PDA

View Full Version : What's wrong with GF4200?


WebmastaX
05-31-03, 06:38 PM
Ok, these are my system specs:

cpu: athlon XP 2000+
mb: asus a7v8x
ram: 256mb 2700 CL2.5
gpu: gf4200 64mb(4x)

I tested my comp with 3dmark'01 and I got 7463. Which I think is rather low for kind of system. What's holding me back is my fill rate. I suspect there is something wrong with it, am I right?

Fill Rate (Single-Texturing) 511.0 MTexels/s

Fill Rate (Multi-Texturing) 511.0 MTexels/s

Also I think that I have problems when I using shaders:

Vertex Shader 68.6 FPS

Pixel Shader 59.7 FPS

Advanced Pixel Shader 38.5 FPS

How can I know for sure that there is something wrong with my video card or my system?

EDLIM
05-31-03, 06:59 PM
That's kinda low

My Spec:
CPU : P4 2.4 533 FSB
MB: MSI 845 PE MAX
CARD : GF 4 TI4200 128 MEG
MEM: 1 GIG PC2700 @ 333

3dmark'01 = 11989 WHICH I think is a bit low

Are you using any onboard sound? Do you Have a lot of programs running in the background?

digitalwanderer
05-31-03, 06:59 PM
Two things, what are your clockspeeds on your GF4ti4200 and what speed are you running your CPU at?

I'm getting about 6795 on Blue right now in 3dm2k1se, and I just tossed the GF4 ti4400 in the other day to mess around with it. That score sounds a little low, but in the ballpark.

CaptNKILL
06-01-03, 10:34 AM
Vsync might be on.

Anisotropic filtering might be on.

Anti-Aliasing might be on.

Check your driver settings.

WebmastaX
06-01-03, 11:36 AM
Are you using any onboard sound? Do you Have a lot of programs running in the background?
Yes, I'm using the onboard sound that came with the MB. And no I don't have a lot of programs running in the background, my CPU utilization before starting the test was 0.
Two things, what are your clockspeeds on your GF4ti4200 and what speed are you running your CPU at?
My clockspeeds on my GF4 are 250/513. My CPU is running at 1667 MHZ ( 12.5 x 133 FSB ). Memory is at 333(166 X 2)

Vsync might be on. Anisotropic filtering might be on. Anti-Aliasing might be on.Check your driver settings.

How do I turn off Vsync? As for anisotropic filtering and AA, I turned both of them off before the test.

digitalwanderer
06-01-03, 12:52 PM
Originally posted by WebmastaX
How do I turn off Vsync?

RivaTuner

WebmastaX
06-02-03, 12:38 AM
RivaTuner
Ok I got RivaTuner and turned Vsync off. It didn't make a difference on my fill rate, it only increased my FPS on the other tests but nothing else...

walkndude
06-02-03, 10:58 AM
I can tell you have anistropic filtering enabled because of the matching single and multi fillrate tests...

You should easily be in the 10,500 range with a stock clocked 4200 and 2000+xp.

Your fillrates should be in the ballpark of 1000/single 2200/multi

Cotita
06-02-03, 11:40 AM
The A7V8X is a VIA kt400 mobo, have you installed the latest hyperion drivers?

www.viarena.com

WebmastaX
06-02-03, 03:31 PM
I can tell you have anistropic filtering enabled because of the matching single and multi fillrate tests... I disabled anisotropic filtering before the tests. But even if I turn AF on I get the same results.
The A7V8X is a VIA kt400 mobo, have you installed the latest hyperion drivers?
Yes, I have version 4.47

I don't know if this is important to mention but when I run the tests I see a "wave" effect from the top to the bottom of the screen. Is this normal?