PDA

View Full Version : Problems with BioShock Activation


ViN86
08-18-08, 11:01 AM
im having problems activating bioshock. when i enter my cd key, it says it activates the software, but then the program wont run. any ideas why this is happening? something wrong with the securom?

:confused:

i enter the cd key, it says it connects to the server and says it's activated, then when i click start, nothing happens. then if i run bioshock again, it asks me to activate again.

LT.Schaffer
08-18-08, 12:10 PM
is this steam or retail?

if retail did you patch it fully?
if you are patched fully maybe try reinstalling but try activating it before installing any patches...

nekrosoft13
08-18-08, 12:13 PM
getting rid of these files might help
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=1159348&postcount=5

this will do it for you

ATTRIB -R -S -A -H "C:\Users\NeKroSoft13\AppData\Roaming\ SecuROM\UserData\*"

DEL "C:\Users\NeKroSoft13\AppData\Roaming\ SecuROM\UserData\*"

just change the path to correct place

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=1313309&postcount=13

WeReWoLf
08-18-08, 02:27 PM
Oddly enough, with the 177.83's, DX10 option is greyed out for me.

ViN86
08-18-08, 04:27 PM
k i deleted those securom files

i am now going to uninstall, remove the registry entries, then reinstall

found this. this will help remove NULL keys which normally require a new OS install:
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?threadid=203200

nekrosoft13
08-18-08, 04:53 PM
nice thread you found vin, now people are starting to be afraid of securom. just great.

ViN86
08-18-08, 05:53 PM
well i have completely uninstalled bioshock and securom from my pc.

now when i try to reinstall BioShock it tells me that my cd is not an original. yet, it is the original.

WTF. omg i ****ing hate securom and all this bull****.

nekrosoft13
08-18-08, 06:33 PM
what you have running in the background?

ViN86
08-18-08, 06:36 PM
what you have running in the background?

nothing. i rebooted.

no d tools, nothing.

i looked at the registry and it seems to place the securom entries in again, but that null key isnt there. maybe something is stopping it? antivirus?

Medion
08-18-08, 06:45 PM
I'm good for now, owning multiple Securom (and no Starforce) games. While I refuse to buy any game with Starforce on it, DIRT was the only one that looked to be any good (for my tastes). But even with Securom, my system seems fine. If it ever gets to the point where Securom interferes, I'll just resort to Securom free .exes for my legitimately purchased games. I still refuse to pirate.

ViN86
08-18-08, 06:52 PM
k, got it to install now.

had to uninstall Alcohol 120%, disable my antivirus, and remove my D-Tools virtual drive. now i need to try and activate it.

ViN86
08-18-08, 06:56 PM
k, it activated and now it loads :D

thx nekro (you probably dont think you did anything but i think removing securom and reinstalling fixed it). :headbang:

MowTin
08-18-08, 10:16 PM
The PC version of Bioshock comes with bonus puzzles like "The Game Won't Start" puzzle and "No Sound" puzzle. It's just there to test if you're worthy of Rapture. Enjoy!