PDA

View Full Version : Looks like my GTX260 needs to be RMA =(


Pages : [1] 2

Ghosthunter
09-01-08, 10:27 PM
I have a XFX GTX 260, had it since July 8th, kept getting

Display driver nvlddmkm stopped responding


updated my drivers problems seemed to be fixed, but now things are getting worst, everytime I try to launch any 3d game, after about 5 minutes I will blue screen and or the game will freeze and will get that message


I tried running furmark and about 2 minutes in I started to see all sorts of particles on the screen and then app just crashed.

2D is just fine, but I guess the card is dead.

The weird thing is temps never got super high when all of this was happening, but I guess just bad card. Man this sucks.


anyone know how long it takes to get an RMA? from XFX?

offi
09-02-08, 03:55 AM
It may not be your card, it could be your psu, nead just over 500w power for 260 and around 700w power for 280.



Also try new beta drivers. 177.98
http://www.nvidia.com/Download/Find.aspx?lang=en-us

Ghosthunter
09-02-08, 06:01 AM
my psu should be more then enough corsair 750tx

and i have tried 3 different drivers already

nekrosoft13
09-02-08, 06:21 AM
what temps are you getting.

plus the nvlddmkm error most of the time is causes by software issues.

nekrosoft13
09-02-08, 06:31 AM
Also try new beta drivers. 177.98
http://www.nvidia.com/Download/Find.aspx?lang=en-us

177.98? where

Eliminator
09-02-08, 08:11 AM
i think he means 177.92

Ghosthunter
09-02-08, 08:19 AM
what temps are you getting.

plus the nvlddmkm error most of the time is causes by software issues.

rivatuner is telling me in hardware log around 70-80


it is happening on a consitent basis now i run any game 5 minutes in game boom it Blue screes and reboots


when i run furmark i start see artifacting and then the app crashes in 2 minutes



whenver i install new driver i make sure to uninstall, boot in safe mode, run driver cleaner, then reboot and install new driver,



i have tried several different drivers including newest drivers 177.92

offi
09-02-08, 08:28 AM
i think he means 177.92

thanks yep i do ^^ was in a rush and misstyped ><

Eliminator
09-02-08, 08:31 AM
yea i would assume the card is dead... hope the RMA service from XFX works well for you

Quick420
09-02-08, 08:31 AM
rivatuner is telling me in hardware log around 70-80


it is happening on a consitent basis now i run any game 5 minutes in game boom it Blue screes and reboots


when i run furmark i start see artifacting and then the app crashes in 2 minutes



whenver i install new driver i make sure to uninstall, boot in safe mode, run driver cleaner, then reboot and install new driver,



i have tried several different drivers including newest drivers 177.92

I feel for ya,have you tried underclocking it to see if that cools enough to play? I'd still rma it if you feel confident it's not a software issue;)

Ghosthunter
09-02-08, 08:42 AM
I feel for ya,have you tried underclocking it to see if that cools enough to play? I'd still rma it if you feel confident it's not a software issue;)


no i have not tried to underclock, the card came overlocked

i guess i can try that to see if it works tonight

i have a ticket opened with XFX now via their ticket system lets see what they say

hopefully it dont take too long to get a replacement

Ghosthunter
09-02-08, 09:12 AM
just curious i saw this post

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=1724175&postcount=32

and someone said they lowered his memory and that fixed his issue

now i ran memtest overnight about a month ago and i am not overclocking my memory i am running what it says to run at


but do you think i should lower my memory settings?

I have OCZ 4 GB DDR2 1066 and I think it is set at 5-5-5-18 but not sure unless looking at it

nekrosoft13
09-02-08, 11:39 AM
nvlddmkm is mostly caused by software issue or hardware instability that is not always directly caused by the video card.

vista requires much more stable system then XP, system that was stable in XP will not always be stable in Vista.

nvlddmkm mostly mean that one component of the sytem is not stable. good test would be to drop everything to stock speed. if your card is factory overlock also lower it to stock.

Ghosthunter
09-02-08, 03:24 PM
well XFX still has not answered my ticket, says can take up to 48 hours to respond, i can always call them up but i am at work and really cannot trouble shoot it from here.

so have to call them from home but i bet they will be closed by the time i get home


other then nvidia drivers i dont know what other software conflict can be causing it?

only other thing would be maybe NOD 32 software? that is really the only thing running background i guess i can turn it off and see if that makes a difference

i am not a huge expert in vista to know of any other services that might be causing a conflict

when this problem started out about a month ago it was just freezing for maybe 3 seconds and be ok and i would noticed in event viewer it got the


Display driver nvlddmkm stopped responding and recovered

but now it just totally bluescreens on nvlddmkm and reboots the system, so not sure anymore


only other thing i can think of is if the corsair 750tx power supply is going bad?



getting the artifacting in Furmark leads me to believe it is the card but i am not an expert


when i get home i will try underclocking the card and let you guys know what happens

