PDA

View Full Version : Asus Maximus Formula PC does not Restart


carm
10-27-08, 07:21 AM
Hi,

I have following problem:

when I try to restart my computer, it sort of restarts but "hangs" and gives me blank screen (the system doesn't fully restarts so i need to restart manually, .i.e. press nice red button named "restart" in the front of my pc case :) )

Shutdown works fine. Bios version is 0907. So maybe somebody had simillar problem.

In my honest opinion, the update of bios version should solve this problem, but there is another question, which version to choose. Please share your experience and knowledge.

Thank you for you answers.

P.S. Tried Win XP, Win Vista x64, Ubuntu live, same problem on each of mentioned OSs.

CaptNKILL
10-27-08, 07:34 AM
This sounds really familiar... I might have had something like this with a system in the last couple years but its been a while.

Since its happening with more than one OS though that makes it tougher.

Try messing with some of the power related settings in the BIOS, it might be trying to go into sleep mode or something.

carm
10-27-08, 10:19 AM
<..>Try messing with some of the power related settings in the BIOS<..>

Hi, I have done that already: tried various combinations in acpi/suspend section in BIOS.
Did not help :o
Any more ideas ;)

CaptNKILL
10-27-08, 10:27 AM
What are the specs of your system? Including power supply.

DCult
10-27-08, 12:38 PM
I started having the same problems a few days ago with the ASUS P5E (x38). Computer freezes in windows after boot or during login, and then fails to display to monitor after reset. Specs below. Could the memory overvoltage problems of the ASUS x38 boards finally showing their effect? Any help would be appreciated. OSes curiously also winXP32, Vista64, and Ubuntu 8.04.

carm
10-27-08, 05:14 PM
What are the specs of your system? Including power supply.

Asus Maximus formula (chipset x38) - Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 @ 3000 MHz - TWIN 2x4096-8500C5DF G Corsair (2x2048 MB) @800MHz (some time ago I had Kingston's 2x1024MB @800MHz still same problem) - Corsair PSU 520W - Asus Geforce 8800GTS Top 512MB 256bit - WD 500GB + 3x WD 1TB (there was problem with only one 500GB hard disk installed) OS - Windows XP SP3

I suppose LCD has no influence to this problem, so I won't mention it. :)

CaptNKILL
10-27-08, 05:24 PM
Hmm...

There is a small chance that your PSU isn't strong enough for all those components or that its going bad. Not real likely, but its possible, especially if the PSU is a couple years old since they do degrade over time.

Try a less power hungry graphics card if you have one, see if that makes a difference. If you don't have any other parts to try it could be harder to diagnose.

Villa
10-27-08, 09:54 PM
Do you have your LCD Poster connected, what is it displaying?

carm
10-28-08, 01:29 AM
Do you have your LCD Poster connected, what is it displaying?

Hi, I did not connect LCD poster, just don't need it.
But will try it and share results.
Thanks.

JCGhz
10-28-08, 03:17 AM
update your bios.. latest is 1207. Im running at 500FSB 24/7

methimpikehoses
10-28-08, 03:20 AM
Maybe needs a new BIOS, also make sure all your connections are good... maybe the OC is unstable.

DCult
10-28-08, 09:32 AM
Asus Maximus formula (chipset x38) - Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 @ 3000 MHz - TWIN 2x4096-8500C5DF G Corsair (2x2048 MB) @800MHz (some time ago I had Kingston's 2x1024MB @800MHz still same problem) - Corsair PSU 520W - Asus Geforce 8800GTS Top 512MB 256bit - WD 500GB + 3x WD 1TB (there was problem with only one 500GB hard disk installed) OS - Windows XP SP3

I suppose LCD has no influence to this problem, so I won't mention it. :)


Our systems are remarkably close I see. For me the problem appeared after installing latest whql forceware. Probably either the mb is doing long term damage to the memory, or it's the 8800 GTS card slowly failing.