PDA

View Full Version : Do all E8500 ,E8400 and other 45nm core Duo have High Tempertures


john19055
12-12-08, 08:53 PM
I am useing core temp the same as I used for my E6600 and the idle tempertures would read around 25C and go up with a load on it ..But the E8500 reads 41c at idle and I have reset my heatsink serval times.Is this just how the new Core Duo 45nm read.when I run Prime 95 at default it does not move off 41c.When I run Prime95 at 4gigs it goes to 46c,is there something wrong with the sensors in the new 45nm core Duo chips.

ViN86
12-12-08, 09:00 PM
coretemp reads 39 on mine pretty much constantly (never goes below no matter how cold the room gets, kind of weird) and it never reads above 46, even when at full load.

and my chip is OC'd

john19055
12-12-08, 09:15 PM
It just seem weird when I ran Prime95 at default of 3.16 and it never moved off of 41c.The Cpu voltage was set a 1.2v

ViN86
12-13-08, 01:11 AM
It just seem weird when I ran Prime95 at default of 3.16 and it never moved off of 41c.The Cpu voltage was set a 1.2v

it does seem weird. i dont think mine is reporting the correct temps tbh.

bacon12
12-13-08, 09:05 AM
It just seem weird when I ran Prime95 at default of 3.16 and it never moved off of 41c.The Cpu voltage was set a 1.2v

Sensor could be stuck? Prime 95 should raise the temp.

john19055
12-15-08, 09:17 PM
It does go up to 50c when running prime 95 at 4.2gigs at 1.29v,but I thought my idle temperture would be lower then 41c.

bacon12
12-16-08, 09:23 AM
Well mine is around 36 idle. What are the ambient temps in the room?

Bman212121
12-16-08, 09:37 AM
it does seem weird. i dont think mine is reporting the correct temps tbh.

I've definitely noticed some weird reading on my friends Quad. I really don't think it's running as hot as reported.

@The OP: Have you tried using either RealTemp or HWMonitor? You might get better readings by trying a few other programs. The sad part is they will all vary to some degree, but it gives you a general idea of what temperatures your processor is running. I believe you can also see CPU temps in Ntune and Rivatuner.