PDA

View Full Version : How can I play my vista steam games in xp


XDanger
07-31-08, 06:55 PM
This isn't really an os question as the solution is specific to steam I think.

The steam install is on my vista drive ,I'm trying to play from my xp install.

I get a "cant load filesystem dll" error

Can I fix this?

The file is where steam is looking but isn't allowed access to it
_________________________
I would try installing steam on the xp drive and setting the path it searches for to the vista steam but i don't think that would help.

I just really don't want to re-install all the steam games again as Ive got a "Fair Usage Policy" on my BB to think about

bacon12
07-31-08, 07:20 PM
I keep my steam install on a separate partition, and it works fine in both vista and xp for me.

So if you wanna use it on both without doing anything you mentioned, I would make a drive or partition for steam, move it there, and link them that way.

JasonPC
07-31-08, 08:19 PM
It's possible to use the same steam installation on both XP and Vista. But do you have Vista 64? If so HL2 may be using the 64-bit dll files on XP (32-bit). My recommendation is to run the 32-bit version on both because the 64-bit version is a complete JOKE. It runs like crap and there is NO advantage to it.

LordJuanlo
08-01-08, 02:28 AM
I have Vista on drive C, XP on drive D and Steam (and games) on drive F. Steam works from both XP and Vista

Bokishi
08-01-08, 02:30 AM
I have a 1tb HDD dedicated just to games, it works out great

XDanger
08-01-08, 01:58 PM
It's possible to use the same steam installation on both XP and Vista. But do you have Vista 64? If so HL2 may be using the 64-bit dll files on XP (32-bit). My recommendation is to run the 32-bit version on both because the 64-bit version is a complete JOKE. It runs like crap and there is NO advantage to it.

64bit is better for cm8 no?
_________
I have Vista on drive C, XP on drive D and Steam (and games) on drive F. Steam works from both XP and Vista

So It should work but it doesn't for me, have to re-load, bollocks.

bacon12
08-01-08, 02:44 PM
64bit is better for cm8 no?
_________


So It should work but it doesn't for me, have to re-load, bollocks.

no because you have your steam install on vista that is where the read write errors are coming from. Just move it to its own partition.

JasonPC
08-01-08, 07:16 PM
64bit is better for cm8 no?


It's not the fact that it's 64-bit that makes it run worse. I think Valve just did a crappy job coding it and that's why it runs so poorly.

XDanger
08-02-08, 07:54 AM
no because you have your steam install on vista that is where the read write errors are coming from. Just move it to its own partition.

Can the Vista dvd create a partition for me, I have 2 lots of steams now both with cm8 wasting space.

shteve
08-02-08, 09:26 AM
If you move the folder to another drive, just delete the clientregistry.blob file. Then in vista and xp, just make the shortcut point to the new folder. You'll need to log in to your account again, but it won't care that it's been moved. My steam folder is on my D drive, and works from XP, Vista32 and Vista64 (which are all on their own separate drives).

bacon12
08-03-08, 03:14 PM
Can the Vista dvd create a partition for me, I have 2 lots of steams now both with cm8 wasting space.

You can do that in vista without the dvd. control panel>> admin tools>> storage >>disk management.

From there you can create new volumes, shrink, format, delete. Pretty much everything you need to do.