PDA

View Full Version : No more win 3.11 in 4 months?


Vik1dk
07-11-08, 07:34 PM
WTF?:D

http://arstechnica.com/journals/microsoft.ars/2008/07/09/oem-licensing-for-windows-3-11-finally-to-end-in-4-months

Believe it or not, that headline is not a typo. John Coyne, Systems Engineer in the OEM Embedded Devices group at Microsoft, has posted a quick blog entry that broke the bad news: as of November 1, 2008, Microsoft will no longer allow OEMs to license Windows for Workgroups 3.11 in the embedded channel. That's exactly 15 years after it shipped in November 1993! Poor OEMs have so much to put up with these days; first Windows XP, and now this!

Windows for Workgroups 3.11 has of course been unavailable in retail and via client OEMs for years, but the embedded industry wanted to keep this ancient operating system around for much, much longer.

dxx
07-11-08, 07:50 PM
To clarify, they're not actually doing anything with the OS, they're just going to ban Nekrosoft from using it as his entire argument for telling people to buy Vista x64. He'll have to think of something other than "lol nuh just get vista64 cuz i did n i m nut stupid stup sayin gi am if u want faster go back to wnndows 3.1 thatll b00t up fast lol" in four months, that's all.

bacon12
07-11-08, 07:56 PM
Probably because linux is the big dog in embedded devices now.

http://www.linuxdevices.com/news/NS4920597981.html

ViN86
07-12-08, 08:55 AM
To clarify, they're not actually doing anything with the OS, they're just going to ban Nekrosoft from using it as his entire argument for telling people to buy Vista x64. He'll have to think of something other than "lol nuh just get vista64 cuz i did n i m nut stupid stup sayin gi am if u want faster go back to wnndows 3.1 thatll b00t up fast lol" in four months, that's all.

nice flame post troll. :|

Badboy_12345
07-12-08, 03:40 PM
what? huh?

what?

nekrosoft13
07-12-08, 05:15 PM
nice flame post troll. :|

once a troll always a troll

crainger
07-12-08, 06:09 PM
To clarify, they're not actually doing anything with the OS, they're just going to ban Nekrosoft from using it as his entire argument for telling people to buy Vista x64. He'll have to think of something other than "lol nuh just get vista64 cuz i did n i m nut stupid stup sayin gi am if u want faster go back to wnndows 3.1 thatll b00t up fast lol" in four months, that's all.

Sounds like a certain little Scotty Dog needs some Vista 64 to cheer him up.

CaptNKILL
07-12-08, 07:22 PM
To clarify, they're not actually doing anything with the OS, they're just going to ban Nekrosoft from using it as his entire argument for telling people to buy Vista x64. He'll have to think of something other than "lol nuh just get vista64 cuz i did n i m nut stupid stup sayin gi am if u want faster go back to wnndows 3.1 thatll b00t up fast lol" in four months, that's all.

:wtf:

Tr1cK
07-12-08, 07:45 PM
****.

I guess I'll quit dual booting between it and Vista. :(

CaptNKILL
07-12-08, 08:46 PM
I wonder how fast 3.11 would load on a modern system.

crainger
07-12-08, 10:21 PM
I wonder how fast 3.11 would load on a modern system.

Try it CaptN. You know you want too.

Viral
07-13-08, 02:59 AM
on noes! watch your arse win95, they better not, netbeui is teh awesome

CaptNKILL
07-13-08, 03:08 AM
Try it CaptN. You know you want too.

I really do.

I should buy a 640Gb WD drive and format it with 320 FAT-16 partitions so I can run Windows 3.11 and DOS 6.2.

It'd boot in like 4 nano seconds.

srsly, ey thynk mi haed wood ecksploed. :headexplode:

ViN86
07-13-08, 11:15 AM
I really do.

I should buy a 640Gb WD drive and format it with 320 FAT-16 partitions so I can run Windows 3.11 and DOS 6.2.

It'd boot in like 4 nano seconds.

srsly, ey thynk mi haed wood ecksploed. :headexplode:

i ran it on a virtual machine a little while ago.

it's cool at first, but you will grow tired of it in about 5 nanoseconds.

Bman212121
07-13-08, 05:18 PM
I really do.

I should buy a 640Gb WD drive and format it with 320 FAT-16 partitions so I can run Windows 3.11 and DOS 6.2.

It'd boot in like 4 nano seconds.

srsly, ey thynk mi haed wood ecksploed. :headexplode:

I don't think it will even load on a modern day system. I think I've tried to do that before without good results. I can still download Windows 3.11 from Technet, which I might do before they pull it.

Something about sata and PCI-E don't seem to agree with it. :D

Actually... I wonder if I can load it onto a thumb drive.

ViN86
07-13-08, 06:08 PM
I don't think it will even load on a modern day system. I think I've tried to do that before without good results. I can still download Windows 3.11 from Technet, which I might do before they pull it.

Something about sata and PCI-E don't seem to agree with it. :D

Actually... I wonder if I can load it onto a thumb drive.
you can load it with an emulator. i dont think it will load natively because of the RAM and hard drive sizes.

maybe im wrong and maybe it will only address the maximum.

Mr Bigman
07-13-08, 06:28 PM
First off, 2.1 gig or higher no, 32 mb ram or higher no.

You can just virtual machine this one and just allow 32 mb as ram and 2.1 hd for size.

I used 3.1 up to 1999 cuz we had some old dos games that were fun for the kids but they moved onto FPS's.

Bearclaw
07-13-08, 09:18 PM
I really do.

I should buy a 640Gb WD drive and format it with 320 FAT-16 partitions so I can run Windows 3.11 and DOS 6.2.

It'd boot in like 4 nano seconds.

srsly, ey thynk mi haed wood ecksploed. :headexplode:

:headexplode:

crainger
07-13-08, 09:49 PM
I use 3.11 to fang through my porn collection.

dxx
07-14-08, 09:58 AM
Sounds like a certain little Scotty Dog needs some Vista 64 to cheer him up.

Got some, ta -

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=32279&stc=1&d=1216047468

Window transparancy, eh? See, it is useful afterall. Rest of the OS is a lame runt, but hey ho.

crainger
07-15-08, 07:04 PM
I like your experience score.

dxx
07-18-08, 05:29 PM
Innit. Not sure why it says Unrated, though. Probably because I've taken the system down to 4GB of RAM since it last ran, I guess. Still, 5.8 for the CPU, 5.9 for the RAM, graphics and gaming graphics, and 5.7 for the harddisk isn't bad. I'll miss numbers as high as this when I sell this PC tomorrow and move to a 2GHz laptop, sniff.

crainger
07-18-08, 07:27 PM
Mine says unrated everytime I update my drivers.