PDA

View Full Version : networking works, except internet


alanon
10-23-08, 08:09 PM
This is a new one for me. I have a client with a pc at their house, they asked me to take a look because their internet wasn't working.

I think it's a virus issue; several scans have cleaned probably 20 of them. I can ping the outside world just fine, by IP or name, but the internet doesn't work. I have found tons of sites saying it's a problem with winsock, I did all the commands to fix it, it says it is fixed, but still nothing.

Here's the strange part, if I boot into safe mode with networking, the Internet works fine...

I tried disabling everything (In msconfig) at start up and that didn't help. I am thinking that a reformat is the only way. I hate to have to do it but I think I have no choice.

Any suggestions??

Starscream
10-24-08, 12:24 AM
I'd say run the usual spyware cleanup apps first, Combofix, Smitfraudfix, Spybot, Adaware, CWShredder, etc. Then if it still can't surf run LSPFix.

alanon
10-24-08, 08:13 PM
Do you know if that program does the same as this?

http://www.spychecker.com/program/winsockxpfix.html

I didn't make it to the clients today...it has been a crazy week.

Thanks

Runningman
10-25-08, 06:04 PM
have cleaned probably 20 of them.Honestly, if i was you, I would reassure my client that a full format is in his best interest. If a machine is this widely compromised chances are that you are never going to get all the little nasties out. Just back up his data and low-level format the drive.

alanon
10-25-08, 06:49 PM
I told him he was better off getting a new system. This system is nearly 5 years old. He is going to order a new one on Monday.

It gets to a point when it's a waste of money to keep an old system running anyways. Even though he is the owner of the IT company I work for, it's a waste of time to have me working that long on something that we can't bill for :) Once I transfer important data, I'll wipe the old one and he can give it to his kids.

Thanks

rudedog
11-01-08, 11:39 AM
Just for kicks did you check the subnet and defualt gateway?

what about his host file? if it is a virus or spyware they could have misconfigured his host file.

alanon
11-01-08, 03:13 PM
Yes, I could ping external even. They could also get email.

IE didn't work, they ahd safari installed so I tried that, same problem.

DNS was also functioning as well, from command line, pings resolved. Host file was same as default one.

zoomy942
11-01-08, 03:16 PM
maybe try uninstalling the network card drivers? or updating them?

hell - a trick i have used is more the network card to a different PCI slot, but if thos card is onboard, that wont work:)

alanon
11-01-08, 03:21 PM
Did that too :)

Unistalled it, rebooted and isntalled new drivers.

It was on on-board card, I was going to bring in a new one from the office, but he finally said forget it and bought a new system.

zoomy942
11-01-08, 03:43 PM
nice.

a 5 year old system needs to be replaced anyway:) and nowadays - PC's are so cheap, they are almost like disposable cameras

rflair
11-02-08, 02:03 PM
http://www.mydigitallife.info/2007/06/19/reinstall-and-reset-tcpip-internet-protocol-in-windows-vista-2003-and-xp/

or maybe

http://www.mydigitallife.info/2007/06/18/repair-and-reset-windows-vista-tcpip-winsock-catalog-corruption/

iflop
11-02-08, 05:57 PM
Is there a software firewall thats blocking the internet browsers?