PDA

View Full Version : AMD Turion 64X2 VS Athlon 64X2 Moblie


bkswaney
02-02-09, 09:49 PM
What cpu is faster?
I've seen a bunch of these threads all over the net but none have any real info.

Some claim the athlon is a desktop cpu and gets bad batt life.

Here is all the info I can find on the 2.
Has anyone seen any reviews of these 2 side by side?
The wattage on my athlon is less than a 2000mhz turion.
There is no way these can still be desktop cpu's.
From what I can see they should run pretty close in performance. No?
Both seem to be made pretty much the same way. bus/mhz.etc.


Athlon 64 X2..

http://products.amd.com/en-us/NotebookCPUDetail.aspx?id=470&f1=&f2=&f3=&f4=&f5=&f6=&f7=&f8=&f9=&


Turion 64 X2..

http://products.amd.com/en-us/NotebookCPUDetail.aspx?id=438&f1=&f2=&f3=&f4=&f5=&f6=&f7=&f8=&f9=&

Here is a list of all the mobile cpu's..

http://products.amd.com/en-us/NotebookCPUResult.aspx

bkswaney
02-02-09, 10:27 PM
Get this... I am confused now....

The turion... the athlon x2 and the 64 x2 are all listed.
Mine is listed as a x2. not a 64 x2. But mine is a 64bit.
The 64 x2 only has a 1600mhz system bus. the x2 has a 3600mhz.
The TK 42 and 57.

On this page look to the left and click on the processor tab..

http://products.amd.com/en-us/NotebookCPUResult.aspx

Man talk about confusing the people! :(
They only have 2 x2 64's listed both with a 1600mhz fsb.
I'm guessing the x2 athlon come along after the fact with higher fsb and all.
One thing is for sure. My QL62 is a 64bit and has a 3600mhz fsb and clocked at 2Ghz.
The QL62 is a 64 X2. Why in hell do they list it different? Any idea's?


Anyone know what is up with the two TK units vs the QL units??
We need a tech from AMD in there mobile section to come over and talk to us. "lol"

CaptNKILL
02-03-09, 12:27 AM
Here, this might help to clear some of it up:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Turion_64_X2

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_AMD_Turion_microprocessors

bkswaney
02-03-09, 10:50 AM
Here, this might help to clear some of it up:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Turion_64_X2

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_AMD_Turion_microprocessors



Thanks Capt. :captnkill:

Well, From this I gather my CPU "Lion" is nothing more than a Turion
with a different name for selling sake.
The Athlon QL's are rebadged Turions. They are all built on the lion 65nm platform.
I know my batt life is around 3 hours so there was no way I had a desktop cpu. ;)
I guess AMD just wanted to have the Athlon X2 name in there mobile section but
did not want to have to build a whole new platform for it.
Everyone know what a "ATHLON" cpu is. Most people that do not know hardly anything "like we do" about computers will say owe yea the athlon's are fast. "lol"
AMD made a real name for it back in the days they were kicking intels butt on the Pee4's.

bkswaney
02-03-09, 11:33 AM
'64' was omitted from the name of the Brisbane 'BE' series; the 64-bit marketing campaign initiated by AMD became insignificant once essentially all consumer CPUs became 64-bit processors.
--------------------------------------------

Well, now we know why 64 was pulled from marketing. :)

bkswaney
02-03-09, 12:49 PM
Found a little more info....



General information
Type CPU / Microprocessor
Family AMD Athlon 64 X2 for Notebooks
Model number ? QL-62
Part number AMQL62DAM22GG
Frequency (MHz) ? 2000
Bus speed (MHz) ?

* Dual-channel 333 MHz DDR2 SDRAM Memory controller
* One 1800 MHz 16-bit HyperTransport link

Package 638-pin lidless micro-PGA
1.38" x 1.38" (3.5 cm x 3.5 cm)
Socket Socket S1 (S1g2)

Architecture / Microarchitecture
Processor core Lion (Griffin)
Manufacturing process 0.065 micron SOI
Data width 64 bit
Number of cores 2
Floating Point Unit Integrated
Level 1 cache size ? 2 x 64 KB 2-way associative instruction cache
2 x 64 KB 2-way associative data cache
Level 2 cache size ? 2 x 512 KB 16-way associative exclusive cache
Physical memory 1 TB
Virtual memory (TB) 256
Features

* MMX technology
* SSE
* SSE2
* SSE3
* AMD64 technology ?
* Enhanced Virus Protection ?

Low power features

* Enhanced PowerNow! technology ?
* Independent Dynamic Core technology ?
* Dynamic Power management
* CoolCore technology ?

On-chip peripherals

* Dual-channel DDR2 SDRAM memory controller
* HyperTransport technology ?


Electrical/Thermal parameters
V core (V) ? 1.075 - 1.125
Max operating temperature (C) ? 100
Thermal Design Power (W) ? 35

Notes on AMD AMQL62DAM22GG

* AMQL62DAM22GG is an OEM/tray processor
* Processor runs at 1000 MHz / 0.95 Volt core voltage in the minimum performance state
* Thermal Design Power in the minimum performance state is 15.8 Watt
* Core revision B1

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This chip also seems to support AMD-V virtualisation, add this to the features list
2009-01-24 19:54:49
Posted by: Martin Bochnig

I purchased this AMILO Pa 3515 Laptop:

(LinkNotPermitted).

I installed OpenSolaris SXCE b1005 and can successfully use Sun xVM (Sun Xen) in full system virtualisation mode with Hypervisor.
So AMD-V is definitely inside the AMD Athlon 64 X2 QL-62.
But on your page it is missing. Maybe you confused this with the TK series, which lacks AMD-V according to Wikipedia and AMD themselves. But the QL series does have it.

rgds.
OpenSolaris Enthusiast

EciDemon
02-04-09, 02:32 AM
Im thinking Cpu-Z (http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php) could tell you quite a bit about your cpu

bkswaney
02-04-09, 10:46 AM
Im thinking Cpu-Z (http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php) could tell you quite a bit about your cpu



Thanks for the link to cpuz.

Just like I figured. I have a Turion with the Athlon name.
CPU Z list me as a turion. I have a Griffin core.

bkswaney
02-05-09, 11:58 AM
Here is a pic of cpuz.
Keep in mind my cpu suppose to be a "athlon" "lol"
But it's really a turion. ;)
If anyone is looking for a superfast notebook on a budget
shoot me an email. I'll hook u up with a rig like mine for 475 bucks
out the door. ;)