PDA

View Full Version : Q9400


grey_1
01-03-09, 05:39 PM
Anyone here have one? Thoughts?

breathemetal
01-03-09, 05:59 PM
go with a i7 920 :)

grey_1
01-03-09, 06:04 PM
That's the rub, I don't want to upgrade my board and ram yet. Got a nice X38 I'd like to last another year and a half or so, and apparently these chips overclock insanely.

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu/display/core2quad-q9400_14.html
http://img132.imageshack.us/img132/6128/cpu3804tj4.png (http://imageshack.us)

I'm seeing similar results at quite a few different sites.

mullet
01-03-09, 06:40 PM
The bad thing is Grey is that the X3350 & Q9450 on the P5E hit a 425FSB wall. Make sure the new Q9400 are able to do beyond 450FSB on the P5E board.

grey_1
01-03-09, 06:54 PM
Good point mullet. I google quite a few and it seems the P5E is fine with the 9400. Out of 8 or so reads I found one that had trouble over 425, but that was because the gent din't want to up his voltage any higher.

It's a tough call though as the majority of the hits I see are P5E variations or 9400s on newer chipsets.

Glad you brought this up, I'll have to do some more research. Thanks man.

mullet
01-03-09, 06:56 PM
Well I am doing 425x8 @ 3.4Ghz with the Vcore at 1.250 and runs prime95 like a champ no problems. I am happy with it.

grey_1
01-03-09, 07:01 PM
I'm sure you are - this is why I want a quad, too be happy too. :p

I'd really love not needing to upgrade for a couple more years, I just figure a 45nm quad is the best route to achieve that, but the guy that was having the trouble overclocking was approaching 1.38 or something. I'd have no issues if I could hit an oc like yours with 1.25...that's sweet.

mullet
01-03-09, 07:10 PM
Yeah Grey I just did some reading dude. No Q9400 on a P5E X38 chipset can get past 430 to 440 FSB. Everyone is pretty much sticking to 400x8-3.2 or 425x8-3.4. Yeah I am not upgrading for a good while. The only thing I will upgrade is a video card. If you get a 9400 let me know I will help ya if you have any problems.

grey_1
01-03-09, 07:15 PM
Good info to think about mullet. Thanks for the heads up on this.

Eliminator
01-03-09, 07:44 PM
go for the q9550.... not much difference in price but the extra 6mb of cache and multiplier is worth it

john19055
01-03-09, 07:58 PM
I would spend the extra $50 and get a Q9550 for $319 since a lot of them will do 3.8g to 4g on air plus the extra 6mb of cache and a higher multipler is always better.

fasedww
01-03-09, 09:50 PM
I would spend the extra $50 and get a Q9550 for $319 since a lot of them will do 3.8g to 4g on air plus the extra 6mb of cache and a higher multipler is always better.

Yeap':)

Bman212121
01-03-09, 09:57 PM
If a Q9550 is only $50 more then I would have to suggest that without a doubt. I don't know exactly but IIRC the other 6MB of cache is worth about 400Mhz in speed. So even if you can only hit 400 x 8.5 it would be the equivalent of a 3.8ghz Q9400.

IMO the real question is do you really need to be over 3.4ghz? I've been playing around with my processor from 3 - 3.6ghz and I'm not really noticing any major changes other than stability issues. I keep having to lower the OC again because I don't have something tuned quite right.

methimpikehoses
01-03-09, 11:16 PM
If a Q9550 is only $50 more then I would have to suggest that without a doubt. I don't know exactly but IIRC the other 6MB of cache is worth about 400Mhz in speed. So even if you can only hit 400 x 8.5 it would be the equivalent of a 3.8ghz Q9400.

IMO the real question is do you really need to be over 3.4ghz? I've been playing around with my processor from 3 - 3.6ghz and I'm not really noticing any major changes other than stability issues. I keep having to lower the OC again because I don't have something tuned quite right.

