PDA

View Full Version : Docking Station questions


TheBigAmbulance
03-05-09, 10:02 AM
Hey All,

I have gotten my xorg.conf file tweaked enough so that I can see my external docking station monitor from my Dell M6400 laptop while running Kubuntu 8.10 i386. I was wondering if it's possible so that when the laptop is in the docking station, it disables the laptop monitor and uses the external monitor as the primary. And when it's outside of the docking station, it disables the internal monitor and using the laptop's monitor as the primary.

Here is my current Xorg.conf file:

# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings: version 1.0 (buildmeister@builder63) Thu Feb 5 00:19:09 PST 2009

# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig: version 1.0 (buildmeister@builder63) Thu Feb 5 00:18:17 PST 2009

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Layout0"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "type1"
Load "freetype"
Load "glx"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
Option "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# generated from default
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# generated from default
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "LGD"
HorizSync 30.0 - 75.0
VertRefresh 60.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor1"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "DELL 2408WFP"
HorizSync 30.0 - 83.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 76.0
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "Quadro FX 3700M"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device1"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "Quadro FX 3700M"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Screen 1
EndSection

Section "Screen"

# Removed Option "TwinView" "0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "DFP-0: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Device0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "1"
Option "metamodes" "DFP-0: nvidia-auto-select +0+0, DFP-1: nvidia-auto-select +1920+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Device1"
Monitor "Monitor1"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "metamodes" "DFP-1: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection



Any help is appreciated.

Bman212121
03-05-09, 10:32 AM
Usually you can do that by cycling the inputs on the laptop itself. If you hit Fn + F3 (Think that's it, should have a picture of a display on the key) it will cycle between laptop only, laptop + external, external only.

TheBigAmbulance
03-05-09, 11:00 AM
After sniffing around a bit, it's actually Function+F8.

How do you emulate "Function+F8" on a generic external keyboard without a Function Key?