PDA

View Full Version : 177.70s All Flavours...


Lfctony
07-23-08, 11:27 AM
http://pic.xfastest.com/z/NVIDIA%20%C5X%B0%CA/177.70/XFastest%20177.70%20WinXP32.exe
http://pic.xfastest.com/z/NVIDIA%20%C5X%B0%CA/177.70/XFastest%20177.70%20Vista32.exe
http://pic.xfastest.com/z/NVIDIA%20%C5X%B0%CA/177.70/XFastest%20177.70%20Vista64.exe
http://pic.xfastest.com/z/NVIDIA%20%C5X%B0%CA/177.70/XFastest%20177.70%20WinXP64.exe

Hopefully these fix the downclocking in Vista, though I doubt it without official release notes...

nekrosoft13
07-23-08, 11:30 AM
posted here
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=116699

I wonder what driver date these have, 177.72 were from 7/15

Lfctony
07-23-08, 11:33 AM
DriverVer = 07/11/2008, 7.15.11.7770

nekrosoft13
07-23-08, 11:35 AM
thanks, let me know if anything changed. performance wise or anything else.

Lfctony
07-23-08, 11:40 AM
I don't know if I will install them. I mean I need the downclocking fix, which is pretty big. I'm sure Nvidia will release something official when they get it right (don't mean WHQL, just something with release notes etc...)

BronzeGod
07-23-08, 11:51 AM
G80 PhysX support on these?

hell_of_doom227
07-23-08, 12:31 PM
Can somebody explain to me this downclock bug. I didn't experience it. My card runs at default core speed 602Mhz, Vista x64. Is it only affecting over****ed cards?

nekrosoft13
07-23-08, 12:39 PM
G80 PhysX support on these?

for that you actually need a new physx driver

nekrosoft13
07-23-08, 12:40 PM
could someone test GRID with GTX 280?

<PROFILE Label="Race Driver Grid">
<APPLICATION Label="grid.exe"/>
<PROPERTY Label="multichip_rendering_mode" Value="0x02004005" Default="0x02004005" Itemtype="predefined"/>
<PROPERTY Label="aa_behavior_flags" Value="0x00000001" Default="0x00000001" Itemtype="predefined"/>
/PROFILE>

Lfctony
07-23-08, 12:42 PM
Can somebody explain to me this downclock bug. I didn't experience it. My card runs at default core speed 602Mhz, Vista x64. Is it only affecting over****ed cards?

Nope. For some reason, certain users experience drops to 2D speeds in-game. For example in my case, the cards drop to 2D speed while in Crysis and stay there, making the game unplayable. The only solution is to restart the system as the clocks simply refuse to go back up. SLI users seem more affected by it, ie single card users are less likely to experience it as the load is only on one card. But some single card users have the problem as well, only they're less.

Nvidia is aware of the issue. It's not a hardware or power issue, or caused by overheating. It's purely on the driver side. In my case (and everyone else that has reported over at the evga forums so I think it's limited to Vista), it only happens in Windows Vista. My Windows XP installation works without any downclocking... The next official driver by Nvidia, whether its WHQL or just Beta, will deal with the problem...

Lfctony
07-23-08, 12:50 PM
I can confirm that the downclocking/throttling issue is still there with these drivers, as I suspected... Back to XP64, for now...

Bokishi
07-23-08, 05:25 PM
This need inf mod?

nekrosoft13
07-23-08, 05:33 PM
no

Bokishi
07-23-08, 06:11 PM
Awesome

Lfctony
07-24-08, 12:37 AM
These are extremely fast, but they don't render textures correctly in Crysis... :(

Bokishi
07-24-08, 01:56 AM
Drivers are good so far

Lfctony
07-24-08, 02:50 AM
The incorrect texture rendering appears to happen only when using 16xQ AA... Will test further...

Lfctony
07-24-08, 03:16 AM
They artifact with any form of AA during the Harbor timedemo. They appear fine during normal gameplay...

nekrosoft13
07-24-08, 06:12 AM
could you post a example? i tried the harbor time demo with G80 and didn't notice anything

maybe only GT200 cards are affected?

Lfctony
07-24-08, 06:17 AM
I uninstalled them... Basically instead of textured ground, it would have big chunks of solid color, ie big chunks of grey etc. This happened only during the timedemo, and only with AA. During actual gameplay, I noticed no errors.

Edit: BTW I was testing in Windows XP x64...

nekrosoft13
07-24-08, 06:51 AM
haven't tried enabling AA with G80 yet, but with AA-off i didn't see any problems in the time demo.

Lfctony
07-24-08, 06:54 AM
Same here, no AA works fine. Any form of AA produces very noticeable grey blocks half-way through each run...