:10 PM
Try GPU-Z:

http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/1124/TechPowerUp_GPU-Z_v0.2.5.html

pRATTICUS
07-08-08, 03:31 PM
OK, after 7-8 minutes of 2560x1600 (windowed) in LotRO with ALL settings absolutely maxed, 4AA 16AF, here is what the Precision software reports.

The temperature appears to level off at about 82C under load - is that where it should be? I reckon the ambient temperature in the room is about 22C.

Incidentally - I'm getting 32FPS minimum in LotRO at these settings :)

pRATTICUS
07-08-08, 03:57 PM
By manually setting the fan speed to 100%, the load temperature dropped from 82C to 69C.

Are there any ramifications to running the fan at 100% full time or should I just let the fan speed be set according to temperature?

SLippe
07-08-08, 04:07 PM
By manually setting the fan speed to 100%, the load temperature dropped from 82C to 69C.

Are there any ramifications to running the fan at 100% full time or should I just let the fan speed be set according to temperature?

I've always run my fan at 100% on all my cards, including my current one. Most set the fan at 60% though.

Ambrose
07-08-08, 08:11 PM
By manually setting the fan speed to 100%, the load temperature dropped from 82C to 69C.

Are there any ramifications to running the fan at 100% full time or should I just let the fan speed be set according to temperature?

If you're interested there is a nice little tutorial here (http://home.comcast.net/~boogieman1954/8800%20fan%20speed%20guide.htm) for setting up your fan in Rivatuner to be dynamic based on temperature.

I have mine go up to 100% after 70 degrees and stay at 100% until it drops below 60.

So far it's been working great! :D

pingu2
07-09-08, 03:15 AM
a lot of people don't seem to realise that rivatuner can also display all this info in game (in an overlay like fraps).. see

https://home.comcast.net/~boogie3/Riva%20guides%202.htm