PDA

View Full Version : Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium


ATi
12-26-08, 09:02 AM
Will it work on a PCIe 16x slot?:confused:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16829102024

Medion
12-26-08, 09:13 AM
Negative.

http://sisterschoice.typepad.com/sisters_choice_quilts/images/2008/02/03/square_peg_in_round_hole_2.jpg

ATi
12-26-08, 02:04 PM
Really?:( I heard that the Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1 pciE 1x whould work on a pciE16x slot because PCIe16x has "Backwards compatibility" is this ture?!?

Toss3
12-26-08, 02:22 PM
Should work - just not sure if motherboard makers take this into account when designing their boards.

Medion: All pci-express slots are compatible with one another - as long as the pci-e card is not physically larger than the slot.

ATi
12-27-08, 02:58 PM
REQUIREMENTS
Microsoft® Windows Vista® with Service Pack 1 or Windows® XP (x64, Service Pack 2 or Media Center Edition)
Intel® Pentium® 4 AMD® Athlon™ or equivalent processor, 1.6 GHz or faster
256MB RAM (512MB for Windows Vista)
600MB of free hard disk space
Available PCI Express® (x1, x4, x8 or x16) slot
CD-ROM or DVD-ROM drive
Internet connection to download free PowerDVD software
http://www.soundblaster.com/products...ct=17927&nav=3

It will work:)

Medion
12-27-08, 03:17 PM
Medion: All pci-express slots are compatible with one another - as long as the pci-e card is not physically larger than the slot.

I feel like a retard now. In all seriousness though, thank you for the correction :) We're learn new things every day, and it's good to try to stay caught up with technology to an extent.

AngelGraves13
12-28-08, 06:11 PM
I just installed one. It works great. Even lets you install a Front Panel audio connection from your case.

Trademark
12-30-08, 07:50 AM
I'd think it would be compatible in theory. Only difference between the available PCIe "versions" as in x8, x16 etc. is the amount of available lanes.

So wether you plug in the card in PCIex16 or PCIx1, it should always have 250MB/s available (or 500MB/s for v2.0) since it uses only one lane.

nekrosoft13
12-30-08, 08:16 AM
sometimes you can plug in PCI-E 8x or 16x cards in PCI-E 4x , some boards have PCI-E slots open for larger cards.

http://www.hardwarezone.com/img/data/articles/2006/1968/AS890_slots.jpg

ATi
12-30-08, 06:20 PM
it's working great here:) thanks for the info guys!:thumbsup: sounds so good

Pennyboy
01-05-09, 02:01 AM
I have the PCI X-fi falality is there much difference between it and the PCI Express titanium?? is it worth getting?

I wasn't going to bother because my only PCI express x1 slot sits under my dual slot 280GTX but now I know you can put it in an 8x PCI express slot I might consider if worth it?

ATi
01-06-09, 01:48 AM
I have the PCI X-fi falality is there much difference between it and the PCI Express titanium?? is it worth getting?

I wasn't going to bother because my only PCI express x1 slot sits under my dual slot 280GTX but now I know you can put it in an 8x PCI express slot I might consider if worth it?

Don't know I know it sounds better than my old pci X-Fi XtremeMusic and the titanium drivers are better!!! the old x-fi drivers they give me a blue screen

Pennyboy
01-06-09, 01:17 PM
Don't know I know it sounds better than my old pci X-Fi XtremeMusic and the titanium drivers are better!!! the old x-fi drivers they give me a blue screen

Cheers mate, I might consider this card. Will read a few reviews first though.