PDA

View Full Version : Will bios update break raid?


grey_1
12-14-08, 03:54 PM
Hey guys, looking at going from 0702 to 1102 on my Asus P5E. Newer cpu info and all, plus hoping it will give me a more stable overclock. Google is worthless here as I seem to see an equal number of yeas and nays.

What have some of your experiences been?

Thanks in advance!

mullet
12-14-08, 09:19 PM
N0, U R G00d 2 G0.

grey_1
12-14-08, 09:35 PM
Thanks mullet!

Bman212121
12-14-08, 09:47 PM
+1. I've updated my BIOS several times with an array in place and never had a problem.

Mr Bigman
12-14-08, 10:48 PM
The info is stored on a different chip in the raid controller.

Nvidia chipsets are strange though.

I miss the promise fasttrax controllers.

crainger
12-14-08, 11:20 PM
The Bigman is exactly right. RAID is handled outside the BIOS more or less. You should be fine grey. I'd stick do back ups for crutial data though. Just incase. ::bleh::

Redeemed
12-14-08, 11:28 PM
The Bigman is exactly right. RAID is handled outside the BIOS more or less. You should be fine grey. I'd stick do back ups for crutial data though. Just incase. ::bleh::

BIGMANESE- you are an over achiever at it, my little rabbit friend. :|

Mr Bigman
12-14-08, 11:36 PM
Im a frickin stud.

crainger
12-15-08, 12:23 AM
http://www.hybridautomotive.com/tech/arp_studs/stud_1.jpg

bob saget
12-15-08, 12:44 AM
Im a frickin stud.

i know.

grey_1
12-15-08, 04:49 AM
Nice, thanks for the replies guys...now I just need to acquire my new chip soon....:)