Mine doesn't like 3.6 or more... anything else requires too much vcore. ****ing shaw.

Tr1cK
01-03-09, 11:49 PM
I can't control the heat on my Q any higher than what I have it at now. I can't run over 420fsb on this P43 either.

grey_1
01-04-09, 07:58 AM
Great tip guys, though things may be changing. Wifey is a believer in spending more now so i won't have to later. I may have a Q9650 in my near future, although if I go that route it will have to wait for bonus time at work, couple of months away.

I may just snag another cheap dual core so I can get hers upgraded in the meantime.

Q9650...have I mentioned I love how my wife thinks? :D

lightman
01-04-09, 10:13 AM
Great tip guys, though things may be changing. Wifey is a believer in spending more now so i won't have to later. I may have a Q9650 in my near future, although if I go that route it will have to wait for bonus time at work, couple of months away.

I may just snag another cheap dual core so I can get hers upgraded in the meantime.

Q9650...have I mentioned I love how my wife thinks? :D

My girlfriend just suggested me I buy a nice Nikon D90 with a couple of good lenses, so that I can shot much much without spending a lot in film and development, so I can easily relate to you ;) :D

And ... I love how my girlfriend thinks, too :D


By the way: happy fiddling around with the q9650 ;)

grey_1
01-04-09, 10:39 AM
My girlfriend just suggested me I buy a nice Nikon D90 with a couple of good lenses, so that I can shot much much without spending a lot in film and development, so I can easily relate to you ;) :D

And ... I love how my girlfriend thinks, too :D


By the way: happy fiddling around with the q9650 ;)

Nice! I love smart women. They let us get what we want so we spend time fiddling with it and stay out of their hair. :p j/k

enjoy the Nikon!

grey_1
01-05-09, 03:29 PM
Getting an E8500 to play with until i grab a quad. Hopefully it's a good stepping for ovrclocks.

mullet
01-06-09, 10:09 AM
Cool then you will need to 8500 ram.

CaptNKILL
01-06-09, 10:13 AM
From the Q6600 thread...

I just set up a system for my brother using a Q9400 on a Gigabyte EP45-UD3R and I am completely impressed.

I heard all these horror stories about high temperatures with quad cores but this thing runs COOL. At stock 2.66Ghz it topped out at around 46C with an old stock E6750 cooler in prime95. After ordering a 775 bracket we installed my brother's "old" Thermalright XP-90C (copper) on it and it dropped the temps 12C.

Letting the Gigabyte BIOS automatically adjust voltages I bumped his FSB up to 458 for 3.66Ghz and it still only tops out at 53C on the hottest core after running Prime95 for around a half hour with small FFTs.

If I'd known these things were this solid I would have bought one a long time ago. All this time I was thinking that you had to deal with temps in the mid 60s under load to get that kind of overclock. :p

grey_1
01-06-09, 10:53 AM
Too late Capt.

Wifey said I could have the 9650. :D

I've still read nothing but good about the 9400, just the FSB hole on my particular board that mullet brought up that has me concerned.

Speaking of overclocking - I'm going to shoot for 3.8-4Ghz for 24/7 use. Shouldn't be too hard from what I've seen around the web.

jcrox
02-10-09, 10:58 PM
Jusf found out that our vacation home renovations are coming in at $10,000 less than projected so, even though I'm a total tight wad and have fought the Quad itch for some time now I just pulled the trigger on Q9400 :D

This Thermaltake Blue Orb 2 worked Wonderfully on my E6600 and keeps this 8400 darn cool as well so I'm going to give it a try as it fits the Black-n-Blue theme of my case nicely but I may have to upgrade there too.

3.4GHz and I'll be happy, anything over that is IMO bonus


:captnkill: (nana2) :captnkill: (nana2)

jcrox
02-18-09, 03:40 AM
Still not worth the $$ if you ask me. Other than benchmarks I didn't see any significant difference... so I sold it.