PDA

View Full Version : Official Detonator 40.xx Feedback Thread


Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12

Mr. Blue
09-01-02, 12:46 AM
I have installed the drivers and I am not able to get the OpenGL, Direct3d, and Overclocking settings in the Control Panel. How do you activate this?


-M

AngelGraves13
09-01-02, 01:11 AM
hahahahaha..........welcome to the world of Nvidia Beta drivers!

RAST
09-01-02, 10:12 AM
Originally posted by Richthofen

Damn that is what i did but guess what i cant get into the Nvidia Driver Control Panels anymore.
If i try that the display properties just quit.
And i do not have this problem only with the new drivers - i have it now with older drivers too.
What the **** is going on?

Search the registry and blow away the Nvidia keys -- you probably have some old reg keys left over that are causing the problem.

JonathanM
09-01-02, 10:17 AM
Originally posted by Mr. Blue
I have installed the drivers and I am not able to get the OpenGL, Direct3d, and Overclocking settings in the Control Panel. How do you activate this?


-M


It's been posted about 10 times in this thread alone. Go back and read or search for coolbits.

RAST
09-01-02, 10:29 AM
Originally posted by d1rX


I just did that.

Open Regedit

Open HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curre ntVersion\Run

Delete the key that contains the following: RUNDLL32.EXE NvQTwk,NvCplDaemon initialize (My key is gone so I forget what was the name of it lol)

When you leave NvCplDaemon in that key it will brag that it's not present. Mine works now, though I dont know any drawbacks to it.

You are quite right. The default profile has the run key undefined. So your current user profile is the one calling the DLL. If you have more than 1 profile on your system you will have to remove it for each profile. No big deal

If you remove that reg entry you're set -- no problems.

It's my understanding that the NVQTwk dll is a hook that a lot of the tweaker programs use. Aparently NV pulled that API into the core driver for the new control panel app.

:cool:

RAST
09-01-02, 10:32 AM
Originally posted by HotCarl
After loading the drivers on 3 machines, 2 of them get "flashes" that show up covering either the whole upper half of the screen or the whole lower half. Kinda like V-Sync tearing only not quite.

Do you have stereo drivers installed? I got that problem when I installed the stereo drivers on my GF3ti 200 machine. I went back to the 30.xx dets with the 30.xx stereo drivers on that system and it works great.

Mr. Blue
09-01-02, 02:28 PM
Originally posted by JonathanM



It's been posted about 10 times in this thread alone. Go back and read or search for coolbits.

I went through every single page in this thread and never once does it mention enabling the OpenGL and Direct3D settings for Anisotropic filtering, etc..

I would appreciate it if someone could point me to this info without being rude or obnoxious.

-M

RAST
09-01-02, 03:05 PM
Originally posted by Mr. Blue


I went through every single page in this thread and never once does it mention enabling the OpenGL and Direct3D settings for Anisotropic filtering, etc..

I would appreciate it if someone could point me to this info without being rude or obnoxious.

-M

Mr. Blue,

(Any relation to Jet Blue?) :-)

Here's the deal.

With the new dets, there is a whole new interface. To turn on Anso or FSAA for D3D or OGL here's what you do.

Right-click on your desktop Right Click --> Properties
Select the Settings tab
Advanced
Select your NVidia Card Name tab (e.g. GeForcer4 ti 4600 for me..)

Here's where the new interface comes in to play. If you don't see the new interface click on the little green arrow to the left of "system information."

You should see

-GeForce4ti 4600
- nView Display Mode
- 3D AntiAlias Settings
- Direct3D Settings
- OpenGL Settings
- Overlay Control
- Desktop Utilities
- NVRotate

If you've enabled cool-bits you get some extra categories.

- Clock Frequencies
- AGP Settings

I suggest you click on the "Desktop Utilities" and check the check-box labeled "Display the Media Center icon in the taskbar." This will give you a nifty little NV Icon which you can click on and get all the settings in one nifty menu -- it looks just like NVMax4 to me.

You now have the option (from the taskbar Icon or the side-menu) to set D3D, OGL and AA settings on the fly just like if you got one of the nifty utilities like NVMax. Like I mentioned I think the new interface is just like NVMax4's.

I hope that I answered your question(s). I'm sorry you felt some were being smart @sses, but just remember it's better than the alternative -- a dumb @ss!!

Dave

*EDIT* Fixed spellings.

MRX
09-01-02, 03:23 PM
Mad Onion SE scores increasted about 50 points with the 40.X drivers vs. the 30.x series. Had some visual problems with the new Stronghold Crusade demo, texture flashing but no lock ups. Did not occur when using 30.x drivers.

Lets see nvidia turn on some more "hidden" pipelines, features, etc., like a turbo charge bonus.

Cheers

Mr. Blue
09-01-02, 03:23 PM
Originally posted by RAST


You should see

-GeForce4ti 4600
- nView Display Mode
- 3D AntiAlias Settings
- Direct3D Settings
- OpenGL Settings
- Overlay Control
- Desktop Utilities
- NVRotate

If you've enabled cool-bits you get some extra categories.

- Clock Frequencies
- AGP Settings



Dave,

Thanks for the post. However, I believe that something here is wrong with my setup. I just bought a new Dell Dimension 8200 witwh GF4Ti4200. I get these settings (after Det. 4 is installed):


-GeForce4ti 4200
- nView Display Mode
- 3D AntiAlias Settings
- Overlay Control
- NVRotate
- Clock Frequencies
- AGP Settings

So this is my dilema!:) I got the Clock Frequencies and AGP settings by using the script Coolbits. I need to somehow enable:

OpenGL Settings
Direct3D Settings
Desktop Utilities

I suspect that this Dell configuration is somehow blocking these from the registry.

Any further help would be appreciated..

-M

RAST
09-01-02, 04:21 PM
Originally posted by Mr. Blue

So this is my dilema!:) I got the Clock Frequencies and AGP settings by using the script Coolbits. I need to somehow enable:

OpenGL Settings
Direct3D Settings
Desktop Utilities

I suspect that this Dell configuration is somehow blocking these from the registry.


Yeh, that's a bit odd.

Check the following registry key(s) and see what they say.

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curre ntVersion\Run]
"NvMediaCenter"="RunDLL32.exe NvMCTray.dll,NvTaskbarInit"
"NVIEW"="rundll32.exe nview.dll,nViewLoadHook"

Mr. Blue
09-01-02, 06:22 PM
Originally posted by RAST


Yeh, that's a bit odd.

Check the following registry key(s) and see what they say.

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curre ntVersion\Run]
"NvMediaCenter"="RunDLL32.exe NvMCTray.dll,NvTaskbarInit"
"NVIEW"="rundll32.exe nview.dll,nViewLoadHook"

RAST,

Thanks a bunch but I'm still not there yet!:) I did a search in the directory you provided in regedit and I didn't have either of those variables declared. I went on and declared them and rebooted. I now have the NVIDIA Media Center but with all the nView stuff but no OpenGL or Direct3d Settings still. I looked in the Display Properties settings as well, and no cigar. It seems that I just need to activate this stuff in the registry and I'll be done.

Any more help?

Thanks again,

-M

RAST
09-01-02, 07:27 PM
Originally posted by Mr. Blue

Thanks a bunch but I'm still not there yet!:)

No Problems -- I'm sure you'll get there. A quick sanity check. You un-installed the old dets and rebooted right? Just checking..

Let me hunt down the rest of the registry keys...

Mr. Blue
09-01-02, 07:33 PM
Originally posted by RAST


No Problems -- I'm sure you'll get there. A quick sanity check. You un-installed the old dets and rebooted right? Just checking..

Let me hunt down the rest of the registry keys...

Cool! Yea, I did that twice actually.:(

-M

JonathanM
09-02-02, 02:10 AM
Originally posted by Mr. Blue


I went through every single page in this thread and never once does it mention enabling the OpenGL and Direct3D settings for Anisotropic filtering, etc..

I would appreciate it if someone could point me to this info without being rude or obnoxious.

-M

But overclocking was mentioned wasn't it? Missing those OpenGL or D3D panel seems to be some sort of weird happening on your end, but it seems like you're getting there...

bodhibkb
09-02-02, 07:33 AM
Here's what I got when testing
3dmark2000se:
23.11 scored 5897
29.42 scored 5677
30.82 scored 5661
40.41 scored 5701

Dr.Hardware2000e
23.11 scored 200 on the BitBlt MPx/s
29.42 scored 155
30.82 scored 153
40.41 scored 153.

my system:
PIII 800mhz o/c to 1.07mhz
512 meg ram
geforce3 Ti200 engine 200mhz memory 400mhz
Windows XP Pro

JohnsonLKD
09-02-02, 11:06 AM
Well, I just installed it!

Game works relly find with quincnuxx AA and the texture sharpning enabled. (Tray icon)

I see no differences, but faster...

cricket
09-02-02, 03:48 PM
Originally posted by JonathanM
My assumptions were correct... the new driver layout doesn't need the nvqtwk.dll any more.

I recommend a clean installation over theses drivers rather than just installing over the previous revisions (although I know most people do that anyways.. ;) ) It's still too early for me. hehe
if the "nvqtwk.dll" file is not needed...how do i remove it?
also: is a clean installation done this way? ( control panels/add/remove nvidia display adapters..then reboot and install new ones..?? or am i missing a step or something?
spec's are:Dell Demension 8200 P4 2.26GHz with 533MHz system bus/ 512K L2 Cache ~256MB PC800 RDRAM~80GB Ultra ATA/100 Hard Drive~128MB DDR NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti 4600~with 30.82 driver's~24x/10x/40x CD-RW Drive Harman Kardon HK-395 Speakers with Subwoofer ~Sound Blaster Live~ WinXP Home edition

sebazve
09-02-02, 03:52 PM
Originally posted by cricket

if the "nvqtwk.dll" file is not needed...how do i remove it?
also: is a clean installation done this way? ( control panels/add/remove nvidia display adapters..then reboot and install new ones..?? or am i missing a step or something?
spec's are:Dell Demension 8200 P4 2.26GHz with 533MHz system bus/ 512K L2 Cache ~256MB PC800 RDRAM~80GB Ultra ATA/100 Hard Drive~128MB DDR NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti 4600~with 30.82 driver's~24x/10x/40x CD-RW Drive Harman Kardon HK-395 Speakers with Subwoofer ~Sound Blaster Live~ WinXP Home edition

i uninstalled the drivers from control panel, reboot and then installed the new ones and everythin worked just fine.

cricket
09-02-02, 04:04 PM
Originally posted by Mr. Blue


Dave,

Thanks for the post. However, I believe that something here is wrong with my setup. I just bought a new Dell Dimension 8200 witwh GF4Ti4200. I get these settings (after Det. 4 is installed):


-GeForce4ti 4200
- nView Display Mode
- 3D AntiAlias Settings
- Overlay Control
- NVRotate
- Clock Frequencies
- AGP Settings

So this is my dilema!:) I got the Clock Frequencies and AGP settings by using the script Coolbits. I need to somehow enable:

OpenGL Settings
Direct3D Settings
Desktop Utilities

I suspect that this Dell configuration is somehow blocking these from the registry.

Any further help would be appreciated..

