PDA

View Full Version : Half Life


Pages : [1] 2

breathemetal
10-01-08, 04:31 PM
I have a question about the original/first HL

How would i force a 1440x900 rez?
Also, are there any good graphic update mods?

XDanger
10-01-08, 04:58 PM
not HL sauce?

Sazar
10-01-08, 05:00 PM
Half Life Source is the way to go if you want to play the original game with more stuff. It actually looks slightly better than the original and is a little more polished.

I am waiting for the following mod to FINALLY be released.

http://www.blackmesasource.com/

NarcissistZero
10-01-08, 05:06 PM
I am waiting for the following mod to FINALLY be released.

http://www.blackmesasource.com/

YES.

I'm also hoping they release the original Half Life enhanced through Xbox Live Arcade, which they hinted they were going to do a few months ago.

Sazar
10-01-08, 05:09 PM
I still think that the AI in the original Half Life is better than most games I have played since. Those suckers are BRUTAL and will hunt you down. And not in a completely predictable way either.

HL is still one of the most amazing games ever, till you get to the other planet.

grey_1
10-01-08, 05:09 PM
Half Life Source is the way to go if you want to play the original game with more stuff. It actually looks slightly better than the original and is a little more polished.

I am waiting for the following mod to FINALLY be released.

http://www.blackmesasource.com/

Yes, on both.

sillyeagle
10-01-08, 05:31 PM
How long until Black Mesa comes out? 4 years or so?

breathemetal
10-01-08, 06:22 PM
what so no mods then? and no custom rez fix?

bob saget
10-01-08, 07:06 PM
umm, i think it has 1440x900 rez available, you have to select it.

bob saget
10-01-08, 07:10 PM
never mind doesn't have it, you are right.
i think you have to experiment which one looks best in your case....

Misfire
10-01-08, 08:55 PM
It does support 1440x900 and all widescreen resolutions, just switch the mode in the video options to widescreen 16:10

breathemetal
10-01-08, 09:13 PM
i dont see that option at all

Loreman
10-01-08, 09:33 PM
It does support 1440x900 and all widescreen resolutions, just switch the mode in the video options to widescreen 16:10

I think he is playing the original game, not the source updated version.

Sobbsy
10-01-08, 10:33 PM
I have a question about the original/first HL

How would i force a 1440x900 rez?
Also, are there any good graphic update mods?

There are a number of graphical enhancement mods, yes. Forget about Blackmesasource, seriously, just don't bother wasting the brainpower even thinking about it.

Here are a few upgrades for HL1 : Source (you wont find much of anything for the original Half Life, but the Source version has lots of neat little mods for it);

High Definition 're-sourced' pack (textures mostly);

http://www.rapidshare.com/files/54189615/high-definition_resourced.zip

Followed by - HL: Source High Quality models;

http://files.filefront.com/Half+Life+Source+High+Quality+Models/;3820876;/fileinfo.html

Install those two in that order, and that'll give you some nice new textures, weapons and character models. Keep an eye on this forum for occasional updates;

http://www.hl-improvement.com/forums/index.php?board=25.0

There is a developers section where they're constantly testing and exchanging updates and such, but that's locked to mere mortals! This should at least give you a quick fix and make HL1 that much more enjoyable. Try not to listen to the 'omg eetz liek ded!' naysayers, they're just bitter. Trust me, plenty of work is happening on HL:S:HD :D

*edit* I have a whole heap of other graphical mods for HL1 : Source at home, so I can always get those uploaded somewhere for you later if you want. But try those two first, it's a good start. Combined with HL : Source's ragdolls and sexy water, I find the game quite enjoyable again.

breathemetal
10-01-08, 10:49 PM
will those work for non-source?

CaptNKILL
10-01-08, 10:52 PM
I wish HL: Source was free. It seems kinda lame to pay for the same game twice just to make it look better. I own every other Valve game but they won't give me HL:S. :|

It actually seems like they overlooked something because the only way to get HL:S in a package with HLDM and I already got that in one of the many Source packages I've purchased. So if I want HL:S I have to pay for the multiplayer portion a second time. :p

Sobbsy
10-01-08, 11:50 PM
will those work for non-source?

Afraid not.

bob saget
10-02-08, 12:31 AM
I wish HL: Source was free. It seems kinda lame to pay for the same game twice just to make it look better. I own every other Valve game but they won't give me HL:S. :|

It actually seems like they overlooked something because the only way to get HL:S in a package with HLDM and I already got that in one of the many Source packages I've purchased. So if I want HL:S I have to pay for the multiplayer portion a second time. :p

feel exactly the same way, i have it pre-installed or w/e :headexplode:

crainger
10-02-08, 12:32 AM
I wish HL: Source was free. It seems kinda lame to pay for the same game twice just to make it look better. I own every other Valve game but they won't give me HL:S. :|

It actually seems like they overlooked something because the only way to get HL:S in a package with HLDM and I already got that in one of the many Source packages I've purchased. So if I want HL:S I have to pay for the multiplayer portion a second time. :p

WTF?

I got my HL: Source with Half- Life 2!

NarcissistZero
10-02-08, 12:54 AM
Yeah, I got HL Source with HL 2 as well... then I got HL2 again with The Orange Box.

Valve likes giving you games.

bob saget
10-02-08, 01:02 AM
WTF?

I got my HL: Source with Half- Life 2!

WTF!!!

*i gotta go back to check my box.......

NaitoSan
10-02-08, 01:31 AM
I got Half-Life: Source with Half-Life 2 too... >_>

crainger
10-02-08, 02:18 AM
All these n00bs who don't even realize what they have. You all have HL: Source. Now go play it!

bob saget
10-02-08, 02:40 AM
All these n00bs who don't even realize what they have. You all have HL: Source. Now go play it!

no dude, i still don't have it, and it doesn't even say on the box it should be included. I got one of those boxes with the characters' faces on the cover. Bah i cant find a pic of it, mine is the one with gman on the cover. On the back it says CS:S included, nothing else. In my steam games list, it says "pre-load" complete.

grey_1
10-02-08, 06:09 AM
I have a question about the original/first HL

How would i force a 1440x900 rez?
Also, are there any good graphic update mods?

Just download the steam client and activate it through that.
http://img525.imageshack.us/img525/6411/hl2008100206070269jm7.jpg (http://imageshack.us)