PDA

View Full Version : Vulcan demo on NV30


Pages : [1] 2 3

AnteP
05-26-03, 09:07 AM
http://www.nordichardware.se/UndaC/Vulcan.png

:)

Runs pretty slow, mainly due to the fact that AA is applied wether you like it or not.
I can't seem to find the demo on nVidias site and I don't know if I can share, but I'll ask.

Jovi
05-26-03, 09:20 AM
http://www.nvidia.com/view.asp?IO=demo_vulcan ;)

AnteP
05-26-03, 09:23 AM
Originally posted by Jovi
http://www.nvidia.com/view.asp?IO=demo_vulcan ;)

I'm talking about the actual demo (vulcan.exe etc.). Not screenshots or videos. ;)

surfhurleydude
05-26-03, 09:33 AM
Holy crap dude!!!! This screenshot alone looks better than ANY of the screens released of Vulcan previously in NV35 reviews...I'm shocked!

Uttar
05-26-03, 01:16 PM
Agreed - it looks GREAT! :)
Psst, if you give me the shader files, I can modify them too ;) *tries to corrupt AnteP* j/k


Uttar

bkswaney
05-26-03, 02:39 PM
That is sweet. :D
I cannot wait to get my hands on these new demo's. :) :)

Hellbinder
05-26-03, 04:55 PM
Now that looks cool.

(Ok MIT guys, get to work now.. come on)

Grrrpoop
05-26-03, 05:02 PM
For some reason this impresses me more than Dawn..

..and yes, would be interesting to see if the MIT guys can work their magic on this one :)

AnteP
05-26-03, 05:12 PM
27 second Vulcan clip using DivX 5.05 (http://w1.461.telia.com/~u46115957/Vulcan.avi)

It's capped at 10 fps but the demo only ran at 12-13 fps on my rig in any case. For some reason it's WAY to red everywhere in the video, it happened when I compressed it with DivX, the original 130 MB avi is fine.

GlowStick
05-26-03, 05:49 PM
Originally posted by AnteP
27 second Vulcan clip using DivX 5.05 (http://w1.461.telia.com/~u46115957/Vulcan.avi)

It's capped at 10 fps but the demo only ran at 12-13 fps on my rig in any case. For some reason it's WAY to red everywhere in the video, it happened when I compressed it with DivX, the original 130 MB avi is fine.

Awesome video thx for hosting it!

pritty cool looking demo, dose i have sliders to change things like in the others?

AnteP
05-26-03, 05:55 PM
Originally posted by GlowStick
Awesome video thx for hosting it!

pritty cool looking demo, dose i have sliders to change things like in the others?

Yeah it has slider but they don't do anything really cool though.

Grrrpoop
05-26-03, 06:05 PM
Originally posted by AnteP
Yeah it has slider but they don't do anything really cool though.
Does the demo have audio? :)

AnteP
05-26-03, 06:08 PM
Originally posted by Grrrpoop
Does the demo have audio? :)

Yeah some doomsday stuff with vocals (sounds like "hades", but I dunno)
and it has a cool banging sound when he's well, um banging his hammer

I just used fraps to capture the video and it doesn't capture audio, to lazy to bother installing anything else

btw count the polys:
http://www.nordichardware.se/UndaC/Vulcan2.png

Grrrpoop
05-26-03, 07:23 PM
Originally posted by AnteP
Yeah some doomsday stuff with vocals (sounds like "hades", but I dunno)
and it has a cool banging sound when he's well, um banging his hammer
Sweet, that's what I was hoping :)

Originally posted by AnteP
I just used fraps to capture the video and it doesn't capture audio, to lazy to bother installing anything else
No worries, would have driven the filesize up and made it a pain for 56kers ;)

Originally posted by AnteP
btw count the polys:
No, it hurts my eyes.. too many! :D

bkswaney
05-26-03, 09:16 PM
Cool thanx AnteP

The only thing better will be the real demo for my 5800ultra. :D
R u playing with Dusk yet?:p

DaveM
05-27-03, 01:02 AM
Share the wealth, my 5900 would love to run it now :D.

DaveM

bkswaney
05-27-03, 02:59 AM
Does anyone know if the NV30 has US?

diablosv
05-27-03, 03:02 AM
Originally posted by bkswaney
Does anyone know if the NV30 has US?

No it doesn't only present in the 5900 series

bkswaney
05-27-03, 03:09 AM
Originally posted by diablosv
No it doesn't only present in the 5900 series

I was hoping nvidia pulled one of there driver deals and it was on the NV30 but just not active till the FX drivers.
Guess not. :(

DaveM
05-27-03, 03:18 AM
Somebody hook me up with the vulcan demo and i'll gladly run it and see how it runs and let you know :D.

DaveM

bkswaney
05-27-03, 03:54 AM
Originally posted by DaveM
Somebody hook me up with the vulcan demo and i'll gladly run it and see how it runs and let you know :D.

DaveM

Me to. I'll see how it does on a NV30. :angel:

DaveM
05-27-03, 03:58 AM
:D.

Well get hooking people ;)

DaveM

AnteP
05-27-03, 04:50 AM
I emailed my contact at nvidia and asked them if I could share the goods, still no reply.

As for UltraShadow it's not really comparable to ATis Hyper Z III+

ATis stencil buffer optimizations affect all stencil buffer data. UltraShadows needs the game dev to define sort of like clip planes for shadows. (I dunno I just get the impression that this would be very cumbersome in a large game?)

But of course Hyper Z III+ would also accelerate it a bit though probably not to the same extent.

But I suppose this demo uses too many instructions so the 9800 will have to multipass since the F-buffer isn't active yet.

DarkVamp
05-27-03, 05:46 AM
Hi,

wait until next week then the new OPEN-GL ATI wrapper will be released hehe

Nutty
05-27-03, 08:36 AM
Ultrashadow is enabled via the
GL_NV_depth_bounds_test.

It is way more efficient that ATI's hyper Z, because it is customly coded by the developer. It elimiates huge amount of work to be done by the gpu when using stencil volumes.

http://www.delphi3d.net/hardware/extsupport.php?extension=GL_NV_depth_bounds_test

The spec on this extension is yet to be published though, AFAIK.