PDA

View Full Version : GTA4 Performance Issue (HELP)


Pages : [1] 2

musman
03-12-09, 02:13 PM
I just purchased GTA4, and no matter if I set the graphic settings to low or very high I'm stuck getting around 23-14 FPS! It will not change at all even at the lowest to highest settings. I have tried with video sync on and off, basically I have tried everything I could think of. I installed the latest patch and I have the latest drivers for my video card. I play Crysis fine at Med-high settings, Grid at full settings, Company of Heroes maxed out, I don't get it?

Here is my system.

XP Pro (with latest updates)

E6300 @2.1Ghz (dual core)

3.2Gigs (ram)

HD4850 (Video Card)

22" LCD (1685x1050)

Thanks for your help!:

nekrosoft13
03-12-09, 02:15 PM
I just purchased GTA4, and no matter if I set the graphic settings to low or very high I'm stuck getting around 23-14 FPS! It will not change at all even at the lowest to highest settings. I have tried with video sync on and off, basically I have tried everything I could think of. I installed the latest patch and I have the latest drivers for my video card. I play Crysis fine at Med-high settings, Grid at full settings, Company of Heroes maxed out, I don't get it?

Here is my system.

XP Pro (with latest updates)

E6300 @2.1Ghz (dual core)

3.2Gigs (ram)

HD4850 (Video Card)

22" LCD (1685x1050)

Thanks for your help!:

OC the CPU by BIG Margin, or get a quad

musman
03-12-09, 02:47 PM
OC the CPU by BIG Margin, or get a quad


4.2ghz isn't enough for this game? This is getting expensive :headexplode:

The Who
03-12-09, 03:32 PM
4.2ghz isn't enough for this game? This is getting expensive :headexplode:

4.2Ghz hu, you must have got that from the ebay guy who's also selling 11.2ghz machines. That would mean I'm running 14.4ghz. Sorry that's not the way it works unfortunately. You've got two reasonably slow CPUs not one fast one.

-=DVS=-
03-12-09, 04:48 PM
IMO GTA 4 is crap not worth money , poorly coded trash.

Blade
03-12-09, 04:50 PM
I cant believe how people still fall for this bs over clock speeds....ffs.

nekrosoft13
03-12-09, 04:53 PM
IMO GTA 4 is crap not worth money , poorly coded trash.

nope. runs great here ;)

Blade
03-12-09, 04:54 PM
nope. runs great here ;)

Same.

MaxFX
03-12-09, 05:19 PM
Smoth and shiny as my girls ass ;)

NarcissistZero
03-12-09, 05:53 PM
I'm not even sure 2.1ghz meets the requirements for the game... does it?

Anyway, you have a bargain basement dual core, and the game was designed for a much better processor than that. I have a cheap quad core and the game runs marvelously. A great dual core would also run the game well.

XDanger
03-12-09, 06:32 PM
I'm not even sure 2.1ghz meets the requirements for the game... does it?

Anyway, you have a bargain basement dual core, and the game was designed for a much better processor than that. I have a cheap quad core and the game runs marvelously. A great dual core would also run the game well.

My e6400 @ 3.7ghz (or 7.4ghz in eBayese) struggled with GTA4 ,Needs a quad.

I know you meant e8400 @ "great dual core" but still ,No amount of OC'ing an e6300 apart from with phase change will help.

Blade
03-12-09, 06:34 PM
My e6400 @ 3.7ghz (or 7.4ghz in eBayese) struggled with GTA4 ,Needs a quad.

Nope it don't, see sig :)

XDanger
03-12-09, 06:37 PM
lol Yeah ,I know. (I edit while you were typing reply)
IMO GTA 4 is crap not worth money , poorly coded trash.
1st Crysis and now GTAIV ,What is it with these people???
Everyones allowed an opinion but seriously, To what are you comparing GTAIV to ??? Which is this excellently coded masterpiece GTAIV should aspire to ???

Sometimes I think these people are are just so in awe of the greatness it scares them and they have a kneejerk reaction to defend themselves against it...

I'm a game expert more than you are ,GTAIV on PC is best game ever.:D

It also just paid for another Wii for me.

WeReWoLf
03-12-09, 06:55 PM
GTA IV works beautifully for me. *looks at sig* I wonder why?

XDanger
03-12-09, 07:15 PM
GTA IV works beautifully for me. *looks at sig* I wonder why?

Is it because of all the different colors your computer can do?

mailman2
03-12-09, 08:18 PM
NEEDS QUAD. more cores for GTA and its worth every cent. Best f'ing game out there imo.

NarcissistZero
03-12-09, 08:19 PM
I love the game and I even love the PC port for the better textures and controls, but MAN... those jaggies drive me nuts, and I'm not usually a jaggy-hater AA freak either.

Bokishi
03-12-09, 08:25 PM
Great game, especially with mods

jeong
03-13-09, 03:12 AM
I'm with others on this. As I hear GTA4 is one game that really takes advantage of quad core CPUs. Your CPU is a huge bottleneck. I was even surprised to hear you can even play Crysis on medium with that CPU. Upgrade your CPU.

LordJuanlo
03-13-09, 04:48 AM
IMO GTA 4 is crap not worth money , poorly coded trash.

:thumbdwn:

musman
03-13-09, 06:59 AM
Ok guys, CPU it is! thank you for your help!

XDanger
03-14-09, 08:23 AM
Great game, especially with mods

What mods?

Noriega
03-14-09, 11:22 AM
What mods?

I use bullet time, environment beta, guard mod, player selector and few others all those mods are in GTA forums. Milenas new textures are must have!
http://www.gtaforums.com/index.php?showtopic=400044&st=0

more mods here
http://www.gtagaming.com/downloads

NarcissistZero
03-14-09, 11:55 AM
Mod for AA please, kthanx.

Noriega
03-14-09, 11:58 AM
Mod for AA please, kthanx.

never happen, GTA IV rendering method does not allow AA