PDA

View Full Version : Strange behaviour with new nVidia GTX 260


insolublefibrin
09-20-08, 04:55 AM
I just replaced my ATI 4870 with a GTX 260, and it appears I can't boot up with 2 screens anymore. Only one screen (the one connected via the 1st DVI connector) will switch on; when I enter Windows, I can then use my multimonitor set up as normal. Is this standard behaviour? I'm using 2 LCD monitors connected via DVI, and I never experienced this behaviour with my older nVidia card 6600GT or ATI 4870. With my 6600GT and ATI 4870, both screens would start up, and display the same image. Thanks.

rage10
09-21-08, 08:22 PM
seems it is also a thing with the 9600gso and 7950gt 512 agp. does it matter?

RaidenWoW
09-21-08, 08:33 PM
seems it is also a thing with the 9600gso and 7950gt 512 agp. does it matter?

in your signature when it says "I proudly support our troops" the smileys look like they're pretend shooting themselves in the head.

3DBrad
09-21-08, 10:03 PM
From what I remember, every card in the 8-series I have used only shows on screen on boot, but I think the 7-series cards I had (7800gtx, 7900gtx, 7950gx2) displayed on both, but I cannot remember 100%.

rage10
09-21-08, 10:12 PM
I can check, I still have the card lying around somewhere... give me a day of two.

insolublefibrin
09-21-08, 10:20 PM
From what I remember, every card in the 8-series I have used only shows on screen on boot, but I think the 7-series cards I had (7800gtx, 7900gtx, 7950gx2) displayed on both, but I cannot remember 100%.

Oh... Interesting, maybe its some power saving feature. My HD 4870 doesn't do that though.

insolublefibrin
09-21-08, 10:22 PM
seems it is also a thing with the 9600gso and 7950gt 512 agp. does it matter?

I just wanted to check to make sure its not something I need to RMA my card for. On another note, my gtx 260 makes a whining sound when Crysis loads and the EA logo and nvidia intro is shown, but its not that loud and doesn't make any sound in the 3d game itself. This is ok right?

insolublefibrin
09-21-08, 10:24 PM
I can check, I still have the card lying around somewhere... give me a day of two.

Oh... Thanks. =))))))))))))))))

rage10
09-22-08, 07:50 PM
I just wanted to check to make sure its not something I need to RMA my card for. On another note, my gtx 260 makes a whining sound when Crysis loads and the EA logo and nvidia intro is shown, but its not that loud and doesn't make any sound in the 3d game itself. This is ok right?

this (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=115659) thred may help. It could be a regulator or something.

insolublefibrin
09-22-08, 11:10 PM
this (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=115659) thred may help. It could be a regulator or something.

it seems its a common problem, and it isn't that loud for me anyway. Haha.