PDA

View Full Version : Firefox Reported Attack.


Heinz68
08-08-08, 06:33 AM
Recently I visited hardspell.com site quite few times without any problem.
Today received the warning (picture attached).
When I click on the "Why was this site blocked?" button it takes me to the Safe Browsing link by Google (http://safebrowsing.clients.google.com/safebrowsing/diagnostic?client=Firefox&hl=en-US&site=http://en.hardspell.com/doc/showcont.asp?news_id=3822).

I also took picture off it since the warning is site specific and might not last for too long.
What is strange I don't use any Google software or Toolbar so it looks like the security must be built in the Firefox. When I use the IE7 no such warning.
http://img380.imageshack.us/img380/3249/sitewarningcq1.jpg

http://img517.imageshack.us/img517/5471/googlewarningmq0.jpg

crainger
08-08-08, 08:05 AM
Did you find the site via Google? Google itself scans the sites you visit from it's search results. No special toolbar required.

Medion
08-08-08, 08:56 AM
I got the same attack page when I clicked a link to go there off another forum post here.

Heinz68
08-08-08, 09:02 AM
Did you find the site via Google? Google itself scans the sites you visit from it's search results. No special toolbar required.
No I have the site Bookmarked for few months. The site is still blocked now.
It only happened to me one time before it was about 2 months ego and the site was monstercable.com.
At that times I was thinking it's about time somebody attacks them :) I mean what ripoff they're.

I got the same attack page when I clicked a link to go there off another forum post here.
Thanks, nice to know.

Runningman
08-08-08, 01:52 PM
Sounds like the site might have a XSS vulnerability and they are hosting malware or some other malicious software. At this point i would think that the admins have to be aware of the problem and either don't want to address the issue or are intentionally involved with the distribution of the software.