PDA

View Full Version : FS: Lapped QX9770


jAkUp
11-16-08, 03:23 PM
I am selling my lapped QX9770.

Looking for $500 OBO, this is still going on Newegg for $1500. :o Heatware under jAkUp.

http://i27.tinypic.com/2mzf9lk.jpg

ViN86
11-16-08, 03:25 PM
me thinks someone has his hand on a shiny new X58 board and will soon have his hands on an i7 :D

Blakhart
11-16-08, 03:49 PM
shiny!

einstein_314
11-16-08, 06:54 PM
Oooooh, shiny!!! Great deal! If only I had $500 sitting around.....I've been itching to upgrade for a while now....

saturnotaku
11-16-08, 07:48 PM
I'd be all over that if I weren't going to be investing in some audio equipment in the near future.

d2thez
11-16-08, 08:33 PM
You got a PM....

jAkUp
11-16-08, 09:19 PM
Sale pending...

Redeemed
11-18-08, 10:23 PM
Serious question- how does that CPU @ 4.8GHz compare to an i7 that's @ 4GHz? Would the 9770 be considerably faster with the 800Mhz clock advantage or no?

CaptNKILL
11-18-08, 10:26 PM
Serious question- how does that CPU @ 4.8GHz compare to an i7 that's @ 4GHz? Would the 9770 be considerably faster with the 800Mhz clock advantage or no?

Probably depends on the situation. Anything capable of using more than 4 threads is probably much faster on the i7 due to hyperthreading.

Redeemed
11-18-08, 10:30 PM
Probably depends on the situation. Anything capable of using more than 4 threads is probably much faster on the i7 due to hyperthreading.

Theoretically. I've seen reviews pitting Nahalem against dual Shanghais and the Shanghais would win (8 logical cores VS 4 logical + 4 virtual) in quite a few scenarios. Granted, that was running server-based apps and had nothing to do with gaming or typical "desktop" use. :lol:

SLippe
11-18-08, 10:39 PM
Probably depends on the situation. Anything capable of using more than 4 threads is probably much faster on the i7 due to hyperthreading.

Kind of off topic question, but somewhat related; I have an E6600 and what seems to be an official forum about overclocking with my certain motherboard from Gigabyte, they suggest disabling Hyperthreading in the BIOS, because "two cores really are there" and I have ran my system both enabled and disabled. Should I leave it disabled in the BIOS? Does that make sense to anyone?

Side-note; When Hyperthreading is disabled in BIOS, I don't see both cores in the Alt-Ctrl-Del area, just one, nor do I have both temps in Everest.

Thanks and sorry for the hijack, jAkUp. :)

d2thez
11-19-08, 10:02 AM
Slippe,

Theoretically your bios should not need Hyperthreading enabled because your CPU definitely does not support Hyperthreading. However, if your computer only shows 1 CPU with it disabled in bios, and you are using a dual core CPU, then I guess you have no choice but to enable it. I would make sure you are using the newest bios for your board though.

bacon12
11-19-08, 10:26 AM
Bump for you Jacob. If I had the money to spend right now I would be all over this.

SLippe
11-19-08, 10:42 AM
Slippe,

Theoretically your bios should not need Hyperthreading enabled because your CPU definitely does not support Hyperthreading. However, if your computer only shows 1 CPU with it disabled in bios, and you are using a dual core CPU, then I guess you have no choice but to enable it. I would make sure you are using the newest bios for your board though.

Thanks. On a second look (just now) it was Multi-Threading and not Hyper-Threading. My bad. I think the original BIOS that came with my mobo had Hyper-Threading, but the newer BIOS I'm using does not, just Multi. That would explain me losing the two cores. :o Thanks, again.

Back to sale for jAkUp...

(bump)

xavier2k5
11-22-08, 10:32 AM
BUMP!
jAkUp, Is this still available?

jAkUp
11-22-08, 12:14 PM
It is sold.

xavier2k5
11-22-08, 12:34 PM
It is sold.

Ah well...