Ghosthunter
09-02-08, 03:49 PM
btw i saw some guy have similar problems on evga forums with GTX260

he had screenshot of what happens right before he crashes

this what my screen looks like as well

http://i284.photobucket.com/albums/ll2/denec2005/badshot.jpg

stjuart
09-02-08, 05:21 PM
That card is Fubard, RMA it quickly.

grey_1
09-02-08, 05:23 PM
Sorry to hear your cards going GH. If it were the error only that would be one thing, going by that screen though I would rma it.

nekrosoft13
09-02-08, 07:59 PM
btw i saw some guy have similar problems on evga forums with GTX260

he had screenshot of what happens right before he crashes

this what my screen looks like as well

http://i284.photobucket.com/albums/ll2/denec2005/badshot.jpg

after seeing that, RMA the card

Ghosthunter
09-02-08, 10:46 PM
well this is what XFX said

http://nvidia.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/nvidia.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=22[/url] for a list of troubleshooting steps and will help you narrow down the issue to either a component or an application. Let us know. Thanks




so i decided to open up my PC take out my video card unplug the power cables and recede them

now dont get me wrong the video card was secure in the pci slot. i replugged it in.


Booted back up ran furmark for about 10 minutes, no crashes or freezes or artifacts, ran 3damrk2006 no problems, and been playing EQ2 for about 2 hours so far no crashes...


ok so i dont get it...the cables were not loose..and the card was seated properly..i mean it was screwed in?

is it just random? will the problem come back?

nekrosoft13
09-02-08, 10:55 PM
ok so i dont get it...the cables were not loose..and the card was seated properly..i mean it was screwed in?

is it just random? will the problem come back?

just because it was screwed in doesn't mean it was seated properly. my cooler master stacker has a manufacture defect where the motherboard tray is a bit crooked. everytime i install a new expansion card it takes 10-30 minutes to get it in properly.

i could replace the motherboard tray and don't have that problem but i called cooler master and serial number of the case matches. but don't have the receipt so no help from them.

anyway back to your issue. XFX has lifetime warranty if your problem is gone now keep testing, if it comes back contact them again.

Dazz
09-03-08, 07:43 AM
just because it was screwed in doesn't mean it was seated properly. my cooler master stacker has a manufacture defect where the motherboard tray is a bit crooked. everytime i install a new expansion card it takes 10-30 minutes to get it in properly.

i could replace the motherboard tray and don't have that problem but i called cooler master and serial number of the case matches. but don't have the receipt so no help from them.

anyway back to your issue. XFX has lifetime warranty if your problem is gone now keep testing, if it comes back contact them again.Same here with my old RC-830 was a nightmare could even spend an hour to 2 just to get it right, from there on i would never buy a case with a motherboard try, too many problems. Very happy with my RC1000 + 200mm side fan on door.

Ghosthunter
09-03-08, 08:24 AM
well i left my machine running with eq2 on and monitor turned off and went to work today

be interesting to see if it still running when i get home 12 hours later

i would leave it with AOC, but that game will probably bring its servers down later on today, plus that game is buggy as hell


i guess that is the bad thing about having a mobo tray, i never realized, but to me it felt like the card went right in first time i installed, it not like i did anything much different the second time, and what i don't get system was put together 2 months ago and it only started to act up maybe a few weeks ago where it would crash once a day and really started to get bad about a week ago just very odd to me oh well if it working now that all i care about now i guess

nekrosoft13
09-03-08, 08:49 AM
Same here with my old RC-830 was a nightmare could even spend an hour to 2 just to get it right, from there on i would never buy a case with a motherboard try, too many problems. Very happy with my RC1000 + 200mm side fan on door.

that is why i hate my stacker case. should have returned it on day one. but it was gift and it would make the person feel bad, so decided to live with this nightmare :|

sooner or later i will replace it for nice Lian-Li

Ghosthunter
09-03-08, 10:04 AM
that is why i hate my stacker case. should have returned it on day one. but it was gift and it would make the person feel bad, so decided to live with this nightmare :|

sooner or later i will replace it for nice Lian-Li


my case is a lian-li...but has a removable mobo tray lian-li, and i love my case so easy to work in, one reason why i got it

i can see if i open my case a lot..or move my desktop a lot...but once i got it all up and running it not like i moved it a lot...or i can see if my desk moves a lot or i am in an earthquake zone..LOL

I am stickler for wanting to know why!!!

i guess the only thing it just never was securely fit in the first place and maybe over time it just shift somehow even though it was screwed in beats me..or maybe the heat moved it??? i noticed when i shutdown the PC the card was so hot to touch i had to wait a while before i can even touch it to remove the card.


well will see when i get home tonight what happens

Quick420
09-03-08, 11:22 AM
Hopefullly reseating the card fixed ya up....rma's can be a pain in the arse:headexplode: