PDA

View Full Version : compatability question and RAM recommendation


ouchifell
12-16-08, 05:35 PM
how do i know whether my mobo is compatible with a graphics card? my roommate is giving me his old computer that's been stripped of all the RAM. i want to use it as a gaming machine and thus, would like to replace the existing graphics card and add new RAM. this is the mobo (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131451) and this is the graphics card (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814127333) i'd like to get. if you click on 'Specification' for both links, you'll see that the graphics card has an interface of PCI Express 2.0 x 16 while my mobo says that there are no PCI Express x16 slots under the 'Expansion Slots' section. does this mean i can't use this graphics card on this mobo?

also, can somebody recommend a value RAM that i could purchase for this mobo?

saturnotaku
12-16-08, 05:39 PM
does this mean i can't use this graphics card on this mobo?

That would be correct. That motherboard is Smithsonian ancient in the PC hardware world. You wouldn't be able to build anything close to a decent gaming machine with it, unless you only planned on playing games that were released in 2004.

ouchifell
12-16-08, 07:43 PM
thanks for the reply. i guess i'll have to go with a pci slotted graphics card. you think i can run a game like counter-strike (the original one) on high resolution with an older graphics card? say ... this one (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130289)?

CaptNKILL
12-16-08, 08:30 PM
A 6200 should be more than enough for counterstrike though I wouldn't try playing anything much newer than that.

What kind of graphics card are you using right now?

JasonPC
12-16-08, 09:01 PM
You definitely don't need too much for counter-strike source. But maybe you could find something used? $45 seems like much to spend on something so dated.

Seems like retail DDR 400 is not cheap as you would think it should be either. Might have better luck finding some used. I think I have a few sticks but I was maybe going to them in a home server or something.

saturnotaku
12-16-08, 09:29 PM
A 6200 should be more than enough for counterstrike though I wouldn't try playing anything much newer than that.

What kind of graphics card are you using right now?

A Radeon HD3650 or 3850 can be had in AGP form and could certainly run Half-Life 2 reasonably well.

ouchifell
12-16-08, 09:44 PM
this is the most bizarre thing. i've been playing quake 1 (no that's not a typo-yes ppl still play) on a pretty good laptop...core 2 duo, 2 gigs of ram, and a geforce go 7400 (http://www.nvidia.com/page/go_7300.html). it should be more than enough to handle quake - a game that's like 13 years old. however, when i get into firefights, my framerate goes from a robust 250 fps to an impossible 23 fps and i can't figure out why. this is causing me so much frustration, i'm actually going to shell out 45 for this graphics card (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130289) and probably another 30 bucks on two 512 gigs of ram (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820141424).

the ram and the graphics card are compatible with my mobo, right? if anybody has any other suggestions or recommendations, it would be appreciated. thanks for the replies.

JasonPC
12-16-08, 10:30 PM
A Radeon HD3650 or 3850 can be had in AGP form and could certainly run Half-Life 2 reasonably well.

I don't think it would be much worth it on a Socket A board. He'd be so CPU limited.

But yeah that ram should work. I think that's the same type I had. I wonder if the laptop issue with Quake is due to drivers. With a game that old who knows.

CaptNKILL
12-16-08, 11:13 PM
A Radeon HD3650 or 3850 can be had in AGP form and could certainly run Half-Life 2 reasonably well.

Half-Life 2 will run on a Geforce 2 MX.

The CPU will really kill the system though. I wouldn't spend any more than $20-$30 to upgrade that system. For less than $120 you could get an Athlon X2 and a 780G board with integrated video that's faster than a 6200.

saturnotaku
12-17-08, 05:59 AM
Half-Life 2 will run on a Geforce 2 MX.

The CPU will really kill the system though. I wouldn't spend any more than $20-$30 to upgrade that system. For less than $120 you could get an Athlon X2 and a 780G board with integrated video that's faster than a 6200.

That's about right.

ECS AMD 780G motherboard (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813135075) - $59.99 after MIR

Athlon 64 X2 4850e (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103255) - $57

OCZ 2 GB DDR2 800 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820227189) - $22.99

Total cost - $139.98

nekrosoft13
12-17-08, 07:43 AM
That's about right.

ECS AMD 780G motherboard (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813135075) - $59.99 after MIR

Athlon 64 X2 4850e (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103255) - $57

OCZ 2 GB DDR2 800 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820227189) - $22.99

Total cost - $139.98

that would be much better investment that trying to upgrade that old rig.

plus if in future you will want to get Quad, you can always get AM2+ or AM3 chip in there. and PCI-E slot will be good for many years for video.

ouchifell
12-17-08, 10:20 AM
i think i'm leaning towards your recommendations... i have a few questions though ...

i've noticed no graphics card as part of this lineup. i guess this means the amd chip would be processing all the graphics itself. this would be sufficient for some of the newer games? how about counter-strike on a native resolution of 1680 x 1050. while the graphics card (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814127333) that i originally inquired about requires a PCI Express 2.0 x 16 interface, i've noticed that the amd eg780 mobo (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813135075) lists pci express x 16 without the 2.0 part though i've noticed that it says that 2.0 is supported under the 'features' section under the specification tab. what does this mean exactly?

lastly, newegg has this amd chip (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103298) listed on the mobo page as part of a combo deal. since the cpu socket type and type match, i think i can use this chip instead of the one (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103255) that saturnotaku linked me to. the amd athalon 64 x2 5050e brisbane retails at a higher price tag than the athalon 64 x2 4850e, but as a combo price with the mobo, the brisbane is the better deal. should i purchase that one instead? im assuming that the higher price and model number indicate a better cpu.

thanks again for the input. your comments are appreciated

saturnotaku
12-17-08, 10:32 AM
i've noticed no graphics card as part of this lineup. i guess this means the amd chip would be processing all the graphics itself. this would be sufficient for some of the newer games? how about counter-strike on a native resolution of 1680 x 1050. while the graphics card (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814127333) that i originally inquired about requires a PCI Express 2.0 x 16 interface, i've noticed that the amd eg780 mobo (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813135075) lists pci express x 16 without the 2.0 part though i've noticed that it says that 2.0 is supported under the 'features' section under the specification tab. what does this mean exactly?

If you can afford to purchase a discreet graphics card, then the one you've linked to will work just fine in that motherboard. All PCI-Express graphics cards are forward and backward compatible. A PCI-Express 2.0 card will run in a 1.0 slot, and vice versa. A 9600 GT will do just fine for older titles, and it can even run most newer ones, albeit at a lower resolution.

lastly, newegg has this amd chip (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103298) listed on the mobo page as part of a combo deal. since the cpu socket type and type match, i think i can use this chip instead of the one (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103255) that saturnotaku linked me to. the amd athalon 64 x2 5050e brisbane retails at a higher price tag than the athalon 64 x2 4850e, but as a combo price with the mobo, the brisbane is the better deal. should i purchase that one instead? im assuming that the higher price and model number indicate a better cpu.

The faster, the better. If the 5050e is cheaper as part of the combo, go for it.

nekrosoft13
12-17-08, 10:52 AM
i've noticed no graphics card as part of this lineup.

Video is build in motherboard it is Radeon 3200, and if you do this route, in future I would recomend buying a Radeon card, since you will be able to use Hybrid Crossfire mode.

JasonPC
12-17-08, 12:05 PM
I think the integrated 3200 should be able to play Half-Life just fine. It actually can play some newer games on lower settings too.

ouchifell
12-17-08, 01:50 PM
thanks for your help guys. i've just purchased those items at newegg. hopefully i can kick some ass on quake now hehe ...

i'll keep in mind the hybrid crossfire feature when i make my next upgrade.

thanks again