PDA

View Full Version : Mandrake 9.1, GeForce 2MX/MX 400, XF86Config-4 editted..


gn000we
06-05-03, 02:16 AM
XF86Config (http://www30.brinkster.com/g000we/Nvidia/XF86Config)
XF86Config-4 (http://www30.brinkster.com/g000we/Nvidia/XF86Config-4)
XFree86.0.log (http://www30.brinkster.com/g000we/Nvidia/XFree86.0.log)

Try downloading those!

Changed XF86Config-4 driver "nvidia", case sensitive??

Compiled both tar and src.rpm, using kernel source etc.
Installed. No complaints.

>>>But goes to text login!!!

Look at errors, please Help.

Mandrake 9.1
GeForce 2MX/MX 400

gn000we
06-05-03, 02:18 AM
FOr above post ^^^^^

- Right click links, Save Target As, or whatever..

or if still dont work, look at Zip file in below message.. same files, same beef!

u_Zander
06-05-03, 08:40 AM
I'v got this trouble too :mad:, but with a GeForce 4Ti 4200. F86Config-4 and Log are the same. Did you solve this problem?

gn000we
06-05-03, 03:22 PM
Nope!

I blame the government!

linux > windoze
06-05-03, 10:14 PM
Originally posted by gn000we
XF86Config (http://www30.brinkster.com/g000we/Nvidia/XF86Config)
XF86Config-4 (http://www30.brinkster.com/g000we/Nvidia/XF86Config-4)
XFree86.0.log (http://www30.brinkster.com/g000we/Nvidia/XFree86.0.log)

Try those...

Changed XF86Config-4 driver "nvidia", case sensitive??

Compiled both tar and src.rpm, using kernel source etc.
Installed. No complaints.

But goes to text login.

Mandrake 9.1
GeForce 2MX/MX 400

hi,

got some uber newbie questions \/

will these work on mandrake 9?

also, can i load xwindows from text login?

gn000we
06-05-03, 11:51 PM
It doesnt work.. i meant by 'try those', meaning try downloading them.. but DONT USE THEM!!!

Arr early morning computer problem. I was tired.

I get text login I need help with it.

SO can you run XWindows from text login?

XWindows is the graphical bit of Linux (I think, im a newbie myself). Depends if you've got it installed, and setup correctly.

If you want to run windows applications in Linux, I've heard of a rumour about a program called WINE, I think.

Don't use my files; full stop!!!

Mandrake 9.0 is cooler. I think you can download an 'rpm' file.
Have you got an athlon processor?

An RPM file basically is like a windows setup file.. Does everything for you. Just double click it. Some packages (not nvidia, I hope) have 'dependancies' meaning, it needs other packages, libraries etc. .. Just future advice.

linux > windoze
06-07-03, 05:26 PM
yeah im a newbie too, i really want to get my vid card qorking to its full potential

thanks for the info

p.s. i know what an rpm is ;) im not that new

u_Zander
06-10-03, 08:09 AM
Originally posted by gn000we
Nope!

I blame the government!

I think the reason is bad settings for my (and may be your ;)) monitor. I've read X86Free.log and see there is no problems in nVidia section. But many errors and warnings in Monitor section. I have not brand monitor, so I don't know where I can find right settings for it.

gn000we
06-10-03, 11:47 AM
(II) LoadModule: "nvidia"
(WW) Warning, couldn't open module nvidia
(II) UnloadModule: "nvidia"
(EE) Failed to load module "nvidia" (module does not exist, 0)

That's what I get in it!

Well.. I dunno.. I'm windows born and bread.. just moving into Linux.

will do internet serach.

Dr0Zz
06-10-03, 02:15 PM
well if you can't load the nvidia module you obviously did something wrong or missed a step in the installation...
i can't say much more than that because when i click the xfree log file it says access denied...

linux > windoze
06-10-03, 06:40 PM
well, i finaly got mine working, but i swiched back to redhat 9

rh9 is actually quite good, give it a try :)

jmgonet
06-11-03, 02:37 AM
I had exactly the same problem with nvidia driver and Mandrake 9.1 distribution.

When I install, everything is OK. But when I reboot, I have text login.

Try this:
Reboot, but in the lilo, choose the fail safe option.
When it prompts, login as your normal user.
Type:
>>> su (enter the root psw)
>>> startx

In my case, this works (except for a minor issue about a missing font).

gn000we
06-11-03, 03:30 AM
I have tried startx.. still dont work.

Red Hat 9? That costs money, doesnt it?

Cheers for peoples help anyway.

I think the reason it can't find the module becuase I installed the RPM, then installed the tar file aswell!

There could be conflict, right?

