PDA

View Full Version : Gears of War runs like crap! Please help!

MisterMister
07-20-08, 07:09 PM
Okay, I bought Gears of War for my PC a few months ago (since I don't own an Xbox 360, I've never actually played it before). I just started playing it however. Now, I KNOW my PC should be capable of running it at it's max settings and at my screen's native resolution of 1680x1050, but I am having issues getting it to run smoothly (my system specs are in my signature below). I mean I can run Bioshock, CoD4, Supreme Commander, FEAR, etc... All at their maximum settings and at this resolution without a single hint of slowdown. Hell, I can even play Crysis at maximum and my native resolution (minus AA) without any issues!

Anyway, when I play Gears, I get some choppiness and slowdown issues (e.g. the frame rate drops well below 30FPS at points). This was with maximum settings, so I turned AA *OFF*. It didn't help. So I then tried running the "default" settings (this put everything to "medium" settings, turned AA and VSYNC off. I STILL have frame rate issues! Now, one would expect to see SOME improvement after reducing the detail by THAT much, but alas I couldn't tell a performance difference between that and when I had it set to maximum (there may be a difference but its slight enough that I didn't see any improvements).

I have already downloaded and installed all the GoW for Windows updates/patches, as well as updating to the newest WHQL approved Nvidia Forceware drivers. I've tried further OCing my video cards, I've tried using the cards at stock clock, and I’ve also tried OCing my CPU to my benchmarking level of 3.6GHz (vs. my 24/7 running of 3.2GHz). Still no improvement. At least none that I could readily see.