PDA

View Full Version : 8gb and vista?


snowmanwithahat
12-08-08, 09:53 PM
Is 8gb overkill when using Vista 64-bit? I'm thinking of buying 2 kits of the (2x2gb) kits when i build my new pc.... Is there really any reason though at this point? i just want to make sure i'll have enough memory in the future when i go to upgrade to Windows7 and play the newest games, etc.... but i just don't see much of a need yet for more than 4gb unless any of you know of anything that can really take advantage of it

bob saget
12-09-08, 01:26 AM
i think the more the better. When i added 2 gigs, i had some problems at first with the motherboard, but after i updated bios, everything flies. MUCH faster then 2 gigs.
If its not expensive or problematic, i would get 8 gigs.

Spartan 117
12-09-08, 01:47 AM
well, not even 4 gigs today is maxed out by any game, if you have the funds, go for it and future proof, but then again, you should consider that Windows 7 won't be out till late 2009/early 2010, you may want to save up and buy a new rig by the time the next windows rolls out, just my 2 cents ;)

Absolution
12-09-08, 01:56 AM
When I'm running COD4 + a bunch of programs I max out 4GB.

I'd do 8GB if all my slots weren't already filled.

Spartan 117
12-09-08, 02:03 AM
well, running multiple programs is a different story I guess, if you multitask a lot, then go for it