PDA

View Full Version : Where is my bottleneck, now?


pRATTICUS
08-23-08, 06:48 PM
Considering the following upgrade in CPU:

Core 2 Quad Q9550 Yorkfield.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115041

Currently have a Core 2 Duo E6600 OC'd to 3.0GHz with a Zalman.

Also, will my mobo work with the Yorkfield? I seem to recall complaints about this about a year ago.

From looking at the specs of my rig in my signature, is this a wise investment given that it is primarily for games?

I have a tri-boot machine with Windows XP Pro-32 SP3, Windows Vista-32 Home Premium & Windows Vista-64 Home Premium loaded so lots of options on the OS.

Thanks in advance!

walterman
08-23-08, 07:00 PM
If you like to run games at 2560x1600 with AA, in your screen, prolly the gfx card.

I'm running 1920x1200 since 2 months ago, and i still haven't upgraded my gfx card cause the GTX280 could not be enough for my personal needs. So, i cannot imagine the problems to run 2560x1600 :(

AFAIK, i think that the 680i cannot run yorkfields, but you can run wolfdales.

pRATTICUS
08-23-08, 07:15 PM
Thanks for the reply, I'll check on the capability of the 680i mobo.

As far as GPU, I'm not going to any SLi configuration, so the 280 is going to have to be the only solution at this point. If that still proves to truly be a bottleneck (and I don't agree that it is), then I won't upgrade at all :).

pRATTICUS
08-23-08, 07:35 PM
Yeah, you are right about the incompatibility with the mobo.

The 680i chipset can only handle up to the Wolfdale 45nm processors.

However, in looking at some of the initial previews of the Nehalem chip and the fact that it should be out in months is leading me to wait and just upgrade my subsystem entirely Q1 next year.

See below for a preview of Nehalem:

http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/intel/showdoc.aspx?i=3326

Bman212121
08-23-08, 07:55 PM
Waiting for Nehalem might be a good idea. If you wanted a yorkfield you'd likely want a 790i board, so you'd need new ram, board and processor. I'd also suggest getting a 2nd GTX 280 for a monitor that size.

pRATTICUS
08-23-08, 09:31 PM
What's the current verdict on SLi 280s and micro-stutter, hitching, etc.?

I have read reports from a plethora of people who adopted SLi in the past and vowed to never do it again.

Lfctony
08-23-08, 11:46 PM
What's the current verdict on SLi 280s and micro-stutter, hitching, etc.?

I have read reports from a plethora of people who adopted SLi in the past and vowed to never do it again.

Some do, some don't. It's best to try it yourself at a friend, see if you can notice a difference in gameplay and even if you do, it might not bother you... It's up to you really...

Heinz68
08-24-08, 09:45 AM
What's the current verdict on SLi 280s and micro-stutter, hitching, etc.?

I have read reports from a plethora of people who adopted SLi in the past and vowed to never do it again.
Another option when considering SLI is to sell the GTX 280 and get the HD 4870 x2. I believe this is better solution for running 2 GPU also cheaper plus I don't see why new mobo should be needed in that case.

I do visit many forums and don't see any reporting about bad microstuttering on the HD 4870 x2 card at least not from the real users.