PDA

View Full Version : 3 monitors, NVIDIA SLI?

ZachHobbs
08-11-08, 09:21 AM
I'm currently using two 17" monitors on my aging machine and will be building a gaming box soon. The two 17" monitors are not ideal for gaming, so I was considering purchasing a 28" monitor and sticking it in between the two 17's. Can I use this machine in two modes somehow?

Mode 1 (work):
Linux, 3 monitors driven by 2 Nvidia cards

Mode 2 (playing a game):
Vista, 1 monitor using 2 Nvidia cards in SLI

I'm a newbie to SLI so please point me in the right direction! (and also feel free to reccomend a good card sub $200 card)..

Thanks!
-Zach

Prod
08-13-08, 12:13 AM
I would say stay away from SLI i have been using it now for about a year and i will not be using it again when i upgrade my cards. i understand that u are going to need 2 cards to run 3 monitors. i would say look at the new ATI cards out. you are going to get better game play out of the new 4870 X2 then what the 200 cards give out. what cards u should look at also has to do with how much u want to spend.

blackwaves_2000
10-31-08, 07:03 AM
With the way you are looking to run your system, you will be fine. SLI is by no mean a perfect system, it has it's hicups and is not for the NOVICE user. With a little know how it can be very advantagous. Yea you will need 3 cards to run 3 monitors, but SLI will be disabled. And then when you game, you simply select 1(your 28") monitor and enable SLI while the other two monitors are disabled. Every game will act differently to SLI, some("most") will perform very well. When you start to reach your cards limts(overclocking) and adjusting settings trying to squeeze every bit of performance out of your card and system is when most instabilty issues occur!!! Overclocking is cool but know the limits(temp, voltage, your PSU) and if you really want a better experience buy a better card. Hope that helps, I have used SLI sense my first full system build and I will never go back to a single card system.