PDA

View Full Version : Fear 2 Demo Feedback Thread


Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

jAkUp
01-22-09, 09:44 AM
http://www.fileplanet.com/files/190000/196225.shtml

http://www.gamershell.com/news_67980.html

http://www.atomicgamer.com/file.php?id=74273

trivium nate
01-22-09, 10:00 AM
I played this and beat its simply amazing!!!
better graphics
new hud
new weapons
tougher enemies
sweet ass mech robots
new pda system thing

this was sick nasty definitly way better than the other f.e.a.r games I cant wiat for this game to come out

weapons include
submachine gun
shotgun
lazer
missile launcher
assault rifle
probably more but thats all i saw in the demo

this game is definitly going to be worth picking up!!

jAkUp
01-22-09, 10:02 AM
One thing I noticed, to get SLI to enable, rename the .exe file to FEAR2.exe

randsom
01-22-09, 10:09 AM
anyone getting any split second pauses, where the framerate slows down into the twenties and bounces right back up to 60.

backfiggen
01-22-09, 10:15 AM
anyone getting any split second pauses, where the framerate slows down into the twenties and bounces right back up to 60.

Yeah, like two times.

trivium nate
01-22-09, 10:16 AM
no im not

jAkUp
01-22-09, 10:18 AM
Some screenshots, overall the game runs over 200FPS. Yup, 200FPS. I also get the pauses, seems like when it quick saves.

1920x1200 4x/16x

trivium nate
01-22-09, 10:20 AM
meh i have an 8600GTS 256 mb everything maxium i was getting like 35-40 fps :)

Section-9
01-22-09, 10:22 AM
Downloading now, can't wait ! :D

saturnotaku
01-22-09, 10:26 AM
Based on this and the PS3 demos, this game went from a day-one purchase to a pick-it-up-when-it's-on-sale. The inability to quicksave or bind my 4th and 5th mouse buttons as well as gimped widescreen support and dorky support characters were really a disappointment, IMO. I also don't like the new HUD or weapons selection screen/system thing.

lee63
01-22-09, 10:32 AM
This game is a mess, I prolly wont even buy it. very disappointing.

randsom
01-22-09, 10:35 AM
Some screenshots, overall the game runs over 200FPS. Yup, 200FPS. I also get the pauses, seems like when it quick saves.

1920x1200 4x/16x

well jakup, i just have a lowly 260 gtx 216 735/1550/2550, i am not gonna pull 200 fps, plus i have v-sync on i hate tearing

Quick420
01-22-09, 10:43 AM
One thing I noticed, to get SLI to enable, rename the .exe file to FEAR2.exe

Thnx for pointing that one out jaKup,it always pisses me off when a cool game comes out and sli doesnt work correctly.Downloading now,1hr to go here;)

Lfctony
01-22-09, 10:47 AM
Getting pauses... :(

Mithan
01-22-09, 11:13 AM
nm.

Section-9
01-22-09, 11:20 AM
no leaning ??? wtf. seriously, more console junk. bah. :thumbdwn:

JohnDio
01-22-09, 11:21 AM
-no Quick Save


I'm pretty sure it was left out cause it's a demo. If you search the menu you won't find any "Load Game" option, only "Load the last checkpoint" ;). My guess is that the final version will have "Load/Save Game" options. And seriously i didn't mind that they removed the leaning as the core of FEAR is enhanced in FEAR 2 :)

Burnt_Ram
01-22-09, 11:24 AM
One thing I noticed, to get SLI to enable, rename the .exe file to FEAR2.exe
what drivers are you using jakUp? im on 180.48 currently so i had to make a profile and force to AFR2, seems to run alright i guess, but now i wonder if SLi is actually working as i get big fps drops in the part where you get beyond the buses. other than that im getting around 60-75 fps vsyced @ 75hz, but just after the buses i dropped right down to 16 fps for a momment at one point ...

jAkUp
01-22-09, 11:43 AM
VSync adds mouselag in most games, that is why I usually don't use it. Haven't tried it with Fear, if no mouselag I will give it a go.

Tearing is not a problem for me in most games, except a few titles like Mirror's Edge, the problem is though that enabling VSync adds mouselag so I would prefer to just live with the tearing.

I am using the 181.22 drivers, they have a Fear2 profile but the .exe is wrong.

a12ctic
01-22-09, 11:45 AM
anyone getting any split second pauses, where the framerate slows down into the twenties and bounces right back up to 60.

Definately noticed this, I feel like the FPS was above 60 a lot of times but every couple minutes it would just dive. Maybe a driver related issue?

backfiggen
01-22-09, 11:47 AM
In order to get the best game play experience, it is not recommended to run F.E.A.R. 2: Project Origin at high resolutions. You should avoid resolutions above 1024x768 for 4:3 displays, 1280x768 for 16:10 displays, and 1280x720 for 16:9 displays on any current generation card. Instead, use the full-screen anti-aliasing (FSAA) option under the Advanced Options menu. This helps improve the visual quality of the final scene without dramatically increasing the amount of work that must be performed.
:headexplode:

Ywap
01-22-09, 12:10 PM
I got mixed feelings for this one, great visuals but the gameplay felt a little console like.

Itīs very irritating that you canīt map all the mouse buttons or all keyboard commands. The lack of lean is also a letdown.

lee63
01-22-09, 12:14 PM
Is anyone else noticing the graininess ?

|MaguS|
01-22-09, 12:43 PM
Wish I could give it a run on my HTPC but I returned the wireless keyboard I bought yesterday due to input lag... need a new wireless keyboard, don't want to be playing on it with the 42" screen 2' from the TV. :(

lee63
01-22-09, 12:46 PM
Oh yes, I mentioned it in my post. Looks horrible :( Is it possible to disable it?I don't think so :( uninstalling :thumbdwn: