PDA

View Full Version : MSCONFIG Tweak - Is this any good?


Digital_Trans
08-29-08, 08:38 PM
I went into MCONFIG and did a tweak I found off of youtube and I was just wondering if it's any good or if it will screw something up? I've attached a screen shot!

http://img357.imageshack.us/img357/8246/vistatweakhg2.jpg

SLippe
08-29-08, 09:22 PM
Well?

(popcorn)

Edit: Well, I changed mine to 2, since I have a dual-core cpu, and it seemed a little faster. No reason to change it back to 1, as of now. *shrugs*

CaptNKILL
08-29-08, 09:54 PM
Apparently it does nothing for performance, but the only article I could find about it is only available as a cached site on yahoo:

http://cache.search.yahoo.net/search/cache?ei=UTF-8&p=msconfig+processor+tweak&fr=my-myy&u=www.withinwindows.com/2008/08/09/tweaking-myth-increase-boot-performance-for-multi-core-users-with-msconfig&w=msconfig+processor+tweak+tweaks&d=SYiMRxg5RUan&icp=1&.intl=us

The purpose of the setting is to put a limit on the number of threads that windows will use so you can test performance and stability of a multi CPU or multi core system.

Digital_Trans
08-29-08, 10:59 PM
What's the default settings for this? Say, if I want to go back to the original settings?

Mr Bigman
08-30-08, 01:06 AM
I don't think it does anything but say boot with 2 cpu's in msconfig and you don't need dual cpu's to load the boot processes.

We need some real world experience on this and find out if people really notice a difference in bootups enabling this option.

Please let us know if your boot times have lowered by using a stop watch or just monitor the time.

From my end i don't see any difference but i veries among the users here to give it a shot and let us know.

Loca Area Bigman

ViN86
08-30-08, 01:25 AM
what you did will have zero effect. CaptN was right. its only for debug purposes when you want to use less cores than the number you have.

Wolfhound
08-30-08, 03:59 AM
Ok I had done a little test, bear in mind that I have 2 users on this PC and mine is password protected so I lost 5 seconds or so in click on the user and enter the password:

No 4 Cores options selected:

http://img186.imageshack.us/img186/3010/msconfigno4coresch6.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

http://img255.imageshack.us/img255/385/reboottimeno4coresgt3.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

4 Cores option Selected:

http://img54.imageshack.us/img54/7739/msconfigxz6.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

http://img54.imageshack.us/img54/5892/reboottime4coressg3.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

Apparently it boots up in the same time, no performance boost selecting this option on MSConfig, the 2 seconds difference surely be the time I lost in selecting and entering the password for my user.

You can try yourself, check the Vista Forums (http://www.vistax64.com/tutorials/151819-boot-up-time.html) and use the ReBoot Time script provided.

Thanks to Brink of Vista forums for providing this useful info.

Hope this helps you.

SLippe
08-30-08, 02:32 PM
I tried that tweak with the box checked and unchecked, several times and while the difference was only a few seconds, one thing that seemed a little faster was the loading of the SideBar and startup programs such as XFire, Steam, etc. down by the clock. Like I said before, no reason for me to keep the box unchecked, even if it is for a few seconds saved. ;)

crainger
08-31-08, 01:09 AM
The memory option is handy for limiting RAM to 3GB for Vampire Bloodlines. ::D: