PDA

View Full Version : Memory not running at normal speed....


Ramshambo2001
06-07-03, 11:06 AM
Just got a 2500+,sk7,delta fan, the proc seems to overclock great but my ddr333 memory isn't running at full speed, I've gotten the proc to 2.1 ghz, but thats just using the multiplier at 12x. I want to try using the fsb a little more, but when I try to do anything over 180 mhz, it doesn't post the ram, it gets to the post screen, lists the processor and just stops cold.

I've flashed the cmos a couple times trying differant ratios. When i try 3/3,4/4,5/5,6/6 for 333 mhz, i run into this problem. I am currently running 5/4 for 266 mhz ram and it works fine. I've tried running on "by spd" and "auto" both don't work either. I think it could possibly be the memory timings(currently set to optimal), but I don't know, any suggestions?

Running samsung 2x256 mb in dual channel,nf7-s,v.1.0,bios 1.9, cpu voltage is at 1.775, memory is at 2.6v.

Smokey
06-07-03, 08:44 PM
Try higher voltage on the ram, 2.7 or 2.8 will be fine and should help, if its cheap ram, try 2.5-3-6-3 timings to start with see how you go.

UDawg
06-08-03, 11:31 PM
Lower you multiplier to 11x and bumb up the FSB. You are pushing the RAM to hard.

Smokey
06-09-03, 03:43 AM
Originally posted by UDawg71
Lower you multiplier to 11x and bumb up the FSB. You are pushing the RAM to hard.

What do you mean by that? Bumping up the FSB is going to stress the ram, not the multiplyer?

Ramshambo2001
06-09-03, 07:55 PM
The ram is suppose to run at 333, it's currently at 280, IT'S NOT WORKING HARD ENOUGH!