PDA

View Full Version : Will my rig handle GTA4 next month?


hhh4life
10-04-08, 10:38 AM
Hi, new member so sorry if this is in the wrong section.

With GTA4 released next month for the PC, i'd like to ask people with good knowledge of pc rigs on how mine will handle this game.

My current specs are:

Pentium 4HT 3.00Ghz

1.00GB RAM

Geforce 7800GTX 256MB PCI-E, OC'ed at 500Mhz Core/ 1400Mhz Memory on a 450W power supply.


What im hoping for is detail settings that looks similar to the console versions, but not worried about resolution or AA/AF.

Any rough idea/info on the kind of frame rates/performance i should expect would be appreciated, thanks guys.

evox
10-04-08, 10:50 AM
GTA IV Recommend Requirements -

RECOMMENDED REQUIREMENTS -
OS: Windows XP SP2
Processor: Dual core processor (Intel Pentium D or better)
RAM: 2GB
Hard Drive: 18GB free hard disk space
Video Card: 512MB Direct3D 10 compatible video card or Direct3D 9 card compatible with Shader
Drive: DVD-ROM dual-layer drive

This is taken from the GFW site (http://www.gamesforwindows.com/en-US/Games/Pages/grandtheftautoiv.aspx), it got pulled shortly after it was posted, though.

Kinda hard to say how the performance would be, but given the game's size (as in the world), it'll require a decently powerful CPU and oodles of Ram (1GB+)

hemmy
10-04-08, 12:40 PM
18GB, JESUS

My 3 hard drivers are nearly full the way it is.

zarlaan
10-04-08, 12:50 PM
You know, you can get 1TB hard drive for like $100, right?

Single Player
10-04-08, 04:25 PM
18GB wow//

slivski
10-04-08, 04:40 PM
if minumum settings is what you're looking for, then yeah, your rig will handle

evox
10-04-08, 05:32 PM
18GB wow//
There's no need to panic. ;) Unless we forget, Gears of War on PC takes 9.6GB; Orange Box Complete takes 15GB. And an average DVD-5 title usually takes 6-7GBs. It's not really that much. I think that 18GB includes swap file? Unless, the game comes on a Dual-Layer DVD for PCs, I doubt it'll require THAT much space. We'll know for sure in a few days.

hhh4life
10-04-08, 07:32 PM
Thanks for the info supplied, 18GB would be a killer lol.

what i really would like to know is, do you guys reckon my PC could handle the same graphics details as the Xbox 360 version at say 800x600 or 1024x768 with no AA/AF and get a consistent 30fps? Or am i needing to buy a better GFX Card? If i do need an upgrade i can only afford maybe an 8800GT, but would rather try and get away with what i already have.

Cheers.

slivski
10-04-08, 08:58 PM
Thanks for the info supplied, 18GB would be a killer lol.

what i really would like to know is, do you guys reckon my PC could handle the same graphics details as the Xbox 360 version at say 800x600 or 1024x768 with no AA/AF and get a consistent 30fps? Or am i needing to buy a better GFX Card? If i do need an upgrade i can only afford maybe an 8800GT, but would rather try and get away with what i already have.

Cheers.

no
upgrade your hardware. cpu, gpu, ram...

Noriega
10-05-08, 02:58 AM
Thanks for the info supplied, 18GB would be a killer lol.

what i really would like to know is, do you guys reckon my PC could handle the same graphics details as the Xbox 360 version at say 800x600 or 1024x768 with no AA/AF and get a consistent 30fps? Or am i needing to buy a better GFX Card? If i do need an upgrade i can only afford maybe an 8800GT, but would rather try and get away with what i already have.

Cheers.

P4 is way too old for new games. Press say that 1GB on XP is enough for GTA IV but you will need some 512MB graphic card like 8800GT.

geftargnabl
10-05-08, 03:17 AM
18GB wow//

just wait until thats a norm...

hhh4life
10-05-08, 08:22 AM
ok guys, yous have confirmed what i pretty much expected:(

The PC i bought 3 years ago is a bit on the obsolete side.

I have no idea where to start at all on a new CPU, so how will my current CPU fare when coupled with an 8800GT and 2GB System RAM? Would it be a noticeable upgrade or will the 3.00Ghz CPU restrict it to the same fps i get with the 7800GTX?

Cheers.

evox
10-05-08, 04:33 PM
ok guys, yous have confirmed what i pretty much expected:(

The PC i bought 3 years ago is a bit on the obsolete side.

I have no idea where to start at all on a new CPU, so how will my current CPU fare when coupled with an 8800GT and 2GB System RAM? Would it be a noticeable upgrade or will the 3.00Ghz CPU restrict it to the same fps i get with the 7800GTX?

Cheers.

The performance will be better than 7800GTX, but P4 will be severely crippling the card's full potential.

Bokishi
10-05-08, 05:12 PM
I remember when I was running a P4 and 8800 GTX, and how the card's performance tripled when I upgraded to Core 2

hhh4life
10-05-08, 06:26 PM
I remember when I was running a P4 and 8800 GTX, and how the card's performance tripled when I upgraded to Core 2

That post explains alot of what i need to know,thank you.

I know barely anything about CPU's so a Core 2 Duo is the way forward?

|MaguS|
10-05-08, 06:32 PM
My Pentium 2 400Mhz rocks crysis, I highly recommend it!

nekrosoft13
10-05-08, 07:22 PM
I know barely anything about CPU's so a Core 2 Duo is the way forward?

was the way forward about 3+ years ago.

soon new generation of Intel CPUs will be out

sahilmalhotra17
10-06-08, 01:56 AM
I was Kinda wondering about the same thing... I have a q6600@3.24 , 4GB PC2 6400 @ 1066 loosened timings , 8800 GT at 700/ 975X2 / 1650 Mhz .... Ill be playing on a 19" monitor at about 1440 X 900...

Hardware's good or should i be looking at an upgrade...?

DJMONDY
10-06-08, 04:24 AM
You can pick up duo core pc's for a few hundred these days with fairly decent gpu's in them and 2 gig of ram. have a look around!

Dell might be a good bet for you as they always have deals and such.

Post how much you might be able to spend then the help will come in on that subject.

nekrosoft13
10-06-08, 07:56 AM
I was Kinda wondering about the same thing... I have a q6600@3.24 , 4GB PC2 6400 @ 1066 loosened timings , 8800 GT at 700/ 975X2 / 1650 Mhz .... Ill be playing on a 19" monitor at about 1440 X 900...

Hardware's good or should i be looking at an upgrade...?

you will be fine

Bearclaw
10-06-08, 08:48 AM
FSX takes up about 18-20.. :headexplode: Even more with scenery, etc. installed.