PDA

View Full Version : Where do I buy Windows XP Pro cheap?


Xophile
08-28-02, 08:14 AM
Hi,

I'm planning on bying Windows XP Pro but I haven't found a site where I can buy it cheap, deos anybody know a site like www.pricewatch.com but who lists software instead?

Thanks!

pelly
08-28-02, 09:34 AM
Newegg ( www.newegg.com ) has the OEM and regular versions really cheap...

:D

Matthyahuw
08-28-02, 12:25 PM
if you are a student, you can get one cheap as well...

The Baron
08-28-02, 04:49 PM
http://www.academicsuperstore.com/

$90. It's where I got mine from.

Xophile
08-28-02, 05:06 PM
Yeah, I am student but in Sweden. Do you think I still can get a good discount? And where do I buy these student licenses?

Thanks again!

The Baron
08-28-02, 06:58 PM
Well, if you're at university, just look for a store run by the university and ask if they can order WinXP for you. I know that my dad (college professor) and my bro can do that here and get huge discounts (LightWave full for $350).... so that's your best bet.

I'm not sure if the place I linked you to has international shipping, but you just fax or email a copy of your college ID or transcript or whatever. Not too shabby... :p

PCarr78
08-28-02, 07:11 PM
Do NOT get xppro!

Get Windows 2000 Pro instead!

Seriously! Dont waste money on a bloated POS os

StealthHawk
08-28-02, 09:45 PM
Originally posted by =SSC=The Baron
http://www.academicsuperstore.com/

$90. It's where I got mine from.

if you format your hard drive, can you install winxp with just the upgrade cd? or do you have to install a previous version of windows first?

The Baron
08-28-02, 09:47 PM
oh yeah, it's upgrade, isn't it. :p

You pop in a Win98/ME/2000/whatever CD, and it goes "Mkay. Put XP back in, foo'."

pelly
08-29-02, 08:49 AM
In order for the upgrade to run, it must detect a previous version of Windows...Personally, I have never been a fan of the "upgrade" version....I would much rather start from scratch and have everything start out on the same page.

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduct.asp?submit=manufactory&catalog=90&manufactory=1149&DEPA=1&sortby=14&order=1

Cheap prices......very cheap....

:D

Xophile
08-29-02, 09:28 AM
Thanks again for all your replies!

vampireuk
08-29-02, 03:05 PM
Originally posted by [Corporal Dan]
Do NOT get xppro!

Get Windows 2000 Pro instead!

Seriously! Dont waste money on a bloated POS os

here here!

I shall be moving back to 2000 in a couple of weeks:cool:

LORD-eX-Bu
08-31-02, 01:47 PM
I bought Windows XP Pro brand new and unopened from CSUSB for $11. They alway sell new software for really cheap prices. I guess they can do that since they are a university and get stuff for pennies on the dollar.:D

Oh yeah, I bought a new hard drive and I didn't need a previous version to install. I just set the computer to boot from the CD drive, and I put the Windows XP pro cd in the drive and it just booted off the CD and did a full install. No upgrade here.

StealthHawk
09-05-02, 10:07 PM
Originally posted by =SSC=The Baron
oh yeah, it's upgrade, isn't it. :p

You pop in a Win98/ME/2000/whatever CD, and it goes "Mkay. Put XP back in, foo'."

ok, i figured that it was something like that, but i could never get a straight answer from any of my friends, thanks.

Mike89
09-07-02, 06:18 PM
The difference between an OEM XP Pro and retail are this:

OEM version will clean install only. No upgrade option.
No MS support, you're on your own if you have any problems.

Blakhart
09-16-02, 12:05 PM
As far as bloat and all, what exactly are you saying? Is it slower?
I have been told by someone who was there (at M$) that the driver model in xp is commonly 3% to 10% faster than the one in 2k, by design. Plus it is compatible with more games/apps.
I set my xp installs up to look just like 2k/me, and even if I did not, you really do not use up "resources" when using it at the default cartoon desktop. To me, 2k is best for slow rigs that do no gaming, say like a p2 450 that you want to run as a server or somesuch. Nice and stable, and pretty secure. But even in such cases, xp pro has more default niceties (than 2k and xp home) and a native firewall (that home has as well) that is tough to get past.

No, I am not a M$ slave, I like Redmond/Lycoris Linux better, it just does not play the games..... yet...

Mike89
09-16-02, 12:25 PM
Yeah the built in firewall does work. I have had instances with AOL Instant Messinger where I had to disconnect the firewall to be able to send and receive files.

Same thing with WinMX. No one could download MP3s from me until I would disable it.