PDA

View Full Version : Acer Monitor


Vanzagar
07-28-08, 08:59 PM
Was thinking about buying this:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824009125

Until I read the user comment:

Cons: No 64 bit support. After Googling failure symptoms, it turns out this monitor will go to 1600x1200 in Vista64bit. It will allow a 1920x1200 desktop, but the 420 columns on the right are offscreen. So much for watching blue ray even with hdmi and hdcp support.

WTF is this? Why would Vista 64bit limit the resolution of a monitor?? Looking in the specs and other sites I can't find anything that mentions it not working at full resolution with a 64bit OS?

How would you find something like this out, is it "assumed" in another area of the spec I am missing...

Thanks,

rh

stevemedes
07-29-08, 09:43 AM
that person is probably incompetent. i'm sure the monitor is fine.

Bearclaw
07-29-08, 09:46 AM
i think so too...but what do i know

stevemedes
07-29-08, 10:01 AM
but what do i know

alot about gay secks

Bman212121
07-29-08, 10:14 AM
Was thinking about buying this:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824009125

Until I read the user comment:



WTF is this? Why would Vista 64bit limit the resolution of a monitor?? Looking in the specs and other sites I can't find anything that mentions it not working at full resolution with a 64bit OS?

How would you find something like this out, is it "assumed" in another area of the spec I am missing...

Thanks,

rh

Well the fact that the reviewer can't even add shows they don't know WTH they are talking about. ;) Secondly they probably are watching a movie in some type of 4:3 mode but don't know how they set it; It's probably a software setting. If they have the full desktop it should stay 1920 x 1200 when playing a movie because most players don't change the resolution. (If you full screen WMP it shouldn't change the resolution just to play a movie)