PDA

View Full Version : DualScreen and SLI ?


ASteve
08-23-08, 08:25 PM
Hi All,

I just buy a second Graphic card, and i set it in SLI, but i lost my DualScreen.

Is it possible to have both ?

jcrox
08-23-08, 08:28 PM
No

Bman212121
08-23-08, 08:52 PM
How about I elaborate for jcrox.

You cannot use SLI and dual monitors at the same time. If you disable SLI you can use use both monitors again. It would be a little bit of a hassle but that is one way.

The best way to have SLI and dual monitors is to buy a cheap PCI graphics card and install that into the pc. It doesn't have to be anything special, it just needs to run the 2nd monitor. Anything you have laying around will do.

There is supposedly a new driver is coming out which will allow SLI and multi monitor mode. No ETA as far as I know, so it maybe a week or it might never surface. At the present time ATI can support Crossfire and multiple monitors, so it is very likely that Nvidia would like to respond with support of their own.

Toss3
08-24-08, 05:16 AM
At the present time ATI can support Crossfire and multiple monitors, so it is very likely that Nvidia would like to respond with support of their own.
[Off topic]
But isn't that an amd platform only thing?[/off topic]

ASteve
08-25-08, 04:05 PM
Ok thank for the information so i have to wait the 180 drivers ...

Q
08-25-08, 04:26 PM
The upcoming 180 drivers will eliminate this limitation, finally.

It's about damn time. I can finally start to consider SLI after all this time.

Tym
08-25-08, 05:02 PM
Ok thank for the information so i have to wait the 180 drivers ...

I wouldn't hold my breath, though. I heard that promise when I had dual 6800s, then when I had dual 7800s, and I gave up on SLI with the 8800 ;)

Bman212121
08-25-08, 07:18 PM
[Off topic]
But isn't that an amd platform only thing?[/off topic]

Nope. Crossfire will work on x38, x48 intel boards.

http://ati.amd.com/technology/crossfire/faq.html