PDA

View Full Version : Official Detonator 40.xx Feedback Thread


Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12

sebazve
08-30-02, 12:15 PM
Originally posted by saturnotaku
If you're stuck on a 56k connection, I say don't bother. It's 9 megs you don't need to waste. However, if you're on any type of broadband connection, in addition to me hating your guts, you should give them a try. You may have better luck than some of us. :)

ok then i have dsl. I will download it and share my experiences :D

thks all

cmsmith
08-30-02, 12:17 PM
In the category of slap me and call me Alice...

I read a post or two in the newsgroups and they got me to thinking. One of the posts in particular mentioned that when the individual first installed the new drivers, he/she also had bad stuttering problems. They checked the settings and noticed that the disable CPU Instructions box was checked, slowing everything down. They unchecked the box and everything ran fine! I remembered the last time I installed the new drivers that all the boxes, not just disable CPU instructions, were checked for some damn reason. Wished now I'd bother to look more closely at them. I just learned a big time lesson.

I uninstalled the drivers from the remove programs control panel and rebooted. I remembered reading somewhere that the files in system32 folder with NV in front needed to be deleted, so I went in and deleted all files in this folder that started with NV. Then, I reinstalled the new drivers on a hunch.

<drum roll> All appears to be running well now!! WOW The motion in the game doesn't appear to be quite as smooth as it was in 30.82 but it's a heck of a lot better than before. I installed Coolbits to overclock (which further helped to smooth things) and used refreshlock to set my refresh rates. Now I'm back in action. Nvidia may want to think about comming up with some sort of a utility that gets rid of all files/reg entries when uninstalling as it's apalling how many files were left behind after uninstalling 30.82.

Anyway, I see Nvnews has finally figured out there are hidden screens in these new drivers, at least it's finally mentioned on their front page. For a better explanation and more screens, check out Warp2Search here:

http://www.warp2search.net/article.php?sid=6549&mode=thread&order=0&thold=0

It appears some of these screens/features are for nForce owners only. However, one screen is that temperature screen. Any ideas on how to get it up? C-ya!

Morpheus
08-30-02, 12:24 PM
Anyone figure out the registry code for these drivers???? The old registry/.inf edit no longer works properly.(i ma aware of the DirecX windows in the driver settings, i want something that works in OpenGL as well)

p.s. I am aware of a 3rd party software that is capable of doing this, I want to know if anyone has figured out the registry method for these drivers.

Fluke
08-30-02, 12:27 PM
Originally posted by d1rX


huh?
dude that's what the forums are for, and if you don't like it take a hike okay ?

Your name is appropriate but it should be singular to better match just "yourself".

Man is school still out?? :rolleyes:

Cotita
08-30-02, 12:36 PM
my 2 cents

just installed the 40.41 in my geforce 3 ti200 and my brothers ti4600. (Actually I switched the boards so the ti4600 is in my rig hehehee.)

Anyway, ti 200 freezes in 3dmark2001 seconds after it starts, in any test.

The ti4600 on the other hand runs great, although when I first tried 3dmark2001 it went back to desktop when it was in lobby hi detail, and then there were some glitches in the nature test.

I reinstalled the drivers and I've seen no glitches now on the ti4600 but the ti200 still freezes.

Both pcs have clean XP installs. Only the ti200 had 30.82 previously installed but I uninstalled it before upgrading to 40.41 and I see no traces of older drivers.

On a side note. It seems that Aniso 0/point sampling now increases performance significantly (about 150 points) albeit with lower IQ, in 30.82 and earlier, forcing point sampling didn't increase performance more than 50 points in 3dmark2001

One more thing, maybe its just me but somehow I see something different in the nature test, the water looks different than previous drivers.

[edit my card is a ti200 not a ti4200 (I wish).]

pelly
08-30-02, 12:39 PM
Strange....have you tried putting the 4200 back in your system to try it?

Zarich
08-30-02, 12:39 PM
why would you waste your time doing it yourself when refresh force goes in and hacks the registry for you.

Cotita
08-30-02, 12:56 PM
Its a ti200 and no I haven't tried it in mine yet.

I'm waiting until the inevitable time when I have to give my brother back his ti4600 hehehe

volt
08-30-02, 12:56 PM
Originally posted by Fluke


Your name is appropriate but it should be singular to better match just "yourself".