-M
the same thing has happened to me MRblue...have you found a way to enable direct3d and opengl settings yet? i have very similar system specs as you and have same problem when installing 40.41's.it would be nice to be able to get to direct3d settings for the refresh rates but i tried 2 times and cant get it to show either. my specs are Dell Demension 8200 P4 2.26GHz with 533MHz system bus/ 512K L2 Cache ~256MB PC800 RDRAM~80GB Ultra ATA/100 Hard Drive~128MB DDR NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti 4600~with 30.82 driver's~24x/10x/40x CD-RW Drive Harman Kardon HK-395 Speakers with Subwoofer ~Sound Blaster Live~ WinXP Home edition.
how i installed 40.41's was went to add/remove progams..removed nvidia display ...rebooted.....my system went to some 2945 drivers or something ...then i installed the 4041's, but no direct3d panel or opengl panel. i can get the patch for the overclocking from guru but it still didnt give me direct3d. also was wondering why after uninstalling my nvidia drivers does system reboot and then go to these 2945? how can i get it to go to standard display adapters? or is the 2945 it? ive installed other drivers before these with no problems doing it that way. it may be best to wait for the official 40xx's from nvidia but i still may not be able to see the direct3d and opengl tabs.

Mr. Blue
09-02-02, 04:42 PM
Originally posted by cricket

the same thing has happened to me MRblue...have you found a way to enable direct3d and opengl settings yet? i have very similar system specs as you and have same problem when installing 40.41's.it would be nice to be able to get to direct3d settings for the refresh rates but i tried 2 times and cant get it to show either. my specs are Dell Demension 8200 P4 2.26GHz with 533MHz system bus/ 512K L2 Cache ~256MB PC800 RDRAM~80GB Ultra ATA/100 Hard Drive~128MB DDR NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti 4600~with 30.82 driver's~24x/10x/40x CD-RW Drive Harman Kardon HK-395 Speakers with Subwoofer ~Sound Blaster Live~ WinXP Home edition.
how i installed 40.41's was went to add/remove progams..removed nvidia display ...rebooted.....my system went to some 2945 drivers or something ...then i installed the 4041's, but no direct3d panel or opengl panel. i can get the patch for the overclocking from guru but it still didnt give me direct3d. also was wondering why after uninstalling my nvidia drivers does system reboot and then go to these 2945? how can i get it to go to standard display adapters? or is the 2945 it? ive installed other drivers before these with no problems doing it that way. it may be best to wait for the official 40xx's from nvidia but i still may not be able to see the direct3d and opengl tabs.

Glad to see I'm not the only one!:)

Yea, I've done this many times and there doesn't seem to be any definition of OpenGL or Direct3d settings in the registry (which is the problem). I've decided to wait for someone to come up with a solution if possible. Its not THAT important that I get these settings since I'm only concerned with the Anisotropic settings (all other settings can be retrieved).

The refresh rate can be solved by a program called 'reforce'. It will allow you to set refresh for every resolution mode your card supports and use that across every platform (GL or D3d). It works great for my GL games and Q3-engine games.

-M

cricket
09-02-02, 06:07 PM
Originally posted by Mr. Blue


Glad to see I'm not the only one!:)
by the way what monitor do u have? im using the 17inch e771 model
Yea, I've done this many times and there doesn't seem to be any definition of OpenGL or Direct3d settings in the registry (which is the problem). I've decided to wait for someone to come up with a solution if possible. Its not THAT important that I get these settings since I'm only concerned with the Anisotropic settings (all other settings can be retrieved).

The refresh rate can be solved by a program called 'reforce'. It will allow you to set refresh for every resolution mode your card supports and use that across every platform (GL or D3d). It works great for my GL games and Q3-engine games.

-M so you have not found an answer to enabling direct3d and opengl with 4041"s? did u have a problem getting rid of nvqtwk.dll file that had a previous version # next to it other than the 4041 in additional properties after installing 4041"s?
i tried reforce...but after installing it, my battlefield1942 demo wont run( i think bf1942 demo needs 60mhz for some strange reason..i read something like that. also my other games get dragging graphics in them. like the sky's view/background start dragging all over the place and games become impossible to play with these visual mess up's. i have problems with reforce in halflife mod Day of defeat/quake 3 seems too dark/and a few other problems that r similiar to these. maybe it is just me...i mean to i just set reforce to default setting's or do i need specific settings for specific screen sizes? i play at 800x600 at 100 sometime"s 85mhz mhz or 1024x768 x 85mhz.
what do you set your 800x600 and 1024x768 at?(using the reforce tool)

Mr. Blue
09-02-02, 06:23 PM
Originally posted by cricket
so you have not found an answer to enabling direct3d and opengl with 4041"s? did u have a problem getting rid of nvqtwk.dll file that had a previous version # next to it other than the 4041 in additional properties after installing 4041"s?

