PDA

View Full Version : (Gigabyte's) 285 GTX spotted, only 2x 6Pin Power needed!


Pages : [1] 2

Tikimotel
01-02-09, 07:13 AM
http://translate.google.com/translate?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.hkepc.com%2F2178&sl=zh-CN&tl=en&hl=en&ie=UTF-8

Has caught the attention of users NVIDIA GF GTX 285 formal arrival!? Small mind brain today visited the scene found two field Shop Capital and Centralfield demonstrated in the display window GIGABYTE latest GF GTX 285, model GV-N285 - 1GH-B, the so-called single-card imperial GTX 285 using the 55nm process, built 240 Stream Processors, and more power than previous generations GTX 280 significantly reduced to 183W.

GeForce GTX 285 using 55-nanometer D10U graphics core, built 240 Unified Streaming Processor, 80 months Texture Filtering Unit, 80 months Texture Address Unit, and 32 Raster Operations Unit, the core clock to 648MHz, Sharder clock to 1476MHz, memory body clock was 1242MHz.

In addition, GeForce GTX 285 with 1GB GDDR3 memory, power consumption significantly lower for the 183W, compared 280GTX dropped the 236-power, 285GTX more need to use only two 6pin power supply interface to operations and reduce system power supply requirements.

According to the brain field staff, said the scene took the lead in the GIGABYTE GV-N285-1GH-B is limited to goods, Capital and Centralfield the price of two shops were HK $ 3399 and $ 3200, since the introduction of benefit after the home welcome, only the remaining 1 ~ 2 spot.

excuse the googleese, but you'll get the point more or less.

MUYA
01-02-09, 07:48 AM
hmm might check the mall out...

Bee_Dee_3_Dee
01-02-09, 08:12 PM
Is so nice they have reverted to only two 6 pins. :) :) :) (Makes life easier for soooo many ppl upgrading.)

Amaury
01-02-09, 08:28 PM
HOT!!!! or make that COOL!!!!!

http://i164.photobucket.com/albums/u22/Amaury75/gtx285_gigabyte_hongkong.jpg

Tri-SLI on a watercooled Gigabyte GA-EX58-EXTREME i7 mobo (nana2)(nana2)(nana2)

methimpikehoses
01-02-09, 08:38 PM
Nice. :)

Bladestorm
01-02-09, 09:50 PM
Not even the i7 965 Extreme could handle tri-sli with these, am I correct.

Amaury
01-03-09, 07:40 PM
yes it can. In fact most i7 mobos support tri-sli and crossfire.

http://overclockzone.com/zolkorn/year2008/11/gigabyte_ex58ud5p/IMG_0250.jpg

http://overclockzone.com/zolkorn/year2008/11/gigabyte_ex58ud5p/IMG_0238.JPG

I particularly like the Gigabyte GA-EX58-EXTREME because of its northbridge waterblock, 10 sata ports, PCIeX1 and PCIeX4 slots above the first PCIeX16 slot.

mailman2
01-03-09, 07:47 PM
Gigabyte boards have the worst vdroop and thus make them poor overclockers. Maybe they will step up with x58, not holding my breath.

Bladestorm
01-03-09, 08:14 PM
yes it can. In fact most i7 mobos support tri-sli and crossfire.

That's not what I meant.

Bman212121
01-03-09, 08:27 PM
That's not what I meant.

It depends on what resolution you're running and what game your playing. Something like COD will scale quite well because it isn't limited by the cpu. Other games would become cpu limited like Far Cry 2, but if you're using a triplehead setup or a 30" then you'll likely run out of vram before you can fully utilize all 3 cards. There are scenarios where the processor could easily be holding them back though.

shabby
01-03-09, 09:38 PM
yes it can. In fact most i7 mobos support tri-sli and crossfire.


I hope more mobo's start having 2 slot spacing between the pcie connectors, there's barely any room for the fan's on the cards to get any air, its like they're suffocating.

Blacklash
01-04-09, 12:23 AM
Anyone know what the projected price of the 285 is for the US?

IMO people are a bit nutty about required CPU speed for SLi/Crossfire. When running GTX 260 Core 216 Tri-SLi (711|2300) @ 1280x with no filtering @3.2GHz I lose 5-8FPS in demanding games vs 3.96GHz. At the res I normally play, 1920x, the differences are smaller.

Bladestorm
01-04-09, 12:25 AM
It depends on what resolution you're running and what game your playing. Something like COD will scale quite well because it isn't limited by the cpu. Other games would become cpu limited like Far Cry 2, but if you're using a triplehead setup or a 30" then you'll likely run out of vram before you can fully utilize all 3 cards. There are scenarios where the processor could easily be holding them back though.

Thank you for that explanation. :thumbsup:

Blacklash
01-04-09, 12:35 AM
As a user of well overclocked GTX 260 Core 216 Tri-SLi, I can tell you I can not feel any difference between them being supported by a 3.2GHz I7 920 and one @ 3.96GHz. That's 1280x without filtering and 1920x with filtering. As I said in my last post, I only saw a drop of 5-8FPS @ 1280x with no filtering and we're talking about the 60-80FPS range as well.

Muppet
01-04-09, 12:57 AM
Gigabyte boards have the worst vdroop and thus make them poor overclockers. Maybe they will step up with x58, not holding my breath.

Granted the Vdroop isn't working on the Gigabyte boards ATM. But they are very good overclockers. In fact they are one of the most used X58 boards over at Extreme Systems.

XDanger
01-04-09, 10:10 AM
Only 1gb,

Will there be a 1.5 or 2gb version?

Logical
01-04-09, 12:25 PM
I need this GPU to be released asap...im holding out on buying my new system untill it is.

Muppet
01-04-09, 01:51 PM
Only 1gb,

Will there be a 1.5 or 2gb version?

That would be a complete overkill. 1Gb is enough for a single chip card.

JasonPC
01-04-09, 03:48 PM
You know what I think of GTAIV... (spit)

rage10
01-04-09, 04:51 PM
That would be a complete overkill. 1Gb is enough for a single chip card.

and if your using a 30" screen your likely to use up vram before fully utilizing even a tri sli gtx 280 setup if you use high filters and such.

Amaury
01-04-09, 07:15 PM
especially if you are running 2560x1600 with 8xaa or higher on some of the newer games.

I♥GFX
01-04-09, 07:27 PM
The design is pretty ugly, I hope XFX and EVGA get it soon to spice it up.

Muppet
01-04-09, 10:14 PM
and if your using a 30" screen your likely to use up vram before fully utilizing even a tri sli gtx 280 setup if you use high filters and such.

And how many people on this forum have 3x GTX280's with 30" monitors. Not many I would guess.

especially if you are running 2560x1600 with 8xaa or higher on some of the newer games.

See above.

Not for GTA4 ;)

What, with the aweful textures in that game. I'd say it's more of an issue with being a console port.

breathemetal
01-04-09, 10:35 PM
The design is pretty ugly, I hope XFX and EVGA get it soon to spice it up.

Thats why you watercool :D

Bman212121
01-05-09, 12:12 PM
Not saying it's highly optimized but GTA4 needs more than 1GB in its current state :p

Not only that if some of the other big titles like Alan Wake come out this year, there might be other games pushing the 1GB envelope. If you're going to use the card for any length of time, I'd consider 1GB the minimum at this point.