PDA

View Full Version : gtx260 core 216 (my first sli)


aceflier
09-22-08, 07:46 PM
I just ordered 2xEVGA core 216 from newegg.

Should be here early as wedensday maybe thursday.

I have Nhancer installed already as I own a 8800gtx. From all of you SLI guru's out there are there any tweaks/tricks as to getting SLI working in games?

If so I'd like your feedback/help would be much apreaciated. Ive read so many horror stories on SLI and such that I'm kinda nervous.:cool:

Thanks guys

hell_of_doom227
09-22-08, 09:38 PM
Uninstall nhancer. Just install drivers and run it :D SLI works perfectly good in Crysis and STALKER, and other games.

aceflier
09-27-08, 12:54 AM
Uninstall nhancer. Just install drivers and run it :D SLI works perfectly good in Crysis and STALKER, and other games.

Thanks for the reply.

So far, very happy with my SLI purchase crysis warhead runs great at 1920x1080 all enthusiast but shadows mainstream.

Did I mention these things overclock like mad? Run really cool also.

702/1475/1225 got me 2k more in vantage over stock. P19,321 so far.

Not 1 problem in anygame I have played so far and have notice none of the "microstutter" that people complain about in SLI.

Haven't tried many still tweaking my system and monitoring temps/fanspeed.

Overall glad i got the 216 over the "vanilla 260's"

+EVGA rocks!!! Also glad i did not get the superclocked or the bfg oc maxcore. With these oc's im past those anyways.

I will post more as I test more games/apps/HD playback ect ect.

MikeC
09-27-08, 09:17 AM
Glad you're enjoying the upgrade and thanks for the report. Are you running XP or Vista?

aceflier
09-28-08, 09:39 AM
Hi Mike, I'm running win Vista 64 bit with 178.13 drivers.

bacon12
09-28-08, 01:44 PM
I have seen that the 216's aren't clocking as high as the old 260's, but the performance is a bit better.

Glad you like them. :thumbsup:

Vanzagar
09-28-08, 02:05 PM
I will post more as I test more games/apps/HD playback ect ect.

Interested in your results aceflier, please keep us posted...

BTW, what resolution are you running and what mobo you got?

Thanks,

Vanz

aceflier
09-28-08, 06:05 PM
Interested in your results aceflier, please keep us posted...

BTW, what resolution are you running and what mobo you got?

Thanks,

Vanz

I have evga 680i mb

FEAR
1920x1080
4XAA 16XAF (Ingame)

image shrunk for bandwidth
http://img90.imageshack.us/img90/9625/fearrf0.th.jpg (http://img90.imageshack.us/my.php?image=fearrf0.jpg)

I'm currently having an issue getting this to stick in SLI could be a driver problem with 178's.

wizkid
09-28-08, 08:19 PM
I have seen that the 216's aren't clocking as high as the old 260's, but the performance is a bit better.

Glad you like them. :thumbsup:


Its roughly 2 fps faster than the normal 192 shader 260 when both cards are clocked at the same frequency which is hardly worth mentioning and as you said the overclocking does not seem to be quite as good. I have my 192shader GTX 260 at 760core 1544shader and 2600mem. :)

aceflier
09-28-08, 08:23 PM
Its roughly 2 fps faster than the normal 192 shader 260 when both cards are clocked at the same frequency which is hardly worth mentioning and as you said the overclocking does not seem to be quite as good. I have my 192shader GTX 260 at 760core 1544shader and 2600mem. :)

I didnt say this is my max oc either ;)

wizkid
09-28-08, 08:28 PM
I didnt say this is my max oc either ;)

No I wasnt talking about you specifically, I was just saying from what I have seen on different forums it seems like the first gen 260's do overclock a bit higher.

Why dont you go for your max Overclock and report back, would like to see what you can get.

aceflier
09-28-08, 09:18 PM
Here ya go bout as high as i want to go on my new cards :p



http://img519.imageshack.us/img519/6987/precisionvu5.th.jpg (http://img519.imageshack.us/my.php?image=precisionvu5.jpg)


http://img519.imageshack.us/img519/8928/p20471pj8.th.jpg (http://img519.imageshack.us/my.php?image=p20471pj8.jpg)

wizkid
09-28-08, 09:23 PM
Here ya go bout as high as i want to go on my new cards :p



http://img519.imageshack.us/img519/6987/precisionvu5.th.jpg (http://img519.imageshack.us/my.php?image=precisionvu5.jpg)


http://img519.imageshack.us/img519/8928/p20471pj8.th.jpg (http://img519.imageshack.us/my.php?image=p20471pj8.jpg)

Thats a great OC man, as long as its stable and you temps are good while gaming then your set.

CaptNKILL
09-28-08, 09:43 PM
Damn... that OC makes me want to grab one of these soon...

Its faster than a GTX 280 at those speeds isn't it?

aceflier
09-28-08, 09:49 PM
Damn... that OC makes me want to grab one of these soon...

Its faster than a GTX 280 at those speeds isn't it?

heres what gpuZ says

http://img530.imageshack.us/img530/6822/fillinqv7.th.jpg (http://img530.imageshack.us/my.php?image=fillinqv7.jpg)

CaptNKILL
09-28-08, 09:58 PM
I mean as far as performance. I think it has more fill rate and shader processing power with those clocks. Still has less bandwidth though.

EDIT: Your GPUZ pics didn't show up at first. I see them now though. And yeah, the performance is damned close. I just might have to sell my 8800 GTX and buy one of these 260 216s. I just wish the name wasn't so retarded. It definitely should have been a GTX 265 or 260+.

wizkid
09-28-08, 10:01 PM
Damn... that OC makes me want to grab one of these soon...

Its faster than a GTX 280 at those speeds isn't it?

Mine certainly is so his should be as well.

aceflier
09-28-08, 10:02 PM
I mean as far as performance. I think it has more fill rate and shader processing power with those clocks. Still has less bandwidth though.

Just a little less bandwidth :smoking:

wizkid
09-28-08, 10:05 PM
I just might have to sell my 8800 GTX and buy one of these 260 216s. I just wish the name wasn't so retarded. It definitely should have been a GTX 265 or 260+.

Just call it a GTX 260 to keep in simple.

wizkid
09-28-08, 10:33 PM
heres what gpuZ says

http://img530.imageshack.us/img530/6822/fillinqv7.th.jpg (http://img530.imageshack.us/my.php?image=fillinqv7.jpg)

Thats nice man, now you just need to game for a couple of hours to make sure your Overlock is rock stable.

MikeC
09-29-08, 12:09 PM
heres what gpuZ says

http://img530.imageshack.us/img530/6822/fillinqv7.th.jpg (http://img530.imageshack.us/my.php?image=fillinqv7.jpg)Wow!

aceflier
09-30-08, 08:16 PM
Thats nice man, now you just need to game for a couple of hours to make sure your Overlock is rock stable.

Yup, Not one problem so far execpt maybe in crysis warhead I see white dots on 1 certain tree if i remember right though I saw this on my 8800gtx also. And I think i remember reading something on these forums about that certain tree. Least I hope that its crytek shader bug or a driver bug?