I still have 29.11 beside the nvqtwk.dll drivers. I'll see about copying this to override the older one.


i tried reforce...but after installing it, my battlefield1942 demo wont run( i think bf1942 demo needs 60mhz for some strange reason..i read something like that. also my other games get dragging graphics in them. like the sky's view/background start dragging all over the place and games become impossible to play with these visual mess up's. i have problems with reforce in halflife mod Day of defeat/quake 3 seems too dark/and a few other problems that r similiar to these. maybe it is just me...i mean to i just set reforce to default setting's or do i need specific settings for specific screen sizes? i play at 800x600 at 100 sometime"s 85mhz mhz or 1024x768 x 85mhz.
what do you set your 800x600 and 1024x768 at?(using the reforce tool)

I have a 17" LCD so I use the max Hz for all resolutions (75Hz). The only games I've tested are the ones I'm currently playing (Jedi Knight 2, NWN, The Thing, and Spiderman).

I am not getting too dark areas with JK2 (a Q3-engine game). I am also using 4x FSAA with Enable Sharp Texturing. I only want the Anisotropic settings now, but they aren't important.

-M

cricket
09-02-02, 06:54 PM
i got rid of the "nvqtwk.dll" file by going to c/windows/system32 folder...found the file and put it in recycle bin. i think i read in an earlier post in these forums that the nvqtwk.dll file was not needed for the 4041 drivers. by the way..i saw a movie of" the thing "in a gameplay like movie mpeg file movie format. how is the full version? is it worth the money? i was wondering that maybe our computers are so new that if we installed some older drivers that have the direct3d and opengl included with them,then uninstalled them and reinstalled the 4041's maybe the direct3d and opengl tabs would show up ???? it makes no sense why they arent there,although since ive had this computer(since 6-5-02) i dont ever recall those tabs ever being there. my cpu came with geforce4ti4600 and the 2942 drivers originally.then i went to 2980's...then the 3082's then the 4041's....currently im using the 4041 but if i find problems again im back to 3082's untill they release whql drivers on nvidia site

Mr. Blue
09-02-02, 08:38 PM
Originally posted by cricket
i got rid of the "nvqtwk.dll" file by going to c/windows/system32 folder...found the file and put it in recycle bin. i think i read in an earlier post in these forums that the nvqtwk.dll file was not needed for the 4041 drivers. by the way..i saw a movie of" the thing "in a gameplay like movie mpeg file movie format. how is the full version? is it worth the money? i was wondering that maybe our computers are so new that if we installed some older drivers that have the direct3d and opengl included with them,then uninstalled them and reinstalled the 4041's maybe the direct3d and opengl tabs would show up ???? it makes no sense why they arent there,although since ive had this computer(since 6-5-02) i dont ever recall those tabs ever being there. my cpu came with geforce4ti4600 and the 2942 drivers originally.then i went to 2980's...then the 3082's then the 4041's....currently im using the 4041 but if i find problems again im back to 3082's untill they release whql drivers on nvidia site

Well, since it has nothing to do with the D3d/OpenGL settings being seen, I'll just leave it.

I really can't say much about the Thing yet as I just started playing it yesterday.:) I hear its very short but so far, I'm liking it quite a bit. Not as scary as Resident Evil (which is my fav gothic-horror), but the atmosphere is cool.

I wouldn't mess with anything unless someone on this thread has the registry commands to enable those settings or Nvidia releases the final version of the drivers. I'm going to stick with the 40.41 drivers since there appears to be nothing else wrong with them. If I can squeeze a little more performance from the card, then its worth it.:)

Good Luck and I'll post here if I or someone else finds a solution for us Dell owners!:)

-M