Man is school still out?? :rolleyes:

You still talking ? If you have problems with me then use the PM system.

Let me tell you again then. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion and you have no valid argument to tell us that we are simply fools because you don't happen to like our comments.

"Wake up people and quit arguing and complaining with each other, you all look like fools. Want to argue, get off this board and meet in person and then argue"

Again forums are exactly for that...arguing, and you can't do a damn thing about it.

Morpheus
08-30-02, 01:00 PM
that i made myself clear enough in my original question, to avoid replies like the above, but I guess where there is a will there is always a way, TO WAIST MY TIME!

And if you must know, Refresh Lock was released long before Nvidia switched to this new method of registry resoltuion setup, therefore i am worried about what it really does.

Cotita
08-30-02, 01:01 PM
Please don't turn this into yet another "my daddy beats your daddy" thread.

sebazve
08-30-02, 01:31 PM
I saw a pic at rage3d that said this:

"Arguing in the internet its like winning the special Olympics, even if you win youre still retarded":p :D

Man this so true.

Back to topics i tried it in my sister comp (which has a GF440MX) and everything was fine (at last they put an option for aniso at Direct3D):cool: . She is using Win200 pro, hehe my sister would kill me if she knew i was testing drivers in his comp (i dint want my comp **** up) so keep it quiet:p

I will try it in my comp later.

see you

saturnotaku
08-30-02, 01:38 PM
Originally posted by sebazve
hehe my sister would kill me if she knew i was testing drivers in his comp (i dint want my comp **** up) so keep it quiet

Your sister would kill you for testing drivers in his comp?!?! :eek:

Just kidding, but I had to get you on that. :D :cool:

eliteone
08-30-02, 01:43 PM
These drivers are horrible. Ya they may score higher in 3dmark2001 but in games they are the same if not alot jumpier. These drivers really wash out the colors (yellows mostly) and just make images look horrible. I wouldnt doubt nvidia is just trying to pump the 3dmark2001 points to get even with ATI.

Mike89
08-30-02, 01:43 PM
I have this very same question myself. I disagree it's a waste of time. I like taking control of refresh rates myself and not having to use a program to do it.

I have been modifying my own driver inf for awhile now after I learned how to do it. It was very easy to just paste in my preferred refresh rates and then install the driver. Then Presto, my refresh rates were set up to my preference and I didn't have to do anything else. Nvidia had even put out a PDF awhile back that explained how to do it perfectly but that was before they changed the way the inf was written.

Now the 40.41 comes along and I can't make heads or tails of the new driver inf. Now I'm back to having to use a program for refresh rates instead of just doing it myself (this is not even taking into consideration having to find a refresh rate program that will work with these new drivers as most of them won't) (seems these refresh rate programs have to figure out the new code as I'm trying to do).

Has anyone figured out how to modify the new inf to change refresh rates? If so, please state how.

I must be in the minority here since it appears not many do it this way anymore and just use a program to adjust refresh rates. Awhile back there was a HUGE thread on this forum on refresh rates, most of the posts related to how to change the inf. Now it seems hardly anyone is still doing it this way.

I would love to see all those guys that were posting on modifying the inf (or registry) in that monster refresh rate thread to come back with info on this.

cmsmith
08-30-02, 02:10 PM
Originally posted by Morpheus
that i made myself clear enough in my original question, to avoid replies like the above, but I guess where there is a will there is always a way, TO WAIST MY TIME!

And if you must know, Refresh Lock was released long before Nvidia switched to this new method of registry resoltuion setup, therefore i am worried about what it really does.

Contrary to what a message early alluded to, refreshlock DOES NOT udpate the registry. It runs totally it memory i.e. it must run all the time, take up some memory and CPU (but not much!), and must be allowed to run on startup if you want it to keep the refresh up all the time. Other than I know it doesn't modify the registry, I'm not sure how it does what it does but it works fine.

I've been using it since BattleField 1942 Multiplayer demo came out to make the game run. THe demo wouldn't run with other refresh fixes because they all modified the registry which caused problems with the game. Since I switched to this, no problems whatsoever. C-ya!

Morpheus
08-30-02, 02:48 PM
there is nothing out there that will fix the refresh rates without using system resources?

