PDA

View Full Version : Low 280 3DMark score on i7?


Pages : [1] 2

Scaramonga
12-29-08, 07:27 PM
Ok, just built my new i7 system, specs in Sig, and ran 3DMark 06 for first time on my GTX280.

Score = 14444 <------WTF???

The card is not clocked yet, and neither is the system, but I feel thats way too low? My other system, specs in Sig also, gets 13183 on an 8800GTS.

Somethings wrong?

Card is watercooled and running on Vista x64 with 180.48 driver set.

Any ideas peeps? :headexplode:

Feyy
12-29-08, 07:31 PM
Stop caring about ****ty & pointless programs like 3DMark.

DeusGear
12-29-08, 07:39 PM
You sure you uninstalled the drivers properly?

Scaramonga
12-29-08, 07:46 PM
You sure you uninstalled the drivers properly?

I didn't need to, fresh OS install on new system.

Stop caring about ****ty & pointless programs like 3DMark.

I'm not caring about 3DMark but its telling me that something aint right when its that far off.

ATi
12-29-08, 08:09 PM
try the GEFORCE 181.00 drivers run some real benchmarks like farcry 2 crysis gta4 to see how big of a boost you have

Eliminator
12-29-08, 08:35 PM
you should try 3dmark vantage... for 3dmark06 you need to clock that cpu higher probably since its very cpu limited on a gtx 280... also can you post a compare link?

Hordsak
12-29-08, 09:10 PM
I also just built an i7 system, and 3dmark06 seems to be low. I'm running a 920 @ 3.90 with a 280GTX and I got around 15k. I have vantage, and I got around P8809 or something like that.

Scaramonga
12-29-08, 09:20 PM
you should try 3dmark vantage... for 3dmark06 you need to clock that cpu higher probably since its very cpu limited on a gtx 280... also can you post a compare link?

Vantage result = 13173

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=639486

jcrox
12-29-08, 09:39 PM
Try putting a card that can be used for physix, that's when you vantage score really jumps.

Hordsak
12-29-08, 09:46 PM
Man my vantage is really low. Can you install physx if you running a single card? My 280 scores are really weak, and I'm running at almost 4gigs on an i7 :thumbdwn:

Eliminator
12-29-08, 09:50 PM
I also just built an i7 system, and 3dmark06 seems to be low. I'm running a 920 @ 3.90 with a 280GTX and I got around 15k. I have vantage, and I got around P8809 or something like that.
yea thats definitely too low.... dont bother with the physx card just make sure you have it enabled in the nvidia settings and it will use your current gpu to boost your score a bit... post a compare link so we can see whats wrong with it

Vantage result = 13173

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=639486
that looks fine... try some games and see how they run

Scaramonga
12-29-08, 09:52 PM
Try putting a card that can be used for physix, that's when you vantage score really jumps.

PhysX acceleration is Enabled in Nvidia control panel.

Hordsak
12-29-08, 10:09 PM
I ran it again, and I got P10681. Here are my online results.

http://service.futuremark.com/results/showSingleResult.action?resultId=639566&resultType=19

I just realized in global settings, I had vsync forced on. After comparing the other guys score, you can see my cpu numbers are alot higher, but my video card numbers are alot lower. I'll run again and post back.

EDIT: Ok, after disabling Vsync, I get 13600 in Vantage.

http://service.futuremark.com/results/showSingleResult.action?resultId=639585&resultType=19

Eliminator
12-29-08, 10:16 PM
yea your gfx score is too low but the cpu is good.... perhaps AA is on?

Hordsak
12-29-08, 10:40 PM
yea your gfx score is too low but the cpu is good.... perhaps AA is on?

Yeah, I can't believe I left vsync forced on. I have the exact same video card as you. I wonder if I should try overclocking it some more, for free performance =)

Eliminator
12-29-08, 10:53 PM
good to hear you fixed it... yea go for it... theres still some room left to push it... personally i leave it at stock OC2 settings for 24/7 use

ryan29121
12-30-08, 09:56 AM
Glad everything is working alright.

Scaramonga
12-30-08, 11:04 AM
I got that 'EVGA Precision' with my card, haven't installed it yet. Would it be best to use that for clocking, or good old Rivatuner? :)

Eliminator
12-30-08, 11:15 AM
grab the latest precision from evga 1.40... its basically a cut down version of rivatuner but its pretty nice

Scaramonga
12-30-08, 12:06 PM
OK.

Running EVGA Precision using the 'on screen' display during a 3DMark06 run gives interesting viewing.

Temps hit no higher than 33c, so this is good. The card seems to be 'downclocking', which is not good.

A couple of times I saw the Core clock drop from 602 > 400 and the Memory clock from 1107 > 700.

I had disabled PhysX in Nvidia Control Panel on that run, and gained a few points also - 15203 is what I'm at now.

Interesting, but also, disturbing.

Eliminator
12-30-08, 12:39 PM
downclocking is normal... with the latest drivers and gtx 280/260 the card will downclock if the load is low... the test is very cpu limited which is why this is happening so i wouldnt even bother with 3dmark06

conantheogar2
12-30-08, 03:14 PM
Ok, just built my new i7 system, specs in Sig, and ran 3DMark 06 for first time on my GTX280.

Score = 14444 <------WTF???

The card is not clocked yet, and neither is the system, but I feel thats way too low? My other system, specs in Sig also, gets 13183 on an 8800GTS.

Somethings wrong?

Card is watercooled and running on Vista x64 with 180.48 driver set.

Any ideas peeps? :headexplode:



Dude Core i7 is not a Gaming CPU!

Games are not even Optimized for quad core properly not to mention i7.

infact i7 Performs worse in Crysis than a Core 2 E8400

http://www.overclockersclub.com/reviews/intel_core_i7/9.htm

that score is about Right.

Just Over clock and you get better score.

hell_of_doom227
12-30-08, 04:42 PM
I also just built an i7 system, and 3dmark06 seems to be low. I'm running a 920 @ 3.90 with a 280GTX and I got around 15k. I have vantage, and I got around P8809 or something like that.


Vantage is too low. Something is not right there.

Hordsak
12-30-08, 08:43 PM
I ran it again, and I got P10681. Here are my online results.

http://service.futuremark.com/results/showSingleResult.action?resultId=639566&resultType=19

I just realized in global settings, I had vsync forced on. After comparing the other guys score, you can see my cpu numbers are alot higher, but my video card numbers are alot lower. I'll run again and post back.

EDIT: Ok, after disabling Vsync, I get 13600 in Vantage.

http://service.futuremark.com/results/showSingleResult.action?resultId=639585&resultType=19

This is from my previous post =) After fixing it, I got 13600, not bad.

I♥GFX
12-30-08, 09:19 PM
Dude Core i7 is not a Gaming CPU!

Games are not even Optimized for quad core properly not to mention i7.

infact i7 Performs worse in Crysis than a Core 2 E8400No, it doesnt, the processors on that test have different clocks :rolleyes2