PDA

View Full Version : 8800GT only seeing 2.5GB from 4GB


bolden
09-23-08, 04:24 AM
hi guys, I was using an HD 4850 on this same system and I sold it and I got for myself a cheap 8800GT as i don't play much games but something is strange. I'm using 4GB and now my windows see only 2.5GB, at the same time with my old HD 4850 , my windows was seeing 3GB so why with the 8800GT I lost more 512MB as the both cards are 512MB. Could be a 8800GT bios fix this problem?

Thanks

skank
09-23-08, 06:58 AM
I'm guessing you are using 32 bit windows at that windows is somehow still reserving the 512mb for the 4850 even though you have removed it.

bolden
09-23-08, 07:11 AM
I already tried to do a clean install of windows XP 32 bit and it still same only 2.5GB shown, I also tried a vista x64 version and it shows all the 4GB correctly but I want to know Why when the HD4850 was in my system, XP 32 reports 3GB and when I changed it to 8800GT it reports 2.5GB even after clean install of XP , I didn't change any other hardware.
My 8800GT bios is 62.92.16.00.01, could that be the problem ?

Tr1cK
09-23-08, 07:12 AM
No idea. Mine shows 3.5gb when using my 4850. When I used my 8800gts 320mb, it still showed 3.5gb.

bolden
09-23-08, 07:22 AM
is that could be a bad 8800GT as I think the windows xp 32 see it as 1GB ram not 512 ?

henrybravo
09-23-08, 10:40 AM
is that could be a bad 8800GT as I think the windows xp 32 see it as 1GB ram not 512 ?
When you say that Windows is only seeing 2.5GB, where are you getting this info? And did you install service pack 3?

walterman
09-23-08, 01:39 PM
In your BIOS, select 'memory remap: Enabled'.

bolden
09-23-08, 03:12 PM
guys, i was using HD 4850 before and I didn't change any settings in bios, with the HD 4850 the windows reports 3GB in system properties but with the 8800GT it reports 2.5GB. I'm using SP3

Tr1cK
09-23-08, 03:30 PM
Seems simple, AMDTI gives you more memory than NV!

bolden
09-23-08, 04:32 PM
Update: Problem solved

My friend came with his his 8800GT to try it and then my windows read 3GB, once I put back my 8800GT, my windows read 2.5GB. The only settings differ between both card was the bios. I updated my 8800GT bios and windows now read 3GB now =)

SLippe
09-23-08, 05:05 PM
:wtf:

Are you talking about the the memory total shown when you right-click on My Computer and go to Properties?

bolden
09-23-08, 05:15 PM
:wtf:

Are you talking about the the memory total shown when you right-click on My Computer and go to Properties?

yes and even when I press CTRL + ALT + DEL it detects my physical memory as 2556M but now it detects 3120MB after the bios flash

bolden
09-26-08, 11:30 PM
this is a picture showing the amount of ram with the original bios (which was buggy I think)
my original bios version was 62.92.16.01
http://img81.imageshack.us/img81/4040/dski6.jpg

And this is other picture after updating my bios (it states the ram correctly), the new bios version is 62.92.1F.08
http://img215.imageshack.us/img215/7769/ds2fw7.jpg

john19055
09-30-08, 01:17 PM
I had mine say 3.25 gigs one time and I did a reinstall and it always was 2.3g,I did'nt change nothing ,but I never could get it to read any higher untill I installed Vista 64bit.