PDA

View Full Version : Core i7 920 + Asus P6T Deluxe + 6Gb DDR3(lots of pics)


Toss3
01-15-09, 07:25 AM
Got my new system yesterday and spent all day putting it together! :) Took a lot of photos, but I couldn't find my usb cable so I couldn't upload them before now.. :bleh:

But here it is - my precious:

http://www.abload.de/thumb/asuslogo1d00.jpg (http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=asuslogo1d00.jpg)http://www.abload.de/thumb/benchmarkingtceo.jpg (http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=benchmarkingtceo.jpg)http://www.abload.de/thumb/datorhel8kefp.jpg (http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=datorhel8kefp.jpg)http://www.abload.de/thumb/pump25jk5.jpg (http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=pump25jk5.jpg)

God, is there anything better than to get to open and install new hardware? :D
http://www.abload.de/thumb/paket1zwk9.jpg (http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=paket1zwk9.jpg)http://www.abload.de/thumb/emo1ykrk.jpg (http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=emo1ykrk.jpg)http://www.abload.de/thumb/emo2fy0l.jpg (http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=emo2fy0l.jpg)http://www.abload.de/thumb/processor1iukt.jpg (http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=processor1iukt.jpg)http://www.abload.de/thumb/processor2yo8f.jpg (http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=processor2yo8f.jpg)

Core i7 920:
http://www.abload.de/thumb/processor3bvc4.jpg (http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=processor3bvc4.jpg)http://www.abload.de/thumb/processor50wmd.jpg (http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=processor50wmd.jpg)http://www.abload.de/thumb/processor6fthp.jpg (http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=processor6fthp.jpg)

Asus P6T Deluxe:
http://www.abload.de/thumb/emo47zg4.jpg (http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=emo47zg4.jpg)http://www.abload.de/thumb/emo8yzoz.jpg (http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=emo8yzoz.jpg)http://www.abload.de/thumb/emo100okc.jpg (http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=emo100okc.jpg)http://www.abload.de/thumb/emo9zi2f.jpg (http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=emo9zi2f.jpg)

A-DATA DDR3 1333Mhz Cl 8 vs GEIL DDR2 800Mhz Cl 4
http://www.abload.de/thumb/ram1jzir.jpg (http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=ram1jzir.jpg)

3,8Ghz Stable at 1,3Vcore(190Mhz BCLK x 20) -These babies run almost as hot as Picard!
http://www.abload.de/thumb/38ghzi792013vvcore804v.jpg (http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=38ghzi792013vvcore804v.jpg)http://www.abload.de/thumb/taskmanageriu5y.jpg (http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=taskmanageriu5y.jpg)

Some benchmarks - 3dmark01(i7 920 3,6Ghz vs Q6600 3,4Ghz), GTA IV(i7 920 3,6Ghz vs Q6600 3,4Ghz) and 3dmark06(3,6Ghz i7 + 8800GTS 512mb vs q6600 3,0Ghz + GTX 260)
http://www.abload.de/thumb/3dmark01e9cf.jpg (http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=3dmark01e9cf.jpg)http://www.abload.de/thumb/gtaivv2oq.jpg (http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=gtaivv2oq.jpg)http://www.abload.de/thumb/3dmark068s6s.jpg (http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=3dmark068s6s.jpg)

Toss3
01-15-09, 07:33 AM
Not using any installation brackets for my cpu-block as it doesn't need it(the thermal paste keeps it pretty tight). :) And I'm using a HTPC case so it's always horizontal.

Note to those going the i7 route:

Chipset runs VERY hot! I'd recommend a small 50mm fan to put on there and the same goes for the DDR3!

You need to put your ram into the orange slots(farthest from the cpu) - otherwise the system won't boot.

LordJuanlo: No problems moving my RAID setup! :) Worked like a charm!

LordJuanlo
01-15-09, 07:39 AM
LordJuanlo: No problems moving my RAID setup! :) Worked like a charm!

Good to know, thanks!. And congratulations for your new rig

Toss3
01-15-09, 08:06 AM
Good to know, thanks!. And congratulations for your new rig

Thanks and sorry for spelling your name wrong.. :o

Toss3
01-15-09, 08:26 AM
3dmark06 - i7 920 @ 3,6Ghz + 8800GTS 512mb vs Q6600 @ 3,0ghz + GTX 260(216sp 55nm)

http://www.abload.de/thumb/3dmark068s6s.jpg (http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=3dmark068s6s.jpg)

Toss3
01-15-09, 11:17 AM
Looks great! Enjoy your new rig! :D

Thanks! :) Couldn't help but notice that you are running your i965 at 3,8Ghz at a pretty high Vcore - what BIOS settings are you currently using with your p6t deluxe(trying to figure out if there's a connection between bad overclocks and the p6t deluxe :bleh:)?

My 920 boots fine at 3,8Ghz with 1,15Vcore, but to reach 4Ghz I need 1,35V+.

Toss3
01-15-09, 11:38 AM
1.15V is insanely low, you're a lucky guy :) That's even lower than the default voltage AFAIK.
I think my vcore is not that high, seems pretty common for that clock.

Currently I'm not using any BIOS settings because the board died this week but I had everything at the Auto setting except vcore (1.325V) and vdimm (1.66V).

Oh, I forgot your mobo died.. :o And I believe that 1,35 is pretty high for 3,8Ghz - for 4Ghz on the other hand 1,35V is pretty much the norm. :) What kind of temps were you getting with the copper?

Toss3
01-15-09, 12:00 PM
Last time I checked (December), I found lots of results showing ~1.4V for 4GHz.
Idle temp was around 38-44C. While flying around in FSX it was around 60C. Room temp was 25-26C.

Pretty similar temps to what I was getting with 1,35V. :) Didn't like that the cores got to 85c when running prime95 though, so I tried 1,15 and boom it booted(wasn't stable; prime95 just resulted in a bsod). 1,2V is still running strong though! :thumbsup:

Toss3
01-15-09, 12:55 PM
I have NB/SB/mofset blocks for the board ;)

Gonna get the same ones when I renew my watercooling setup this summer(gonna get a swiftech gtz block as well)! :) The chipset is screaming after watercooling as it is and my single 120mm rad is stuggling to keep the temps down(my triple rad started leaking).

slaWter: 1,2V for 3,8Ghz. :)

eva2000
01-16-09, 02:08 AM
Gonna get the same ones when I renew my watercooling setup this summer(gonna get a swiftech gtz block as well)! :) The chipset is screaming after watercooling as it is and my single 120mm rad is stuggling to keep the temps down(my triple rad started leaking).

slaWter: 1,2V for 3,8Ghz. :)

not bad in line with other 3838Axxx http://i4memory.com/f55/i7-920-batch-ocing-results-please-share-13570/ maybe a bit better :)

Toss3
01-16-09, 04:19 AM
not bad in line with other 3838Axxx http://i4memory.com/f55/i7-920-batch-ocing-results-please-share-13570/ maybe a bit better :)

It's a batch B - 3838B080 :)

EDIT: I might add that I haven't played around with the voltages that much yet. :)

ASUSEN7900GTX
01-17-09, 06:20 PM
so if i get a I7 920 with 4-6gb ram and keep my gfx i guess i can get a real boost in FC2 GTA IV Fallout 3 and so on?

eva2000
01-17-09, 06:49 PM
It's a batch B - 3838B080 :)

EDIT: I might add that I haven't played around with the voltages that much yet. :)
my advice play with and sort out ram clocking first it will help with cpu clocking ;)