PDA

View Full Version : Diablo 2 Direct3d 8800...?


XDanger
12-07-08, 06:15 PM
not working for me, Any ideas?

Tr1cK
12-07-08, 06:58 PM
Try a GLIDE wrapper.

jeffmd
12-08-08, 02:42 AM
I wouldnt worry about it. the effect was barly noticeable.

Misfire
12-08-08, 12:41 PM
in my experience, glide had more detailed graphics. while direct3d had a more blurrier look. Also glide ran a hell of a lot faster for me than normal d3d.

I used this wrapper

http://www.zeckensack.de/glide/

its a shame he doesn't update anymore, because it was definitely one of the best wrappers I ever used.

XDanger
12-08-08, 01:28 PM
SPORTS CAR GT IS IN THE LIST!!! :captnkill:

I just bought that yesterday!!! :)

:( still dont work

Diablo's better though, Cheers.

Medion
12-08-08, 04:46 PM
in my experience, glide had more detailed graphics. while direct3d had a more blurrier look. Also glide ran a hell of a lot faster for me than normal d3d.



Comparing a Glide Wrapper to D3D, I better speed with Glide, and a less blurrier look, but then I found out what was happening. I had my CP forcing AA/AF in every game. I turned it off for Diablo 2 specifically, and as a result, the appearance was identical in D3D and Glide, but the D3D performance was a hair faster (due to lack of Glide).

Using a modern GPU, you cannot get better graphics using Glide over D3D (assuming the game isn't glide exclusive), because all the Glide wrapper does is convert Glide calls to D3D. It's a translation layer, nothing more. It should only be used for older titles that were Glide exclusive.

NaitoSan
12-10-08, 02:06 AM
Yeah, you need to turn off AF/AA so Diablo 2 won't look blurry. It's a weird bug but easily fixable.

jolle
12-10-08, 07:01 AM
Using a modern GPU, you cannot get better graphics using Glide over D3D (assuming the game isn't glide exclusive), because all the Glide wrapper does is convert Glide calls to D3D. It's a translation layer, nothing more. It should only be used for older titles that were Glide exclusive.
If a game implementation for some reason has more bells and whistles under GLIDE, it will look better. (had a vague memory Diablo 2 does, but I guess I could be wrong there)
But API wise there shouldnt be a difference, as you say, if the game is designed to run the same stuff under both APIs.