I dunno.. Who knows but God alone.

gn000we
06-11-03, 03:36 AM
XFree zipped by Power Archiver!

jmgonet
06-11-03, 03:56 AM
After reading your XF86Config-4:
This is pretty much the same as mine.
If you just change the Load "nvidia" to Load "nv", the X mode will work again (but without the nice 3d acceleration).

After reading your log:
This is not the error I get.

I get two kinds of errors:
If I boot as normal, the mandrake tries to start the mode X at the very begining (before login). I can see the screen flickering for a couple of seconds. Then it switches back to a "graphic text" screen, and it asks for login. In this mode, I can't startx. I get the error:
"(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize the NVdriver kernel module!"

If at boot I choose in the lilo the "fail safe option", the mandrake doesn't try to startx. The login happens in a normal text screen. I can't log as root at this point, but I can log as a standard user, and then:
If I try to startx, I get the error:
"perhaps you do not have console ownership?"
If I make a su-, to change to the root user, then the x starts.

Well, maybe it is not your case, as the error you get in the log seems to mean that the file with the nvidia module is missing.

linux > windoze
06-11-03, 09:02 PM
Originally posted by gn000we
I have tried startx.. still dont work.

Red Hat 9? That costs money, doesnt it?



nope, red hat is free :)

if you have broadband head over to www.linuxisos.org except i think the site is down right now :(

gn000we
06-12-03, 05:53 AM
56K mate.. like sucking ice cream through a straw.

But cheers man, i'll hop over there some time.. always good for a gander!

gn000we
06-12-03, 06:09 AM
Originally posted by jmgonet

If I boot as normal, the mandrake tries to start the mode X at the very begining (before login). I can see the screen flickering for a couple of seconds. Then it switches back to a "graphic text" screen, and it asks for login. In this mode, I can't startx. I get the error:
"(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize the NVdriver kernel module!"

If at boot I choose in the lilo the "fail safe option", the mandrake doesn't try to startx. The login happens in a normal text screen. I can't log as root at this point, but I can log as a standard user, and then:
If I try to startx, I get the error:
"perhaps you do not have console ownership?"
If I make a su-, to change to the root user, then the x starts.

Well, maybe it is not your case, as the error you get in the log seems to mean that the file with the nvidia module is missing.

hmm.. been thinking! Did you use the NVidia tar file or src.rpm?
Maybe the src.rpm might be more suited.. which would explain mine too!! COz i think I did rpm, then tar.. which probably messed with the rpm install!

jmgonet
06-12-03, 07:57 AM
Well, I must admit I went through the easy way: I get the .run file, located at
http://www.nvidia.com/view.asp?IO=linux_display_ia32_1.0-4363

I executed it. It is like a windows installer. Just run this thing, and it does a lot of work (a lot of mysterous work).

After that I read the readme from nvidia. And I edited the XF86Config-4, and changed Load "nv" to Load "nvidia".

And that's all.

As the X was not working, I began to poke around. And I discover that, under certain circumstances, I was able to startx. So I thought I had messed up something. So I reinstalled the whole Mandrake again. Just to be sure. And, first of all, I installed the nvidia driver. But it didn't work.

In your case, I supose reinstall the rpm might correct some problems. Reading your log:

(II) LoadModule: "nvidia"
(WW) Warning, couldn't open module nvidia
(II) UnloadModule: "nvidia"
(EE) Failed to load module "nvidia" (module does not exist, 0)

I have the feeling (faintest of feelings), that the reported error is rather a missing file than a wrong one. But, with linux who knows...

By the way, do you know where these modules are supposed to be located?

jmgonet
06-12-03, 12:13 PM
Well, er...

I'm feeling quite stupid now...

I had a lot of troubles installing this nvidia driver, and after all it was so simple... I supose this must be happening to a lot of Mandrake users, who are completely newbies in linux, and are attracted to Mandrake because is suposed to be the easiest distribution.

So, if you are a Mandrake user, chances are that you're also a newbie.

To install this nvidia driver:
- First of all, EXIT from the X mode. This is clearly said in the nvidia readme, but not in terms that a dummy as me can understand:
- Open a console.
- type >>> su
- input the root password
- type >>> init 3
- login as the root
- execute the >>> sh NVIDIA...run
- exit from the root to a standard user
- >>> startx

Chances are that now the driver is working.

microbe
06-15-03, 12:14 AM
i'm new in mandrake too

i have install geforce 2 and the driver from
nvidia several time. for different raison.(6-8 time)

but here what i find

install the nvidia.run file more than once
i was install as root and after startingx and it was working rebooting not workin error.

install second time
everything fine

install more than 1 time it work for me

sorry for my english

fisrt post in a forum
i hope it help cause it working for me


:balloon: :)