PDA

View Full Version : Uber-fast Fusion-io drive!


Moo
12-11-08, 08:53 AM
http://www.blogcdn.com/www.engadget.com/media/2008/12/fusion-io_iodrive_005-small.jpg

See all those little Samsung squares? That's NAND flash memory, 80 gigabytes worth on Fusion-io's ioDrive. Tweaktown got an exclusive look at the PCIe storage card and came away mightily impressed by its "near nonexistent latency." It's faster than the best SATA II SSD or fastest 15,000RPM drive loaded in an 8 drive RAID config. Put simply, it's the fastest storage device they've ever tested. Tweaktown was so impressed that they proclaim, "Fusion-io has raised the bar so high that once adopted, traditional solutions will be considered legacy products." Mind you, this is enterprise class storage designed for data center servers requiring ultra-fast IO. Still, the only thing preventing you from installing it inside your own 64-bit OS (only) gaming rig is the price: the 80GB ioDrive lists for about $3,000 on up to $14,400 for the 320GB model. Yeah, expensive, but not for your CIO. Eveyone else will have to wait for the consumer model said to be in the works. Hit the read link for all the benchmarks.

http://www.engadget.com/2008/12/11/fusion-ios-iodrive-tested-worlds-fastest-storage-confirmed/

http://www.tweaktown.com/reviews/1683/1/exclusive_look_at_fusion_io_iodrive_pcie_solid_sta te/index.html

How long does it take to boot up Windows? :wonder:

Roliath
12-11-08, 09:37 AM
I've seen a few of these at work already, i'll have to ask them how the performance is when in production.
Pretty awesome stuff, (can you raid them?)

rage10
12-11-08, 09:41 PM
(can you raid them?)

why do you need to?

Bman212121
12-11-08, 09:49 PM
why do you need to?

Why DON'T YOU?? (nana2)

Roliath
12-12-08, 10:12 AM
why do you need to?

Well this is designed for enterprise solutions, why wouldn't you raid them for redundancy?
Dunno, just curious.

Q
12-12-08, 10:39 AM
You would be able to logically RAID them in Windows....

Toss3
12-12-08, 10:48 AM
off topic: Hmm whatever happened to those ram-HDDs? Now that ram is cheap as **** I'd certainly be interested in getting one. I keep my comp on 24/7 anyways so losing data wouldn't be an issue.

XDanger
12-16-08, 06:51 PM
I think they were superceded by SSD's which are also crap.

http://www.giga-byte.com/Products/Storage/Products_Overview.aspx?ProductID=2678&ProductName=i-RAM%20BOX
New i-Ram Box, 4gb max, Sata 150 ,still lame.

Sata is holding them back so why cant they use pci-e like the fusion-io?

Whats the expensive part ,The controller?


eSplain to me please