PDA

View Full Version : GeForce 177.66 beta


Shocky
07-13-08, 01:19 PM
Support for 6/7/8/9/GT200, all os , dated 25/06/08.

Links are a bit slow..

XP 32bit

http://pic.xfastest.com/z/177.66/XFastest%20177.66%20WinXP32.exe

XP 64bit

http://pic.xfastest.com/z/177.66/XFastest%20177.66%20WinXP64.exe

Vista 32bit

http://pic.xfastest.com/z/177.66/XFastest%20177.66%20Vista32.exe

Vista 64bit

http://pic.xfastest.com/z/177.66/XFastest%20177.66%20Vista64.exe

Leeched from here (http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?p=2769209#post2769209)

shilk
07-13-08, 01:47 PM
Thanks dude. Will give 'em a shot. :)

Lfctony
07-13-08, 02:02 PM
If they're dated 25/06/08, then they can't contain a fix for the downclocking issue of the GTX280... :(

bacon12
07-13-08, 02:05 PM
I ran into that issue for the first time yesterday on my 260. Hopefully we will see something from nvidia soon.

DeusGear
07-13-08, 02:25 PM
I fixed that issue by simply making two profiles via riva tuner and right clicking the icon and selecting it when I go ingame. Really gives me the fan control that I need :)

shilk
07-13-08, 02:29 PM
These are horrible. :(

I lost half of my resolutions in games, and scaling is busted as well. I can't get pillarboxing in games now. Performance wise, I didn't see any difference. But I'd rather have my resolutions and scaling working correctly.

Devil May Cry 4 doesn't even pick up my standard resolution of 1440x900 and instead, maxes out at 1280x1024? :eek2:

Going back to 177.41's.

Shocky
07-13-08, 03:45 PM
Back to 177.41 for me too, artifacts in Crysis when cloaking, same as with 177.39.

Uberpwnage
07-13-08, 04:28 PM
I thought the driver drought was over, guess not :(

nekrosoft13
07-13-08, 10:36 PM
installed, so far nothing exploded

Bokishi
07-14-08, 02:12 AM
Yeah Crysis goes glitchy when in cloak mode

nekrosoft13
07-14-08, 06:28 AM
could you post a screenshot?

K007
07-14-08, 06:38 AM
Your monitor goes invisible...to hide the 23 fps -.-....

nekrosoft13
07-14-08, 06:40 AM
These are horrible. :(

I lost half of my resolutions in games, and scaling is busted as well. I can't get pillarboxing in games now. Performance wise, I didn't see any difference. But I'd rather have my resolutions and scaling working correctly.

Devil May Cry 4 doesn't even pick up my standard resolution of 1440x900 and instead, maxes out at 1280x1024? :eek2:

Going back to 177.41's.

1440x900 is not a common res, simply a bad modded driver.

saturnotaku
07-14-08, 08:30 AM
1440x900 is not a common res, simply a bad modded driver.

It's common enough considering pretty much every 19-inch widescreen monitor uses that resolution.

nekrosoft13
07-14-08, 08:43 AM
It's common enough considering pretty much every 19-inch widescreen monitor uses that resolution.

i know that 19inch ws monitor run 1440x900, but there really aren't that many 19inch monitors around. I personally never seen one used anywhere, only in stores.

1440x900 is probably the most forgotten resolution, when ever modded drivers are concerned, it is often left out. Some official drivers don't have 1440x900 support either.

BronzeGod
07-14-08, 09:10 AM
i know that 19inch ws monitor run 1440x900, but there really aren't that many 19inch monitors around. I personally never seen one used anywhere, only in stores.

1440x900 is probably the most forgotten resolution, when ever modded drivers are concerned, it is often left out. Some official drivers don't have 1440x900 support either.

Lol nekro. remember, there are gamers on budgets among us still. (lee)

shilk
07-14-08, 12:24 PM
1440x900 is a 19" monitor's native res. I can go higher, but it kind defeats the whole purpose. :p

There's a ton of 19" WS monitors here. I've seen them around since they've had the 17" all the way up to 26". Every single driver I've used official and modded have always supported this resolution, too. Just these drivers didn't in one game. Nineteens are the bastard child of monitors. Everyone always gets the 17" and then goes right on over to the 22's for a little more.

I'm not complaining either way, since I got this monitor for free. And I certainly am not going back to CRT. That thing was hot enough to keep my pizza warm in the box by just setting it on top of the thing. :D


But anyway, I'm done with these drivers. Installed 177.41 back and all is well. Got my scaling and resolutions back.


It's kind of weird how only DMC 4 had this issue. All of my other games ran fine with their resolution intact from when I quit the game. It reverted to 1280x960 when I started the game up, lost all of it's brightness settings, and the max res it would go up to was 1280x1024. Then if I tried to bump up the refresh rate to 75, it would wig out and only support 4:3 resolutions. :fu:

Mass Effect lost my resolutions past 1440x900 and so did Gears of War. They also lost everything below 800x600. After I installed 177.41, it's all fine again like some magic resolution fairy fixed it.

Weird. :wtf:

nekrosoft13
07-14-08, 12:55 PM
if Devil May Cry 4 is the only game, then it's not the driver fault, you need to switch the refresh rate around a bit, and it will allow you to set different resolution.

Devil May Cry 4 suffers from the same issue as Lost Planet, that refresh rate sometimes doesn't allow to change resolutions.

in Lost Planet for me to get 1680x1050, i had to either set 59hz or 61hz (don't remember excactly), if i selected 60hz i could only get 1024x768.

Shocky
07-14-08, 01:46 PM
could you post a screenshot?

Thread here with screenshot, same issue..

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=115137

shilk
07-14-08, 02:10 PM
if Devil May Cry 4 is the only game, then it's not the driver fault, you need to switch the refresh rate around a bit, and it will allow you to set different resolution.


Yeah, I was keeping up with the DMC4 topic, but it still doesn't work. But my other games suffered some strange issues as well.


For once, I wished they would just come out with a driver that fixed:

1.) Scaling issues.
Nothing worse than playing an older 4:3 resolution game stretched to hell.

2.) Gamma issues.
I freakin hate it when I exit something and my gamma would default.

3.) Proper TV out support.
Can't remember when this worked properly (maybe 2002?) - I've given up since then. No issues what so ever with an ATi card. Go figure.

All of the above work except #3 as of now with the 177.41 drivers for me. But you'd figure by shelling out a decent amount for a videocard, that most of these issues would be fixed out of the box. It's irritating as hell to say the least.

AngelGraves13
07-15-08, 07:37 PM
So, what does everyone think about the new colorspace options in the "Adjust video color settings"? The default which we've used for years is Limited (16-235) and now there is a Full (0-255). Full has deeper blacks and whiter whites, but unless you have an HDTV with 10-bit colorspace, I don't really see the need for it as it makes everything really dark. Still, it's useful sometimes on certain things. Maybe when DisplayPort offers us Full 10-bit colorspace, we'll see a real need for it.

BTW, it's found under the Advanced tab in Video Color Settings.

EDIT: Actually, I think I'm liking the FULL colorspace much more. Colors are vibrant and not dull...finally!!

andrebrait
07-16-08, 01:02 AM
yeah, and now DVDs plays nice on monitors =D

Black is not gray anymore

AngelGraves13
07-16-08, 03:10 AM
yeah, and now DVDs plays nice on monitors =D

Black is not gray anymore

It does make a huge difference!