PDA

View Full Version : Quality/Performance/Balanced/ What type of AF do you use?


Pages : [1] 2

ChrisRay
06-09-03, 03:07 AM
Just curious, I generally leave mine as 16x performance AF since it basically has no hit that I've really noticed, Sometimes worse than others,

What exactly do you use? Just curious ;)

StealthHawk
06-09-03, 03:17 AM
It's called Quality/Performance/High Performance now ;)

On a gf3 I use "Performance AF" with 43.45. I don't know if 44.03 lowered IQ and increased speed with "Performance AF" or if I used that driver I would definitely use Quality AF. If I had a gfFX card I would use Quality AF.

With my r9500Pro I use Quality AF because I don't like the harsh transitions I see on walls' LOD with Performance AF.

ChrisRay
06-09-03, 03:20 AM
Originally posted by StealthHawk
It's called Quality/Performance/High Performance now ;)

On a gf3 I use "Performance AF" with 43.45. I don't know if 44.03 lowered IQ and increased speed with "Performance AF" or if I used that driver I would definitely use Quality AF. If I had a gfFX card I would use Quality AF.

With my r9500Pro I use Quality AF because I don't like the harsh transitions I see on walls' LOD with Performance AF.

Harsh transistions? Care to clarify this? I never notice it when I Play EQ, which is my biggest 3d game enviroment lately. Oh and warcraf 3,

But I have been noticing "mip map" lines So if Quality would get rid of those..

DSC
06-09-03, 03:28 AM
I leave it on Quality on my Ti4200 all the time, can't be bothered with the other 2 settings.

sbp
06-09-03, 03:30 AM
Generally with a GeForce 4 Ti4600-Quality 4xAF
Depends on the game and resolution also

Nutty
06-09-03, 04:37 AM
I use quality all the time. If its too slow, I'll lower the AF settings instead of lowering the quality slider.

nVidi0t
06-09-03, 05:32 AM
I use Performance with Det 43.45.

StealthHawk
06-09-03, 06:14 AM
Originally posted by ChrisRay
Harsh transistions? Care to clarify this? I never notice it when I Play EQ, which is my biggest 3d game enviroment lately. Oh and warcraf 3,

But I have been noticing "mip map" lines So if Quality would get rid of those..

For example, when playing CS(yeah, yeah I know), when approaching a wall from far away, the wall will use a low LOD MIPMAP. Then when you reach a certain point it will abruptly "come into focus" by switching over to a higher LOD. This doesn't happen with using Quality AF, only Performance AF. With Quality AF, the wall gradually gains more detail as you come closer to it, instead of jumping from low detail to higher detail.

Hanners
06-09-03, 06:51 AM
I use 8x Quality - I really can't see a huge difference between 8x and 16x on ATi cards, and 8x runs slightly better in games like UT2003.

Rampant CL
06-09-03, 07:39 AM
I use quality with max aniso and aa while running doom alpha. Its something to see. Especially metal pipes for some reason..

AgentX
06-09-03, 08:22 AM
dam if I had that card id run everything at 1024x768x32 with 4xAA 8xAF, should be able to hande it?

Behemoth
06-09-03, 09:15 AM
i usually use 8xAF(qual) if there is no noticable performance hit, such as UT2k3 on my system, it runs at around 30 fps anyway @1024x768 with or without 8xAF. For games that run a bit jerky, i will lower the setting accordingly or even turn it off but i rarely use performance mode.

jAkUp
06-09-03, 11:38 AM
i use quality... with no af...

alucard_x
06-09-03, 04:11 PM
i always leave it on quality. those other 2 settings force all 3d applications to bi-linear filtering which looks like crap.

digitalwanderer
06-09-03, 04:52 PM
16xAF quality on the 9700 Pro, always. :)
Either 2xAF or 4xAF on the GF4 depending on the game and what I can get away with, high quality mode

The Baron
06-09-03, 04:53 PM
None, because my GF3 has a massive brain fart the instant I enable it ;)

DJB
06-09-03, 05:47 PM
On a GF4Ti4200 I use Quality Setting 8x, but using RivaTuner I use optimized AF. I set it use 8XAF in the first texture stage, and no AF, just Trilinear, in the other 3 stages.

I have only really seen one game that needed more than the first stage to be AF. This may change with a newer round of games with every increasing complexity in the graphics engines.

Optimizing the AF allows me to add FSAA to the mix. If I don't optimize, games really get a bit to slow with 8XAF and any FSAA.

On a GF3Ti500 I use mostly 4xAF, again optimized. For this you have to patch the drivers via RivaTuner to be able to optimize.
No FSAA. Not gonna happen.

Usually play games at 1152x864 or 1024x768 if they don't support the 1152x864 resolution.

I use the Quality setting with the 44.03 drivers. Other driver sets had much more decrease in performance using Quality (Application) so I used to use Balanced. Extensive testing has shown very little performance loss using Quality unde the 44.03 drivers.

DJB

yoladude
06-09-03, 10:34 PM
do the quality/performance/high performance settings affect IQ in any way apart from AF and AA quality? will the texture quality or somethin like that be worse with performance rather than quality? if i enable AF (no AA for me....to big a hit), is the performance mode that different than the quality mode (gf4ti4200, 44.03)?
maybe ill try optimizing it like DJB said.

alucard_x
06-10-03, 12:41 AM
no matter what AA or AF setting you have, the Image Settings option overrides all games. forcing it to bilinear mode if you chose high/performance.

StealthHawk
06-10-03, 06:37 AM
Originally posted by yoladude
do the quality/performance/high performance settings affect IQ in any way apart from AF and AA quality? will the texture quality or somethin like that be worse with performance rather than quality? if i enable AF (no AA for me....to big a hit), is the performance mode that different than the quality mode (gf4ti4200, 44.03)?
maybe ill try optimizing it like DJB said.

I haven't tried the 44.03 drivers with my gf3 yet. But the Intellisample settings(Quality/Performance/High Performance) didn't touch non-AF IQ in drivers 43.45 and older.

CaptNKILL
06-10-03, 12:05 PM
I try to use 8x Quality(application) setting in every game that I can, but recently ive noticed that I cant run this settings in nearly as many games as I could a few weeks\months ago.

Im going to do some experimenting with my comp because for some reason, ive been having some really crappy performance in some games. I dont know why. Battlefield 1942, Freelancer, Vietcong and even Mobile Forces (old unreal engine).

Im thinking that maybe these 44.03 drivers are slower or buggier than the last version. I'll test some things then I'll probably reinstall the last version.

Also, since ive downloaded this version, ive noticed that my colors in a lot of games look like crap. I played RTCW: ET and no matter what I did, it ALWAYS looked like it was in 16bit color. Absolutly HORRIBLE.

I wish Nvidia would stop screwing with things, because I need these new drivers to keep things working, but they always mess with performance and image quality when its not needed.

alucard_x
06-10-03, 02:22 PM
i've been playing alot of enemy terrirtory lately and i use the 44.04 drivers and don't notice any IQ issues, or 16bit looking problems. i noticed in quake3 that if i had the IQ setting on performance/highperformance it would result in weird color blotches on various textures. if a wall was blue/gray there'd be blotches of purple at various spots. the IQ setting is poo imo, should always be left in quality mode.

Skinner
06-10-03, 05:20 PM
8x Quality, without FSAA but with -0,5 lodbias, looks awesome in detail.

yoladude
06-10-03, 08:20 PM
wow....i just tried the ut2003 benchmarking utility for the antalus flyby, and here are the scores (250/513):
Performance Setting in 44.03 drivers
NO AA/AF: 97.303230
2x AF: 50.415791
4x AF: 32.747890
8x AF: 27.947889
2x AA: 63.950592

all scores benched at 1152x864, highest texture, world, and character details, trilinear filtering, blob shadows, all other options on except foliage, detail textures, and projectors. i used the optimizations in rivatuner that DJB did.
i looked at some benchies online, and i guess this is about normal, so i'll be leaving AA and AF off (except maybe in Vice City, where i only need 30 fps). but, the card does exceptionally well at higher res with high settings with no AA/AF.

Rogozhin
06-10-03, 11:43 PM
16x quality on my 9700, 2x on my old geforce 4 ti4400.

remember 16x quality is 128tap AF with 8x quality is 64tap.


rogo