PDA

View Full Version : Upgrade time!


v3rninater
10-21-08, 10:30 PM
Okay so I'm building a computer for this guy who has crap for a computer. Pent 3 if that, so I'm like crap, I could use a good upgrade! So I'm getting a Q9550 + Gigabyte P45 board I'll post once I get home. You think that is a good upgrade from what I got now!? Gonna go for around 3.2-3.4ghz depending on heat.

bob saget
10-21-08, 10:36 PM
i have absoluetly no idea, but people were saying its hard to tell the difference in normal apps between 2 and 4 cores.

Toss3
10-21-08, 11:35 PM
Okay so I'm building a computer for this guy who has crap for a computer. Pent 3 if that, so I'm like crap, I could use a good upgrade! So I'm getting a Q9550 + Gigabyte P45 board I'll post once I get home. You think that is a good upgrade from what I got now!? Gonna go for around 3.2-3.4ghz depending on heat.

I'd wait a a month, because prices are likely to fall when core i7 hits the streets. And that is a pretty nice upgrade, but don't expect to see any major increases in fps in games. Games are much more gpu limited than cpu limited(especially when you combine high resolutions with aa).

And I'd also take the cheap 920 nehalem into consideration as it costs the same as the q9550, but is more future-proof(the mobo and ram are expensive though). :)

v3rninater
10-23-08, 06:41 PM
Here are new parts I'm getting.

XIGMATEK HDT-S1283 120mm
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835233003

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 Yorkfield 2.83GHz
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115041

GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R LGA 775 Intel P45
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128359

I'm getting the Xigmatek with the backing bracket for tighter fit. Hopefully good o/c'in material and better over all computer.

CaptNKILL
10-24-08, 11:13 AM
Looks good man. Are you keeping your ram?

jcossin
10-24-08, 01:45 PM
Man, that heatsink looks just like my TT Ultra Extreme and I can't believe it could be held in place by those flipsy plastic clips they are showing? Mine is screwed down into a metal back plate. The cooler is HEAVY so I couldn't imagine mounting it sideways and having those plastic clips hold...

v3rninater
10-24-08, 02:41 PM
Well my ram is going to the other guy who is getting some of my old parts.

Yes, I bought the mounting bracket for the heatsink just because I figured it was a monster. Got it today and it's actually not really that heavy, or as much as I thought. Looks like a beast though that's for sure. Hopefully it cools like the monster that it is.

bacon12
10-24-08, 03:01 PM
I didn't buy the backplate and the push pins that come with it worked fine. Excellent cooler, and I don't even run the fan on my e8400@ 3.4, still acceptable temps under load.

However my 1200 has 6 120mm and the big ass 220mm up top so air flow is pretty good. If you can wait a few months the 9650 will be around $300, and they clock very well. ;)

CaptNKILL
10-24-08, 03:02 PM
Well my ram is going to the other guy who is getting some of my old parts.

Yes, I bought the mounting bracket for the heatsink just because I figured it was a monster. Got it today and it's actually not really that heavy, or as much as I thought. Looks like a beast though that's for sure. Hopefully it cools like the monster that it is.

Make sure to get some fast ram then if you want to get a good overclock out of that CPU. :)

800Mhz ram would limit you to 3.4Ghz. You could probably hit over 4 with a good cooler and some 1000-1066Mhz ram.

v3rninater
10-24-08, 03:44 PM
Already have 2x2gb Gskill PC8500 ram sitting waiting to be put in.

I'm gonna use Arctic 5 goop, that what you guys use?

CaptNKILL
10-24-08, 04:36 PM
I think I used Arctic Silver 5. I've had a little tube of it for a few years.

v3rninater
10-28-08, 04:41 PM
Just would like to say, wow, this is a nice upgrade! Already at 3.2ghz 1600fsb from 2.83/1333. Temps are very good, around 30ish idle/load. The only thing is no one program is detecting my temps/speeds correctly. Easytune says 2.3ghz 24C-cpu/33C-chipset. Other programs say the 4 Cores are 33-37C.

Windows says 3.4ghz, which is wrong. I wonder when I'll get a program that will actually detect my settings!? Anyone know some forums for giga-byte possibly?

$n][pErMan
10-28-08, 05:04 PM
Just would like to say, wow, this is a nice upgrade! Already at 3.2ghz 1600fsb from 2.83/1333. Temps are very good, around 30ish idle/load. The only thing is no one program is detecting my temps/speeds correctly. Easytune says 2.3ghz 24C-cpu/33C-chipset. Other programs say the 4 Cores are 33-37C.

Windows says 3.4ghz, which is wrong. I wonder when I'll get a program that will actually detect my settings!? Anyone know some forums for giga-byte possibly?

CoreTemp does not see it right? I have always used that... and welcome to the world of quads! :) I don't care what anyone says... I noticed a difference from 2 cores to 4 :)

XDanger
10-28-08, 06:41 PM
Yes, I bought the mounting bracket for the heatsink just because I figured it was a monster.
The TRUE mounting kit or one specifically for the Xigmatek?

This thing?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835233019

Ive been using the Xigmatek since january and it hasnt fallen off even once!!! ;)

Was a real ***** to install though ,I was never sure if the platic things were rotated right...

When I upgrade the cpu I'll be using a bolt thru kit, especially if I want to slap another fan on there.

Being all metal? The TRUE mounting kit would exert more pressure making better contact and more goodliness no?

v3rninater
10-30-08, 12:04 PM
Yea the true mounting bracket, not the one that came with the fan. It's a real nice fit for everything, except mounting the fan on the heatsink. That is still and issue, those crappy plastic pieces are junk...won't fit through the fan holes so I have to jimmy-rig it up on the heatsink.

Going to try and make a paperclip assembly or something like that and see if that works.