PDA

View Full Version : Visiontek 9500Pro FS/FT


omv
05-26-03, 02:35 PM
Due to frustration with DVI port and my QXGA display, I've decided to go back to my old 4x Ti4200. Unfortunately, I've lost the receipt and can't return it. Otherwise, the card works fine - haven't tried overclocking it, and its probably got about 2-3 weeks of total usage time.

Willing to trade for a reasonable NV card that is capable of running 40.72 drivers, since thats the nvidia de-featured my DVI display at that point (DOH!). Looking at the .inf files, I think that means either a Ti4600 or a Ti4200 AGP8X.

Alternatively, I'm interested in *any* dual-link DVI card. This is different than dual DVI connectors, and can be determined by looking at which Sil Images chip it uses (I think it needs to be a SilCT168). Only card I know has it is the PNY Quadro 2000, but any Geforce card could have it - just depends on what the manufacturer deciced to do. Unfortunately, nobody lists this info...

Or if you want, just make an offer - I don't have much use for the card now.

digitalwanderer
05-26-03, 02:42 PM
I got a 128Mb Gainward GF4 ti4400 GS, not sure about much 'cept it's SiL164CT64 on the Silicon Image chip if it would help.

I think it's only a 4xAGP though, but I sure wouldn't mind trading it for a 9500 Pro! :D

omv
05-26-03, 02:50 PM
Originally posted by digitalwanderer
I got a 128Mb Gainward GF4 ti4400 GS, not sure about much 'cept it's SiL164CT64 on the Silicon Image chip if it would help.

Yeah, thats the single-link chip - same one my board has on it. I couldn't quite remember the number, but thats definitely it


I think it's only a 4xAGP though, but I sure wouldn't mind trading it for a 9500 Pro! :D

Hmmm - let me ponder that. Will it reach Ti4600 speeds? :) My Ti4200 has no OC headroom. :(

digitalwanderer
05-26-03, 03:17 PM
I run her at 300/702 on cool days, 295/688 on the hot ones. I took off her GPU heatsink, cleaned it up, lapped it, re-applied some fresh goop and her core temps started being a whole lot more righteous, but I think I either need bigger ramsinks or a better airflow across the ones I got to maintain the full-out 702...I just stuck an 80mm fan on the side of the card on an improvised bracket and it worked great.

Here's (http://briefcase.yahoo.com/bc/hayho@sbcglobal.net/lst?&.dir=/digs_online_digs/interesting_bits&.src=bc&.view=t&.begin=1&.order=&.done=http%3a//briefcase.yahoo.com/bc/hayho@sbcglobal.net/lst%3f%26.dir=/digs_online_digs/interesting_bits%26.src=bc%26.view=t) some picts of the lapping/re-pasting I did and of the card itself if you're curious.

I just got it on a shelf for now, if I picked up the 9500 Pro it'd go into Blue for sure so I could see what a low-end CPU & mid-to-high range card could do. (Yeah, I COULD just pull the 9700 Pro...but it was a bit tricky to get working and I'm afraid to mess with it. :rolleyes: )

Whatever works for you, it ain't a biggy to me either way. :)

omv
05-28-03, 11:53 AM
Hmm - I think i'll hold out for a Ti4600, if possible. :)

digitalwanderer
05-28-03, 12:39 PM
Originally posted by omv
Hmm - I think i'll hold out for a Ti4600, if possible. :)

Not a problem, best of luck. :)

nvfx35
06-08-03, 03:19 PM
ill do a ti4800se straight for it if ya want m8

omv
06-08-03, 03:26 PM
Originally posted by nvfx35
ill do a ti4800se straight for it if ya want m8

ITurns out I got impatient and bought a Ti4600 off ebay, and am selling the 9500pro there to try and recoup the cost.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2734003041&category=40158

Thanks for the interest though!