BTW: thanks for the reply. this is the type of feedback i was looking for.


p.s. great points Mike. I am in the same boat as you...... ;)

saturnotaku
08-30-02, 02:56 PM
Refresh Force works perfectly. See prior pages in this thread for a download link or go to http://www.majorgeeks.com because I'm pretty sure they have it there.

Morpheus
08-30-02, 02:59 PM
Read above 4 posts please. I believe MikeC addressed the issues I was trying to make, before my thread has deleted and spread into posts. This feedback thread is too long(and too much garbage, trash talking), and doesn't adress the issue a few of us are trying to make, and someone keeps deleting the threads.

Matthyahuw
08-30-02, 03:15 PM
give it a couple of days, someone with decode the .inf (or is it .ini?) file, or just play with it yourself, and see what works and what doesn't!

|JuiceZ|
08-30-02, 03:22 PM
Originally posted by aeroblade
I do not understand why nVidia won't fix the menuspeed bug in their drivers. If you use nView, it will overwrite your menuspeed settings to either 0 or 400. I would like to use some of the nView options, but want to set the menuspeed to 100 not 0 or 400. They should stick to modifying video related options and leave the rest of the stuff alone (or at least provide an option not to change my settings).

Nv40
08-30-02, 03:29 PM
Originally posted by nin_fragile14
Initial impressions:

Quake 3 is very, very dark. Adjusting the brightness setting, which worked on the 30.82 drivers, no longer does anything. The higher the resolution I set it, the darker it gets, and it's not due to the brightness setting on my monitor.


Here's the Quake 3 problem: (Also notice how dark it is)


i have this dark problem too ,with latest Quake3 patch , it
is noticiable even in the quake3 menu wich looks darker ,
like some nearinvicible foG ,and i hate Fog in games..
,medal of honor is just a little dark , ,someone Please ask NVNEWS
to post most common petitions for the final version
of detonators 40.xx drivers ,QUake3 issues of brigthness looks like the first time i saw Quake3 in windows2000 with my Tnt2 ,the gamma was not working , it will be a good idea to post a tread in this forum with petition to Nvidia for new tweaks in detonators 40.xx drivers, what to fix and what things to add ... i would like to see some Gamma/sharpness/contrast controls in the new detonators drivers that you can save presets and activates them with shortcuts "on the fly" in the the game ,powerstrip does this.. :)

i dont care about 3dmark/aquamrk performance increases ,dont play those games ,in fact dont know why Nvidia released this drivers
they were not needed ,already have good performance in all games
so dont complain here for more IQ ,Dont play with ATi old tricks ,Geforce4 already plays everythings fines ..going back to the old 30.82 drivers until ,the quake3 dark brighness is fixed ,the new menu look nice but rivaturner have more settings for me ...

AngelGraves13
08-30-02, 03:52 PM
ok, since my damn thread was closed, I'll post my CoolBits **** here.

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\NVIDIA Corporation\Global\NVTweak]
"CoolBits"=dword:ffffffff
"NvCplEnableRotatePage"=dword:00000001
"NvCplEnableAGPSettingsPage"=dword:00000001

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\nv\Device0]
"NvCplEnableHardwarePage"=hex:01,00,00,00
"NvCplCpqConfiguration"=hex:01,00,00,00
"NvCplEnablenForcePage"=hex:01,00,00,00

I have the AGP Panel, but it does nothing and says nothing of my chipset or anything. And yes I do have an AGP Nvidia Card.

koslov
08-30-02, 04:02 PM
Specs:
AXP 1800+
MSI K7N420 Pro
GF4 Ti4200

Issues:
Flashing white frames in BF:1942
Very Blurry 4XS AA
Screen blanks for half second when "GeForce 4 Ti4200" tab is selected in Advanced Display Properties

If these have been mentioned, excuse me, I stopped reading at page 10. If we could have a thread just for bugs and IQ issues, without all the crap and opinions, it would be a lot easier to sort through than this one massive thread.

Nv40
08-30-02, 04:11 PM
Originally posted by pelly


Hey cmsmith, instead of being an ignorant fanboy, how about making a useful and intellignet post for once?

Further proof that some people are miserable and feel as though it is their job in life to make everyone else miserable as well....

:rolleyes:


Good one , LOL !!! :D