PDA

View Full Version : Downclocking issue a Vista problem?


Lfctony
07-12-08, 11:41 AM
Seems like Vista suffers from another problem, other than the nvkldmm error. Just to make sure, does anyone suffer from the downclocking/throttling problem during 3D in Windows XP?

The problem occurs during 3D output, where the cards drop from normal 3D speed to Fallback 1 (400/800/300) or Fallback 2 (300/600/100) for no apparent reason. (Not a power issue, not an overheating issue). Several users have bypassed this by forcing the card at full 3D all the time using Rivatuner which is only a temporary solution...

More here:
http://www.evga.com/forums/m.asp?m=421769

jAkUp
07-12-08, 03:09 PM
Yes, it is mostly dependent on the app. (not enough load on the GPU's)

Lfctony
07-12-08, 03:26 PM
Jacob for me it happens in Crysis so far. Now that can't be from the lack of load can it? Also, since it's apparently limited to Vista (not sure, still testing), it must be a driver/aero something issue...

nekrosoft13
07-12-08, 03:33 PM
it would downclock if temps are high, after re-locating one fan, it never goes over 75c for me, also never downclocks during a game, only on desktop

Lfctony
07-12-08, 03:57 PM
Mine downclocks randomly, sometimes after an hour, sometimes after 3-4 minutes and always with no excuse, ie in game, during great loads but at normal temps (ie 75-79c)...

Stevedroid
07-13-08, 04:43 AM
So far this only happens for me when going into 2D menus in Mass Effect. The card downclocks and then there's a noticable judder for about a second when resuming the 3D portion of the game. A second may not seem like a lot, but you're always going back and forth between menus and 3D so it gets annoying over time.

I mean I can understand the menus downclocking because they're just 2D, but the fact that there's a delay resuming normal speed is annoying. You'd think that they set it up so that if you're in a game, there wouldn't be any speed stepping regardless

oozish
07-20-08, 09:56 AM
My card doesn't downclock at all...has anyone heard of this? Is this a driver problem? I can't seem to find any info about a card NOT downclocking

Lfctony
07-20-08, 10:20 AM
Are you running Everest? Some users reported it was preventing the card from throttling in Windows...

LBJM
07-21-08, 11:33 PM
the down clocking doesn't work right on intel motherboards.

Lfctony
07-21-08, 11:37 PM
If you're talking about the card not downloading in 2D when it should, it downclocks ok even on a Intel mobo. My GTX280 was on 3 Intel boards and was downclocking fine. People that concluded that the downclocking doesn't work on Intel boards were jumping to conclusions... The card downclocked properly in my P5K, P5KC and P5KPL.

Nkd
07-22-08, 01:05 AM
yup my gtx 260 downclocks occasionaly, for no apparent reason, I dont know why it does that, it is really annoying, Nvidia better fix this otherwise I gonna have to return this card, it is a great card but I really dont want to force 3d clocks all the time, as that is a power burner. it usually happens when there is sudden drop in gpu load, but it fails to rebounce to normal 3d clock, like testing lost planet performance test, when it was about to load snow demo from caves it went to 2d clocks and never went back to 3d clocks.

Lfctony
07-22-08, 01:13 AM
Don't worry, it's just a matter of time. Just be happy its not a hardware issue.

Amuro
07-22-08, 01:18 AM
I've experienced downclocking in Crysis that lasts maybe 10 seconds only when I have Fraps running in the background while doing a quick load.

bacon12
07-22-08, 02:22 AM
Only happened to me once, and I was stuck in 2d no matter what after that. I had to reboot to get things back right.

Kaguya
07-22-08, 02:32 AM
Only happened to me once, and I was stuck in 2d no matter what after that. I had to reboot to get things back right.

Same thing happened to me in Grid. I was playing, things were going fine, then I decided to see if there were any better drivers available and when I went to the fire/hire driver menu, it turned into a slideshow and I noticed my clocks were at 300mhz. I eventually crawled out of the menus to find I needed to reboot to get it back up. Haven't played Grid since, so don't know if it's a constant issue, but I did play Grid a lot before without a problem - irritating for sure, but not chronic for me.

I did notice while playing Titan Quest last night, though, that the clocks would go down to 400mhz while looking at my character inventory screen or some other menu, which I find odd because there is still 3D going on around the screen... the gameplay though didn't seem to be affected, which made me wonder if it was really downclocking or if precision was making mistake. The Grid downclocking was extremely obvious, but in TQ it wasn't. And it would eventually pop back up to 666mhz after I started to run around for a few minutes.

ginfest
07-22-08, 07:11 AM
Mine is at 300 when in Windows, goes to 625 (current OC) when I am playing a game. I noticed that it does drop to 400 when in the menus or loading screens, but I have not seen any slow-downs in game (yet)
So far I have only played AoC, ME, and Crysis, using the 177.41 drivers.
I keep the fan on "Auto" and haven't noticed any temps over 75C ( full load)
I'm monitoring the above with the EVGA Precision applet on my G15 keyboard LCD, it's great for watching real-time changes in game :)

hemmy
07-23-08, 06:15 PM
Mine has worked fine except for example in the World in Conflict benchmark, right as it is starting the clock boosts up so my initial FPS is very low

Also, strangely when Idle at windows my memory clock goes down like it should and then like clockwork after about a minute it goes according to EVGA Precision up to 1188MHZ, which is higher than my 3D clock of my 260 FTW edition.

Seems to be a program bug, Rivatuner reads it correctly.

hell_of_doom227
07-24-08, 08:08 AM
Never had this issue, no matter what i tried. As soon as i got into game it runs at full speed. Heck even if i run windows media player it runs at full speed or intense flash animation. It goes to 2d mode only on Windows idle, or i use like browser.

nekrosoft13
07-24-08, 08:20 AM
Mine is at 300 when in Windows, goes to 625 (current OC) when I am playing a game. I noticed that it does drop to 400 when in the menus or loading screens, but I have not seen any slow-downs in game (yet)
So far I have only played AoC, ME, and Crysis, using the 177.41 drivers.
I keep the fan on "Auto" and haven't noticed any temps over 75C ( full load)
I'm monitoring the above with the EVGA Precision applet on my G15 keyboard LCD, it's great for watching real-time changes in game :)

when i had my card, I also noticed that it drops during the loading screens or menus. But never during the actual gameplay.

hemmy
07-24-08, 03:21 PM
BTW, I tested my 260 in XP on Counter Strike 1.6 and at first I got a bunch of stutters from the clock changing, but after a minute or two it settled at low 3D performance clock speeds.

Luckily, that is still enough for 100fps constant in 1.6 lol :)