PDA

View Full Version : rivatuner reads core as 100?


grimreefer
07-16-08, 07:06 PM
i have a gtx 260, and rivatuner is reading my core as 100. i have it set to force 3d performance, so it should always be at like high clocks. is this happening to anyone else?

grimreefer
07-16-08, 07:13 PM
i have no idea what the hell is happening with this lol.
well, the card was messed up in other ways (crashing), so im gonna get it replaced. maybe the problems were related.

turdhat
07-17-08, 10:14 AM
Mine reads 100 only when the core is overclocked to 700 or more. I read this is a rivatuner bug.

nekrosoft13
07-17-08, 11:15 AM
grimreefer, change your sig

bacon12
07-17-08, 12:52 PM
Mine doesn't go above 80 degrees with a 710 core clock and I have let fur mark run for almost an hour to test it.

You have v2.09?

Lfctony
07-17-08, 01:09 PM
Mine reads 100 only when the core is overclocked to 700 or more. I read this is a rivatuner bug.

Unwinder said this is not a bug but the card is actually downclocking. Other utilities might show 700, but they're only reading attempted speeds and not actual. Rivatuner is showing the real-time clock, and others have been reporting this "issue" since the Geforce FX era, which is not an issue at all of course...

turdhat
07-17-08, 10:11 PM
There is no way its downclocking and I show 100 as well. I have been playing Conan and would notice the performance drop. Trust me, I would know if it was running any differently.

grimreefer
07-21-08, 12:10 AM
the card i had was revision a2, and came at reference clocks. fyi. i actually ended up returning that one and picking an xxx model. free cod 4 made it super tempting.

jAkUp
07-21-08, 12:12 AM
The card downclocks while in 2D mode, this is normal.

grimreefer
07-21-08, 07:32 PM
ok, i got to the bottom of this:
the shader and the core clock have to be maintained within a certain ratio or else the core will downclock to 100.
clocks like 730 core 1450 shader wont work, the core is too high and the shader is too low.
730 1500 will work.
710 1450 will work.
rivatuner has a mechanism that wont allow you to apply certain clocks if the disparity is too high, but it doesnt always work, and in those instances, you will experience the downclocking.
sticky?

turdhat
07-23-08, 01:20 PM
I still think this is a rivatuner issue. If my core was running at 100 Conan would be a slide show. Mine reads 100 and you are right about the shader/core ratio being too far off as the culprit however I dont see any perfomance loss when testing your theory. Running Conan at 100mhz core would have to be obvious. I think having the ratio off just causes a false clock speed to be reported IMO. Maybe it is different for different system configuration.

DeusGear
07-23-08, 01:31 PM
You can't have a difference between core clock and shader clock that large or it will give you the 100 core desync.