PDA

View Full Version : RTCW or DOOM 3?


Intel17
08-20-08, 12:24 PM
Since these two games were sequels to the two fundamental games in the FPS genre, I'm wondering which sequel you thought was a better game?

Let the votes begin!

ViN86
08-20-08, 12:38 PM
RTCW. hell, ppl still play it online.

i loved OSP and Banimod. two awesome mods.

ive wasted probably over 1000 hrs of my life playing rtcw LOL :D

Intel17
08-20-08, 01:21 PM
I thought RTCW's single player was a lot more varied than DOOM 3's. The multiplayer was vastly better than DOOM's as well. I loved them both, but I think RTCW is better :)

Quick420
08-20-08, 01:33 PM
RtCW all the way,singleplayer was a lot of fun.Multiplayer got me into competetion playing;)

bob saget
08-20-08, 02:35 PM
quake3? :bleh:

NarcissistZero
08-20-08, 03:15 PM
I guess RTCW... I'm one of the few who loved Doom 3, but I loved RTCW more.

LT.Schaffer
08-20-08, 04:40 PM
+1 DOOM 3:)

DiscipleDOC
08-20-08, 04:59 PM
quake3? :bleh:

:thumbsup:

I still play this game quite often...

Intel17
08-21-08, 01:09 AM
So I just played through RTCW on "I'm Death Incarnate", and man was it a blast. Oh, and it looks so freaking awesome with 16xQ AA and 16xAF!

I hope Raven doesn't screw it up like they did Quake 4. Please, let them not screw it up! And I'm somewhat dubious of the usage of the DOOM 3 engine -- RTCW 2 should definitely be on something like UE3 or Id Tech 5. Ah, well.

nutcrackr
08-21-08, 03:46 AM
doom 3 single player was more fun for me, but rtcw is good too :)

lightman
08-21-08, 04:06 AM
RtCW all the way. Doom 3 was good, but it was a continuous repeating of the same "narrow, dark (or should I say not a single ****ing photon in it) corridor, run, shoot, run some more, shoot". Nice, but after 30 minutes it was already boring.

SH64
08-21-08, 07:38 AM
D00M3!

ClosetFanBoy
08-21-08, 10:05 AM
SP wise I'm going with Doom 3. MP wise, RTCW is still one of the best I've ever played.

Burnt_Ram
08-21-08, 05:51 PM
RTCW without a dought for me ... cant wait for RTCW2.

Greg
08-22-08, 07:24 AM
...Oh, and it looks so freaking awesome with 16xQ AA and 16xAF!...
How did you get the AA to work? I tried enabling it in nV Control Panel but it is definitely not being applied in game.

Intel17
08-22-08, 09:33 PM
I just force it using the NVIDIA control panel. That's odd that it doesn't work...

$n][pErMan
08-22-08, 10:13 PM
Doom 3

Greg
08-22-08, 11:02 PM
I just force it using the NVIDIA control panel. That's odd that it doesn't work...
Thanks for replying. I'm not sure what else to try. The nV control panel is straight forward to use and 16xAF appears to be working judging by perfect texture quality.
Edit: Just got it working... I had 'enhance application' instead of 'override application' set as the antialiasing mode.

Intel17
08-22-08, 11:49 PM
Ah, yes, sorry I didn't figure that one out! Well, in any case, enjoy your new, jaggy-free RTCW :)

BioHazZarD
08-23-08, 05:38 AM
Doom3, never really liked rtcw back then.